We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream location just steps from Forsyth Park!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Savannah, Georgia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TLStallin...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Dream location just steps from Forsyth Park!”
Reviewed August 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I booked The Whitman Mansion to host my 25 year sorority reunion for a group of 10. To say it met my expectations would be a gross understatement. The property is meticulously maintained and the service was second to none. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect location being right on the edge of Forsyth Park and the famous fountain. We felt safe and it was easy to navigate our way to anywhere in the city. Executive Chef and General Manager Bob Vardzel catered a dinner on our final night that left all of our mouths watering. I can't say enough about this property and the staff. If you're looking for the ultimate in luxury and convenience for your stay in Savannah, look no further. The Whitman Mansion is it!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHouTX
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Most Awesome Place Ever !!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just finished four fantastic days at the The Whitman and really did not want to leave. Trip Advisor will only allows for five stars but I would give this place at least seven stars. Everything about it is perfect. You can sit on the front porch and look out at the fountain in Forsyth Park or cross the street for a great early morning walk in the park. I sat on the front porch in early morning drinking coffee and taking compliments from tourists passing by on how much they liked "my" house. Furnishings are excellent and blend perfect with the period. Every amenity you can imagine. We hired them to cater a large reception after our son's change of command ceremony and discovered that the food was as outstanding as the mansion. We have eaten at a lot of the restaurants in Savannah and I would put Executive Chef Bob at the top of the list for catering. If you are looking for an amazing experience, this is the place to book. Elegant, comfortable, kid friendly, very well maintained, safe area, great location, awesome catering and the quintessential Savannah experience.....The Whitman has it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D7224ZEpe...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay here made our wedding weekend UNFORGETTABLE! ”
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our stay at the Whitman couldn’t have been more perfect. We stayed from Thursday through Monday and housed a majority of our wedding party, 17 people to be exact. We also hosted 3 events including our rehearsal dinner, cocktail party and brunch. All were catered by the Whitman staff.

We were in contact with Bob from the very beginning when we booked our stay. We met with him 3 times prior to our stay when doing site visits. We exchanged countless emails and phone calls with him. One thing i have to say is that Bob is the epitome of a YES man! Whatever requests we had - he found a way to accommodate them.

The Whitman itself is a gorgeous property. It has a historic Victorian feel with all your modern amenities and updates. There were a total of 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, back guest house and pool/ entertainment room which had numerous twin beds/ couches for more sleeping accommodations. The location is PRIME. It’s right across from Forsyth Park with gorgeous views of the famous fountain from the house. The outside areas are just as amazing as the inside. The first and second floors have outside porches and the back courtyard is huge! There’s a surround sound system with XM radio or iPhone jacks to play music in every room of the house - all controlled from iPods.

The rehearsal dinner that Bob catered was incredible. We accommodated around 38 people in the courtyard. Whatever table/ chair rentals you need - he could set that up. We also customized a dinner menu and bar that was perfect. Our Italian inspired family style dinner included: Pan seared striped Bass, Beef tenderloin with pepper cream sauce, chicken valdostino, penne pasta with pesto sauce, braised brussel sprouts with garlic and bacon, honey roasted carrots, Cesar salad and Tuscan bread with olive oil. Desserts included cannolis, tiramisu and cheesecake.

After our rehearsal dinner, Bob and his staff accommodated around 140 people for our pre-wedding cocktail party. He had a charcuterie display and two bars set up (inside and outside) with bar staff. You could customize your drink choices. We had 2 red wines, 2 white wines, 4 beers and 3 liquors. All soft drinks and mixers are also available.

The brunch was a New Orleans inspired buffet. The brunch accommodated around 120 people. Bob had enough tables and linens set up for all of our guests. This was hands down the BEST buffet we’ve ever experienced. People kept going back for seconds and thirds! Menu included: thick cut bacon, sausage gravy and biscuits, Beignets, Pan perdu, assorted quiches including spinach and cheese, scrambled eggs, and Greek yogurt with granola and berries. We also had a mimosa and Bloody Mary bar.

Bob and his staff were efficient, hard working and professional.

The Whitman truly has it all. A perfect venue to host a wedding or event in a prime location and a staff that could accommodate almost any of your needs. Best part is, you could stay here too! It’s a one stop shop! Thank you Bob for making our wedding weekend unforgettable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2018
Thank you so much for this incredibly gracious review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfoodman
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It doesn't get finer than this in Savannah for me - what a TREAT!”
Reviewed November 16, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This house is so wonderful in so very many ways. We could not get over the incredible appointed kitchen with state of the art appliances or the hidden bedroom behind the bookcase in the renovated attic. Every room is gorgeous, and the details do not disappoint. There are even stunning antique hinges on the all of doors - and views of history out of every window. This house is solid, well built, perfectly maintained, very clean and luxuriously furnished. The beds and sheets were first class, too. I even found a lit makeup mirror in our bathroom - didn't expect that in an older home. It is stunning with very tall ceilings and beautiful woodwork everywhere you look - an incredible example of historic renovation. Clearly, the owners of this home love it, not just care about it. What a treat to stay on Savannah's historic park. We woke up everyday to enjoy it and take a morning exercise on it. The only thing I might mention that is worth noting is that it is not for you if you are handicapped. It is three stories high with no elevator. Otherwise, get the workout and enjoy the real deal - this is it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Thank you for the kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W
Akron, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Accommodations, Dream Wedding Venue”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked The Whitman as the venue for our wedding ceremony and reception, and we stayed in the house for 3 nights total. Several family members and friends stayed with us (9 people total), and we couldn't have been happier with our stay and overall experience. Our guests couldn't stop talking about the house. It truly was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for all of us. Every single room in this house is breathtaking. We woke up early each morning to cook breakfast in the wonderful and spacious kitchen, and I especially liked the whole-house audio system.

We worked with Mr. Vardzel directly in planning our wedding festivities, and he was so helpful and courteous at all times. Not only did he cook an amazing meal for our reception, but he and the staff moved furniture and did everything possible to ensure a perfect wedding day. We couldn't have done it without his help, and we're so happy we found The Whitman. It truly was a dream come true for us!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcasas201...
Key West, Florida
1 review
“Our stay was wonderful !”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family stayed at the Whitman Mansion for 9 days in July. The house was truly our home away from home. During the stay we had up to 14 people living there with room for more. In fact the guest cottage in the rear housed 3 adults nicely.

Bob, our host prepared a catered dinner for us on Friday night. Not only was the food terrific (Steak and Salmon) and the best collards ever, but the service at the grand dining room table was first class. With all the porches and the views of the park (which was wonderful for the little ones and adults alike) we were very comfortable. In fact in retrospect it does seem like stress truly went away with our stay. I speak for everyone in the family when I say that the house helped greatly in making our vacation in Savannah both memorable and relaxing.

Thank you Whitman Mansion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
We are so happy you enjoyed The Whitman so much! Thank you for your kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candleb20...
Statesboro, Georgia
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at the Whitman for a weekend with some friends and I can't say anything else but awesome! First, it is a gorgeous place...the rooms were elegant and the attention to detail first class. Second, it is a place where you have everything you need and if you don't, they are just a phone call away.
We went out to eat one night but stayed in the rest of the time. There is a kitchen that is unbelievable (and we know because that's where we spent a lot of time, cooking and talking!) We spent a few hours on the front porch, watching Forsyth Park come alive.
I highly recommend the Whitman Mansion and can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you so much! We are so happy you enjoyed staying at The Whitman.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing