We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well shiver my timbers matey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pirates' House

The Pirates' House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pirates' House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Bay St.
Description: The entire family is sure to enjoy Savannah's most intriguing & historic restaurant. At the Pirates' House, our most precious treasure is the food. Situated in Trustees Garden, merely a scant block from the Savannah River, the Famous Pirates' House is the most historic spot in Georgia. The Herb House, erected in 1734, located inside the Pirates' House, is said to be the oldest house in Georgia. The Pirates' House first opened in 1753 as an inn for seafarers and fast became a meeting point for blood-thirsty pirates & sailors. Enthusiastically recommended by AAA, Food & Wine and Redbook.
Reidsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well shiver my timbers matey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place is a treat....Great atmosphere and a great buffet at lunch...loved it. Great down home southern cooking and all the good stuff that comes with it....It is very rustic and worth the visit. We were lucky enough to get a waitress to tell us some of the stories about the place. Great deal and a must visit for lunch if your in the Historic district of Savannah. No long lines to stand in just to get a reservation either...highly recommend it..

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBean30453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,826
    1,289
    519
    168
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Savannah...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been to Savannah over 10 times and always grab lunch or dinner, I have never had a bad experience at the Pirates House. I love the history of the building, the staff (both pirates and wait staff) and the food (the cornbread and biscuits are worth the trip alone). This is a must during your visit to Savannah!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phinal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had the buffet and it was great! We wanted fried chicken while we were in Savannah and looked up some reviews online and noticed the Pirates' house mentioned repeatedly so we decided to give it a try. We were lucky to arrive around 1:30 which worked out well since the buffet wraps up around three and we had no idea that was the case. It's a nice little buffet with a bunch of southern dishes and, of course, fried chicken. We enjoyed everything the buffet had to offer but the chicken was just great. I ate so much that I couldn't eat again until around 11pm that night. Also worth mentioning was the staff.... everyone was very friendly and our waiter was great, going out his way to hunt down more banana pudding from a private event they had going when they kitchen ran out. Little touches like that make an already good place great. We will definitely be going back te next time we make it down to Savannah.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So good we ate twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We did the buffet one lunch while on vacation. The southern food on the buffet was so good, we decided to go back a couple evenings later, only to discover the buffet is only at lunch. However, our evening meals were all excellent too. Would really recommend the lunch buffet though. Interesting history with part of the restaurant being the oldest home in Savannah. Ask to sit in that room if you can.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Omaha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Touristy but tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband REALLY wanted to try this place, mostly for the atmosphere, so we walked about a mile out of the way to get to it and I was starving by the time we got there for lunch. Therefore, I ordered a cup of she-crab soup AND a crab melt sandwich with a side of coleslaw. My husband ordered the slick chick sandwich (grilled chicken with caramelized onions). We both thought the food was good. The buffet was open for lunch but both of us had enough of fried foods so we passed on that. The food looked good though on the buffet and lots of people were partaking in the fried goodness of the buffet! Our service was pretty good, I was about to riot by the time he came around to introduce himself and get our drink order, but after that he was very responsive. The atmosphere was a little Disney-esque for my tastes, but it wasn't obnoxious. Would be a great place for families with kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates' House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Pirates' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing