We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Savannah. Romantic and beautiful.”

Bonaventure Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys with Shannon Scott
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Segway Tour
Ranked #4 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bonaventure Cemetery was developed on the historically-significant site of Bonaventure Plantation. The peaceful setting rests on a scenic bluff of the Wilmington River, east of Savannah. The site was purchased for a private cemetery in 1846 and became a public cemetery in 1907. Citizens and others can still purchase interment rights in Bonaventure. This charming site has been a world famous tourist destination for more than 150 years due to the old tree-lined roadways, the many notable persons interred, the unique cemetery sculpture and architecture, and the folklore associated with the site and the people. The entrance to the cemetery is located at 330 Bonaventure Road and is the largest of the municipal cemeteries containing nearly 100 acres. The cemetery is open to the public daily from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. . The main office of the Department of Cemeteries is located in the Bonaventure Administrative Building at the entrance.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quintessential Savannah. Romantic and beautiful.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This place is so peaceful and beautiful. Just like the Midnight in the Garden of Evil and epitomizes romanticizes Savannah! I was so surprised it was the best place we went to as far as attractions!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShannonMarie0385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,585
    1,163
    255
    36
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were amazed. You will lose track of time in there so much to see. Three things you need to know. One you need a gps to find it. Two bring bug spray. Three it close at 5pm. This is a must see when your in savannah ga.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois, USA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, historical and beautiful Bonaventure!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Bring your camera, so many beautiful monuments, statues, trees draped with Spanish moss. I should have planned to spend more time there as the hour we spent there wasn't enough. It's very peaceful and there are graves from so long ago to recent years.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsBix10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the Most Beautiful and Eerie Places I've Been to!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Bonaventure Cemetery is a bit outside of downtown Savannah, but the 15 minute drive is so worth it. While I did not take the tour that the cemetery offers, my husband and I walked and drove around and took many pictures. The oak trees, the Spanish moss, and the location next to the Bull River make this a truly special place - it honestly feels like a movie set. Absolutely gorgeous and historic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

What an amazing, historic cemetery (but keep in mind it it is south, by the river so bring some bug spray). My friend and I spent about and hour and a half wandering around and reading the headstones and crypt info and appreciating the beautiful art of the sculptures in the cemetery. I look forward to going again but will plan my visit better and looks at the maps/guides for the site so I can better understand how it is laid out and who is laid to rest their. I took pictures of the lovely moss filled tress, blooming wisteria and the "funereal art". It is a bit out of town but it is not to be missed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Bonaventure Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing