We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Savannah, Georgia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
candleb20...
Statesboro, Georgia
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at the Whitman for a weekend with some friends and I can't say anything else but awesome! First, it is a gorgeous place...the rooms were elegant and the attention to detail first class. Second, it is a place where you have everything you need and if you don't, they are just a phone call away.
We went out to eat one night but stayed in the rest of the time. There is a kitchen that is unbelievable (and we know because that's where we spent a lot of time, cooking and talking!) We spent a few hours on the front porch, watching Forsyth Park come alive.
I highly recommend the Whitman Mansion and can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you so much! We are so happy you enjoyed staying at The Whitman.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G
Longwood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make your memories here, and hope that Bob Vardzel is still manager when you do!”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Whitman is a beautiful home overlooking Forsyth Park. Yes it sleeps 14 comfortably, Yes the location is perfect, Yes the rooms are exquitely prepared, Yes you will feel pampered and privileged to host you and your family there...... But nothing would be as good as the experience our family had, without all of it being executed under the meticulous handling of the manager Bob Vardzel.
We stayed four nights and had Bob and his staff provide the wedding rehearsal dinner and going away brunch for our daughters wedding weekend. It was an outstanding production , not only of perfectly prepared food, but also served with southern charm and pride.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you so much for such a glorious review We hope you come visit the Whitman again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Companion...
1 review
“Perfect wedding weekend venue!”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This house is absolutely gorgeous! It is a great blend of beautiful historic structure with lovely and convenient modern features. We booked the whole house, cottage included, for 3 nights for our small Savannah wedding and were able to comfortably accommodate our wedding party. Our ceremony was held in the front parlor at the bay window overlooking the iconic Forsyth Park - it was like a dream! As if the house and location weren't fantastic enough, the staff was thoroughly impressive. Bob Vardzel, one of the managers, went above and beyond helping us have the best time of our lives. He also happens to be the head chef at The Whitman and I must say, our reception dinner was some of the best food I've ever tasted! I highly recommend anyone looking for a wedding venue, event location, or beautiful getaway spot to stay at The Whitman Mansion! It was everything we wanted and so much more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2017
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are happy we could make your day so special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby787
Oxford, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“May Wedding”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Bob and the Whitman team did a fabulous job of exceeding all expectations we had. We stayed for 3 nights and they catered our rehearsal dinner and our reception (delicious food). It was an ease working with Bob and very pleasurable. For those looking for a beautiful, intimate wedding venue look no further than The Whitman. The rooms were beautiful and we were able to have about 20 people stay at the house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, location, great food
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Great spot for a charity event”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

"The Whitman Mansion is absolutely beautiful! Warm, friendly staff matched the impeccable atmosphere/surroundings and delicious food. The staff went above and beyond to ensure everyone was comfortable and satisfied at our Whitman Wednesday event benefiting the Alzheimer's Association."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classy Event Space and Amazing Southern Hospitality!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our Savannah-based group held a private dinner event at The Whitman on a weekday evening in July, including many long-time Savannah residents who had been eager to get their first peek inside The Whitman. We were awestruck by the splendid, first-class renovations that have been made to this elegant Savannah mansion, located at a convenient and prime spot opposite the world-famous Forsyth Park Fountains. General Manager Bob Vardzel welcomed our group, Owner Steve Buckner described the history of the mansion and led us on a wonderful house tour, and then our group of 40 people enjoyed our "casual" summer dinner party of cedar-plank poached salmon with grilled vegetables, pulled pork BBQ sliders, pasta/salads, and an assortment of delicious desserts, accompanied by fruited waters and teas. Steve, Bob, and their staff had prepared the meal on-site for us that afternoon, and the quality and flavor of our dinner surpassed anything a catering service could have provided. Our group was delighted by the entire experience, and we highly recommend The Whitman for other group dinners or private events.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Interacting with the Owner and General Manager
Liked least: No complaints at all - Everything was perfect!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msweitz
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The BEST accommodations. Perfect .”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented The Whitman House so that we could stay with our family who were attending our son's wedding. We also held the rehearsal dinner at the house. Bob, the manager, catered the dinner. The food was wonderful; well prepared, gourmet quality, and well priced.
The groomsmen dressed for the wedding there,
We had 50 guests for the rehearsal dinner. It was very comfortable .
The house was spotlessly clean, and they provide too many amenities to list.
It is well located to walk the historic district and the city.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing