We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay museum; fantastic garden”

Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum
Ranked #38 of 220 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum houses a collection of models and paintings of historic ships.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you have some time, definitely walk around the wonderful garden adjoining this museum. It is a delightful little gem in the city, and you can walk right in for free. The museum itself has a fee, and it's rather steep for what is honestly a fair-but-not-amazing attraction. It's a nice building, and the exhibits include some interesting history, but unless you really really love model ships, you can probably find better ways to spend your time in Savannah for the same money.

Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 585 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

This museum is a must see for anyone that is a lover of the sea & is interested in some of the older ships of the Savannah area. Very informative, with 3 floor of everything from model replicas to a collection of ships in bottles. A great gift shop too.

1  Thank Clyde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipsoftheSea, Events Assistant at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review! We like to think that our little gift shop is one of the best in town; always something unique and different. Typically, we feature a gift shop item every other Friday on our Facebook page. If you're interested in keeping track of some of our new items, then check us out! We take great pride on our maritime history in Savannah. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience hear. Come back to see us soon!

Sara Seesholtz
Events Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is honestly one of my favorite museums in a city of so many. It is very well put together and has a wonderfully interesting history. It's not only a museum of ships, but also stories.

1  Thank Darcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipsoftheSea, Events Assistant at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Wow! Thank you, thank you! It is an honor to have a visitor say that! We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Next time you're here, take a stroll through the gardens if you haven't already. They are absolutely beautiful in the fall, and we have free Wi-Fi! Come visit us soon :)

Sara Seesholtz
Events Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum is inside the Scarborough house. This house was built in 1819 for the principal owner of the “Savannah”, the first steam ship to cross the Atlantic Ocean.
If you like model ships, then this place is terrific. Although this place really focused on the shipping history of Savannah, there are three floors inside this house of different size models. I don’t believe that this museum building is handicap accessible, I could be wrong, but I didn’t see any way that a person with disabilities or even older folks would be able to see it all without using the stairs. (please check before you go).
When you first walk in there is a great little store with something for everyone. The first floor is filled with models of sailboats, and some art work. You will love the detail that went into each of these ships.
I thought that the second floor was the best, it has models of steamboats and warships, there were two video presentations that were informative, they also had a lot of the maritime tools and greatly displayed how daily life on the ships often were, including everyday items that they had to use. The second floor also housed scrimshaw, telescopes, figureheads, tools, and yes the Titanic. And the miniature reproductions of these ships were just amazing; I probably could have stared at them all day and still not noticed everything.
On your way out don’t forget go to the basement, this contains ships in bottles, and they were just beautiful. A great little collection to stop and see.
It really does not take too long to get through and see everything. So if you are in the area and haven’t already stopped by, please do I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipsoftheSea, Events Assistant at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review about Ships of the Sea Museum. We take great pride in housing all this maritime history under our roof. I hope you enjoyed the gardens as well! They are our most recent addition to the grounds. We hope you come back and visit Savannah sometime soon! Take care.

Sara Seesholtz
Events Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Extensive review of ships and ship-building in the area from early times through World War 2. The models are well done, loved the ships in a bottle display and the carved figureheads for the bows of the ships.

Thank mpap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing