We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed Jewel in Savannah!”

Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home
Ranked #55 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Where writer Flannery O'Connor spent her childhood, during the Great Depression on Savannah's LaFayette Square. Off-hour, group, and private tours are available by request.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed Jewel in Savannah!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

For Flannery O'Connor fans, this is a MUST SEE!! Don't miss this this visitor friendly museum which offers many personal glimpses into the early life of one of the world's most unique writers. Toby, the in-residence tour guide perfectly captures the writer's personality and shares such charming tales of this gifted and eccentric writer that even if you've never read O'Connor before, you will read her when you leave!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very interesting insights into a well known Southern writer.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

"In the long run, a people is known, not by its statements or its statistics, but by the stories it tells." ~ Flannery O'Connor.

Toby is engaging as an in-residence tour guide and does an exceptional job of making the house come alive by sharing insights into the childhood relationships and experiences that shaped Flannery O'Connor's writing. While there I bought a copy of her novel "The Violent Bear It Away". So glad we just happened to find The house. It is across LaFayette Square from the Cathedral of St John The Baptist. Simple restoration of the house as it would have looked when she lived there in the 30's, but the stories that Toby tells make it worth the visit. $6.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcbatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A literate and amusing introduction to a native Savannah writer”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This is an ordinary house, ca. 1850, 3 rooms deep and 3 storeys tall, facing Square in Savannah. In the 1920's, it was one of several rental properties owned by a rich aunt, who provided it to her niece and niece's husband while they were getting started. In 1925, the couple had their only child at a hospital a couple blocks away and brought her home to live in this house until she was 13. That child was Mary Flannery O'Connor, a girl who appears to have known her mind from a young age and later became a novelist and short story writer of the 1950's. She died in 1964 of lupus, at the age of 39. I had heard of "Flannery O'Connor", the writer, but didn't know anything about her before visiting the house. We were shown around by a guide with a deep knowledge of the writer's life and works and a real love of her story. We left eager to read her work.

Helpful?
2 Thank ADGrantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice small museum”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very small but has some very interesting artifacts and information about on O'Connor's life and has a very interesting and knowledgeable director available to answer questions.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarinaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great, informal tour!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Even though I had not read any Flannery O'Connor before heading on this tour, our tour/tour guide caused me to want to buy her stories (they sell them there!) and get reading immediately! My family liked that the tour was informal - you don't have to buy tickets ahead of time and they are happy to accommodate you when you show up. The tour guide is extremely knowledgeable about Mary Flannery (he lives in the house!) and can share many stories. He was happy to answer questions even after the tour was over. For $6, I highly recommend this tour!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing