We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Filet...but roach turned us off”
Review of The Pirates' House

The Pirates' House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pirates' House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Bay St.
Description: The entire family is sure to enjoy Savannah's most intriguing & historic restaurant. At the Pirates' House, our most precious treasure is the food. Situated in Trustees Garden, merely a scant block from the Savannah River, the Famous Pirates' House is the most historic spot in Georgia. The Herb House, erected in 1734, located inside the Pirates' House, is said to be the oldest house in Georgia. The Pirates' House first opened in 1753 as an inn for seafarers and fast became a meeting point for blood-thirsty pirates & sailors. Enthusiastically recommended by AAA, Food & Wine and Redbook.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Filet...but roach turned us off”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We dressed up for a nice dinner out (full suit and nice dress). We made reservations and were seated in a small dining room with one other family. While eating the bread course, a roach ran across the floor and over the other lady's foot. Being from the south, seeing bugs is to be expected. Having them dine with me at a restaurant where I am paying $25+ a plate to eat, not so much. The lady continued to freak out, so I went to the front desk and requested someone come find the bug. We waited 10-15 mins and no one came. My man got out his phone and used the light to find the roach and kill it, so the lady could relax. He is in a full suit, with new shoes, and tie. It was crazy for him to have to do this. The manager finally arrived and apologized, explaining they had sprayed a day before and they come out more. He did not offer to buy us drinks or desert. I felt bad for the other party. They had dropped over a hundred dollars and were not going to eat anymore. The filet was one of the best I have had in a long time. That was the only saving grace. I would go back with caution...check the floor first!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,025
    1,409
    573
    185
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go here to eat, it's not an attraction”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Pirates' House is a restaurant first and foremost, not an attraction. It has alot of history and it is neat to walk through the different rooms. There are ghosts there too! But most importantly the food was great. The service was great. And we all had so much fun.

Advice- make a reservation and get there early because the parking lot was jam packed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APDJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of history and so much fun!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a great place for good food and to hear about the historic pirates of Savannah. There is always a Pirate walking around telling stories and is always ready to pose for pictures. There is a dungeon you can look down into. The kids love this place!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kipcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun, but overabundant, overpriced, generic food”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Came here to entertain my 7-year-old son and in that respect, the Pirates' House did not disappoint. We were greeted by a pirate and visited throughout dinner by the same pirate and his female counterpart. We loved the old building and the stories surrounding it. That's the good. Now, for the bad. The food was similar to what you'd find at Red Lobster. Nothing seemed especially fresh or unique. The crab dip was disgusting. I asked for the fisherman's platter broiled or grilled and all they could broil was the fish, everything else (shrimp, oysters, scallops) came breaded and fried. The dish was way overpriced, probably because it held enough to feed 4 people! The honey pecan chicken was good, but once again, enough to feed the whole table. I would have appreciated more reasonably priced entrees in appropriate portion sizes. They need to realize that leftovers are probably not what tourists look forward to when dining out! One more note - my son spilled a glass of water. Not one single person, including our waiter, came over to help clean up the mess or offer any additional napkins. We had to ask several times and wait before getting fresh napkins. Thank goodness it was only water and not some sticky pop. Would not recommend or return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bndakidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

First visit to Savannah. The Pirate's House was recommended as a very good place to eat by a local guide. We walked 5 blocks and thankfully we were seated right away without a reservation. The lunch crowd arrived shortly after, especially church goers. The southern buffet was good. We had a coupon code for buy one get one 50% off from the Visitor's Center, so that helped. The menu is a little pricey, but the food was good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gators89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates' House also viewed

 

Been to The Pirates' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing