We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint”

Bonaventure Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Journeys with Shannon Scott
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Segway Tour
Ranked #4 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bonaventure Cemetery was developed on the historically-significant site of Bonaventure Plantation. The peaceful setting rests on a scenic bluff of the Wilmington River, east of Savannah. The site was purchased for a private cemetery in 1846 and became a public cemetery in 1907. Citizens and others can still purchase interment rights in Bonaventure. This charming site has been a world famous tourist destination for more than 150 years due to the old tree-lined roadways, the many notable persons interred, the unique cemetery sculpture and architecture, and the folklore associated with the site and the people. The entrance to the cemetery is located at 330 Bonaventure Road and is the largest of the municipal cemeteries containing nearly 100 acres. The cemetery is open to the public daily from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. . The main office of the Department of Cemeteries is located in the Bonaventure Administrative Building at the entrance.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I thought this would be an over-hyped touristy attraction but it was actually the least touristy place I visited. It was beautiful even in the dead of winter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,585
    1,163
    255
    36
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great Southern experience. It was a gloomy and rainy day when we were there. So the mood was a little dreary... a sunnier day might have been a different experience. Very interesting and beautiful markers. Enjoyed learning about the families. Buy a pamphlet in the office ($1) - tells you about the people buried there.
Worth visiting!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank C3ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I wish I could have seen this cemetery in warmer weather. It was raining and cold the day I was there, so I did not get out of the car to wander around. It is oozing atmosphere and worth the visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RITten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A Must-Stop for History Buffs”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have visited some pretty noteworthy cemeteries (for example, Arlington National Cemetery, Granary Burying Ground, Sleepy Hollow Cemetery- both NY and MA); however, none have captured my attention as much as Bonaventure. It is an example of a quintessential true Southern cemetery. If you are a fan of Berendt's "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil," you will enjoy being in this cemetery, though the "Bird Girl" statue is now at a the Telfair Museum of Art.

This cemetery was not difficult to find and was the first stop we made as we entered Savannah for a weekend day trip. It was WELL worth the stop. The volunteer at the information center was friendly and informative and we parked and set out on foot with the maps and brochure she gave us to explore the grounds. We only were able to see a fraction of the immense grounds and spent about 2 hours exploring. Really, we could have spent the whole day there! The sculptures were unbelievable, the history that surrounded you with the family plots was mesmerizing, and the oaks and other greenery that created such a beautiful and peaceful backdrop - it really is a history buff and photographer's dream!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This cemetery is gorgeous. I took many pictures, and will be going back in April 2014 and hope to get MANY more. The statues also seem to come to life and watch you everywhere you go :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Bonaventure Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing