We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad capture of time for all”

Colonial Park Cemetery
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Savannah's Ghost Encounter Walking Tour
Ranked #17 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The city's oldest cemetery, with family plots dating back to the 1700s.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sad capture of time for all”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was amazing how once you walked in, the feeling of somber solitude just grabs you. Beautifully maintained.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elvis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    481
    123
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Play, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice old historic cemetery”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently as a photographer I have come to admire these old head stones that our generation no longer makes. This is a wonderful place to take some pictures. It's easy to get to in downtown and you can walk around at your own pace.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AngmacRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So sad what was done”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

During my trip, the history of the area, especially with the Civil War, the only time I felt ashamed of my Union roots was during my walk thru this cemetery. Union soldiers ripped up the gravestones and pushed them up against the wall, changed the dates on some of the tombstones, and destroyed the history of these families.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Old Head Stones”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Forgive the joke but ... people are dying to get here. Old cemetery downtown Savannah. Convienient stop if you are out for walk. Bonneventure is the destination cemetery if that is your thing.

Helpful?
Thank andrewinsavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very cool to walk among graves older than our country.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I went at dusk. It's quiet and very historically interesting. There are many signs everywhere that help guide you to importAnt plots. A little sad because almost Ll the graves are young people. Every once in a whe u will catch someone that lived into their late 20's and 30's

Helpful?
Thank Pils9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Park Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Park Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing