We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Museum”

Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum
Ranked #33 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum houses a collection of models and paintings of historic ships.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This tour was included in our choice of Old Towne Trolley packages. My husband is a Maritime buff, so that choice was a given. The gardens of this historic house is the most beautiful and well done, not to mention extensive of all of the museums or houses we toured on our visit. The house is renovated in historic period décor. Speaking with the nice lady at the desk, she made us aware that the house was almost a ruin when the Sea Maritime Museum took it over, so they did not have much information about its original interior.
The rooms house cases of ship models, some quite large and very nicely done. There were a couple of rooms on the upper floor that put me on alert on entering them. Don't know why... Nice museum though, very well done.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmopaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    198
    58
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ok but small”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited this museum on our recent stay in Savannah. It was very information and well kept. However, it was a little small for what we paid. That aside I would still recommend visiting it. It was interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We would not have found this one on our own... we were told about it by one of the locals. The museum is located in a historic house, and is surrounded by a beautiful garden with walking paths, koi ponds, and pleasant sitting areas to cool off in. The museum itself has 3 levels of models, ranging from small ships in a bottle to impressive 10-foot long displays. The staff were very friendly and enjoyed telling us about the house and the models. Highly recommend as a quiet place to get away from the hustle and bustle for an hour or two, or a great little getaway spot on a rainy day!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggie_C_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipsoftheSea, Events Assistant at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review and thank that local for us too! The house has been here since 1819, and carries quite a bit of history along with it. We are in love with our gardens, and enjoy renting them out to individuals for special occasions. We are continuously surprised with the amount of maritime history found in Savannah and we display that history in our space with such pride!!! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stopped by on a whim, even though I love boats, didn't think it would be worth it but I did. Very interesting and educational.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyboy301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipsoftheSea, Events Assistant at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review! We like to think that we're a hidden treasure here in Savannah. We may be small. but we're filled to the brim with artifacts and models! It's amazing how much maritime history Savannah has, right? Glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat museum”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We loved going here, as we were new to this part of the country. Very interesting and educational. A good place to put on your touring itinerary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 809RobinjoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipsoftheSea, Events Assistant at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Welcome to the South and thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit to our Museum. We hope you visit us again in the Spring, when our gardens will be in full bloom - such a beautiful sight to see! We hope you visit again soon, and thank you again for reviewing Ships of the Sea Museum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing