We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you read The book..you will love the house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercer Williams House Museum

Mercer Williams House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.49*
and up
Paula Deen Tour: Trolley Ride and VIP Dinner at Lady & Sons
Ranked #27 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This home and museum is now open for tours - but don't ask them about the "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" book or movie.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you read The book..you will love the house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Was a treat to see the home featured in the book "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil". I loved the book and it was fun to see the history in person. Beautiful! The tour is only limited to the first floor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rileygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    278
    144
    47
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good taste of the eccentric city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The house tour of the former Jim Williams of Midnight in the Garden between Good and Evil is a great summation of both book and movie. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about each and every piece in the house. If you are an antique's nut, it's a "can't miss"

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddogGoshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit while in Savannah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Alex was my tour guide. He did a great job. I had been on other house tours that day and some guides were drab and monotone. Alex was not any of those. You only get to see the bottom half of the house, but it's still worth it. It's a fascinating home, especially knowing about the crime that once took place there and the lavish parties.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Suggest making a reservation for tour time to save waiting. Tour is 35 minutes long. We did enjoy it very much. Our tour guide was excellent. He reminded me of James Earl Jones with a very dignified voice. The home was beautiful and the carriage shop had lots of neat items. Interesting the way they deal with " the serious incident" that happened here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We enjoyed our tour of the home with Alex--I hope my memory is correct about his name because he was very well spoken, knowledgeable and an excellent host. The tour includes the downstairs since it is still an occupied home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MKBTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercer Williams House Museum also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mercer Williams House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing