We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp!!!”
Review of The Pirates' House

The Pirates' House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pirates' House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 870 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Bay St.
Description: The entire family is sure to enjoy Savannah's most intriguing & historic restaurant. At the Pirates' House, our most precious treasure is the food. Situated in Trustees Garden, merely a scant block from the Savannah River, the Famous Pirates' House is the most historic spot in Georgia. The Herb House, erected in 1734, located inside the Pirates' House, is said to be the oldest house in Georgia. The Pirates' House first opened in 1753 as an inn for seafarers and fast became a meeting point for blood-thirsty pirates & sailors. Enthusiastically recommended by AAA, Food & Wine and Redbook.
Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shrimp!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Delicious shrimp and drinks! Worth the trip and the crowds. Very fun to think that actual pirates were there!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cassarass77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,947
    1,357
    546
    177
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Arrrrgggg...its great!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Everyone said go to paula Deens for southern food but then on a trolley tour the driver said the Pirate House was the best place in town so we went! He was right! I had the glazed salmon with garlic mash potatoes, grilled asparagus and a glass of wine along with biscuits and it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time! The service was outstanding! Our waiter was Dennis and he was very personable with the voice of a TV announcer. He needs to go into broadcasting! To finish off the evening the hostess is dressed like apirate and is so funny! She visitis tables and tells pirate jokes and converse with you. It was widning down so she offered to give us a tour of the house! It was wonderful. We did the ghosts and the gravestone ghost tour and it was horrible. This was an unexpected :ghost" tour of the Pirate House and it was wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone for a fun night and great food. It has a cute gift store on the second floor too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank conni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Swashbuckiling fun for all ages!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great atmosphere and very family friendly. The kids were entertained by the pirates wandering around as well as the ghost stories! The food was good and the gift shop was full of pirate themed souveniers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We drove by this restaurant and decided to stop in to look around. They have a gift shop with Pirate shirts and other booty. The staff was very friendly, they even had a Pirate on staff. We enjoyed the grilled cheese and crab soup. They also have a nice buffet and a menu with plenty of choices. They rustic feel was just the atmosphere that we were looking for. Would be a great place too take the kids as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latta, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We try to visit the Pirate House every time we in Savannah. I love the ambiance and the history that the place holds. Different people feel different ways about the possible hauntings, but whether or not they exist, the place still has a wonderful, authentic feel. I always order the same thing (creature of habit, and I'm not a seafood fan)- The Pecan Fried Chicken. The flavor is amazing! I will continue to hope to visit this place each time I come to Savannah.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates' House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Pirates' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing