We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Classy Event Space and Amazing Southern...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Savannah, Georgia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beth M
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classy Event Space and Amazing Southern Hospitality!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our Savannah-based group held a private dinner event at The Whitman on a weekday evening in July, including many long-time Savannah residents who had been eager to get their first peek inside The Whitman. We were awestruck by the splendid, first-class renovations that have been made to this elegant Savannah mansion, located at a convenient and prime spot opposite the world-famous Forsyth Park Fountains. General Manager Bob Vardzel welcomed our group, Owner Steve Buckner described the history of the mansion and led us on a wonderful house tour, and then our group of 40 people enjoyed our "casual" summer dinner party of cedar-plank poached salmon with grilled vegetables, pulled pork BBQ sliders, pasta/salads, and an assortment of delicious desserts, accompanied by fruited waters and teas. Steve, Bob, and their staff had prepared the meal on-site for us that afternoon, and the quality and flavor of our dinner surpassed anything a catering service could have provided. Our group was delighted by the entire experience, and we highly recommend The Whitman for other group dinners or private events.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Interacting with the Owner and General Manager
Liked least: No complaints at all - Everything was perfect!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msweitz
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The BEST accommodations. Perfect .”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented The Whitman House so that we could stay with our family who were attending our son's wedding. We also held the rehearsal dinner at the house. Bob, the manager, catered the dinner. The food was wonderful; well prepared, gourmet quality, and well priced.
The groomsmen dressed for the wedding there,
We had 50 guests for the rehearsal dinner. It was very comfortable .
The house was spotlessly clean, and they provide too many amenities to list.
It is well located to walk the historic district and the city.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn S
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic elegance combined with southern charm”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I attended the wedding of my future sister-in-law at The Whitman, and my first impression upon arrival immediately surpassed my expectations. My fiance and I were the first guests to arrive, and we were greeted with a smiling face and an offering of refreshments, which was much appreciated after the four hour drive from Athens, GA.

The staff at The Whitman is a combination of talented hosts, chefs, bartenders, concierges, designers, wedding planners, and friends. I've never seen 4 people learn to be so versatile in their jobs while maintaining a cool, calm demeanor and making events come together flawlessly.

Hearing about the renovation process was both intriguing and exciting. It seems they really did think of everything you would want in a historic home, right down to a secret room perfect for an afternoon nap. They have maximized storage, restored once-forgotten porches and balconies, and put great thought into the little details, like the decorative hinges on every door.

The location was perfect, situated directly across the street from a lush park full of life. This allowed guests to walk around the block, play a game of bocce ball, and also acted as a gorgeous backdrop for photos. If a nightlife is what you desire, the downtown area along the Savannah River is just a 20 minute walk straight down Whitaker Street. There you will find plenty of delicious food, a variety of bars, and great sight-seeing.

I can safely say the entire weekend was a huge success. I left Sunday with a full belly and a full heart.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“This place is AMAZING!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I recently attended my best friend's wedding at the Whitman in Savannah. It was such a fun weekend full of friends, amazing amenities, and outstanding food! We stayed at the Whitman from Thursday until Sunday and I wish we could have stayed longer! It was such a relaxing weekend, yet still in the heart of Savannah. We were able to walk to the downtown area for a night out and shopping or hang out in the gorgeous park across the street. The home itself is unbelievable. So gorgeous! And so much space! The staff at the Whitman made us feel so welcome and comfortable and cooked the best food I've had. The low country boil we had for the rehearsal dinner was out of this world! So flavorful! The staff was also so personable, gave us a detailed tour of the home, talked about their process of remodeling, etc. The home was absolutely spotless and so beautiful. I can't rave about it enough! I highly suggest the Whitman for a wedding or even just a nice family getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The game room and set up of the third floor was AWESOME!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G
Lake Bluff, Illinois
1 review
“It was PERFECT...”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our daughter's wedding celebration started at noon on TH and ended at noon on SU. We filled up the home with family and the wedding party. The decision to hold all of the wedding events at this single venue was genius. The Whitman owners (Steve & Bob) and staff (Samantha and Rocky) prepared a rehearsal dinner (under the lights in the rear courtyard), the wedding venue (courtyard), the reception (courtyard/inside), and SU brunch (inside). They are all great cooks and even better people. The home itself is gorgeous. An authentic historical renovation, with a 21st century kitchen and baths. I wouldn't change the smallest thing... and would do it all over again in a minute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robine091...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“The Whitman is a perfect place for an intimate event with a large group.”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Having an event at the Whitman is like inviting your group into your beautiful and stately southern home for an elegant party...except that you don't have to do the cleaning, cooking or preparations! The excellent staff accommodates any needs, the historic home has been meticulously renovated with modern amenities yet maintains it's charm, and the location is across the street from the iconic Forsyth Park and convenient to the best of Savannah. The kitchen is amazing - cook for yourself or enjoy the delicious southern fare that the Whitman staff can prepare. Our bridal party and both families were able to stay in the house for our daughter's wedding which was convenient and allowed us all to "hang out" together for the entire weekend. We held the rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony and reception all at the house. Our guests kicked back and relaxed on the patio, the porches, the living rooms and the 3rd floor game room. It was perfect!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: My favorite part of the weekend was the uniqueness of everyone in the house together.
Liked least: It would be challenging to accomodate a guest with disabilities.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler G
Athens, Georgia
1 review
“Twin Sister's Wedding”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a beautiful home! The restoration of the Whitman is amazing. The accommodations were superb; Bob and Steve could not have been more helpful. I love the secret room, the woodwork throughout the house, and the location next to Forsyth Park. The wedding was gorgeous, the food was delicious, the atmosphere was relaxed and enchanting. Absolutely recommend the Whitman for any kind of vacation or wedding!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spending time with my closest friends and family
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing