We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainy Day”

Bonaventure Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
Ranked #4 of 213 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bonaventure Cemetery was developed on the historically-significant site of Bonaventure Plantation. The peaceful setting rests on a scenic bluff of the Wilmington River, east of Savannah. The site was purchased for a private cemetery in 1846 and became a public cemetery in 1907. Citizens and others can still purchase interment rights in Bonaventure. This charming site has been a world famous tourist destination for more than 150 years due to the old tree-lined roadways, the many notable persons interred, the unique cemetery sculpture and architecture, and the folklore associated with the site and the people. The entrance to the cemetery is located at 330 Bonaventure Road and is the largest of the municipal cemeteries containing nearly 100 acres. The cemetery is open to the public daily from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. . The main office of the Department of Cemeteries is located in the Bonaventure Administrative Building at the entrance.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Rainy Day”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We drove through Bonaventure Cemetery on a rainy day, so we did not get out to explore, but it is a beautiful cemetery. Lots of old monuments and landscaping. I would love to come back here in the spring when all the azaleas are blooming.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tsalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,468
    1,140
    248
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice walk…”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spent about 30 minutes walking around the cemetery. Thats about all the time you're going to need, unless you're a serious cemetery buff or something. Otherwise, its nice for a short stroll, some pictures, looking at some of the beautiful headstones, and looking over the river.
TIP: If the cemetery gates are open then you should drive your car in. Some people park their cars outside the main gate next to the fence. This part of town looks kind of shady, and even some people walking around in the cemetery looked shady. Like anywhere else in any city, hide anything in your car and try to keep it in sight as you're walking around.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrismarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Famous cemetary”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We drove through Bonaventure Cemetery as we were heading out of Savannah. Some of the old grave sites and headstones were absolutely beautiful and haunting. Would love to have more time to explore next time we go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas in Savannah, GA”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent nearly three hours here. We enjoy spending time in cemeteries, looking at tombstones. We are really into genealogy, but don't know if we have any ancestors here or not. We plan on going to Savannah next Christmas and spending more time at Bonaventure Cemetery.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can a cemetery be beautiful?”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Yes! Yes it can. Bonaventure features in the classic book "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil". If you plan to visit the cemetery I highly suggest reading the book as well. You will glean keen insight into what makes this cemetery so special, aside from the ancient Oaks and tombstones. It truly is a breathtaking sight.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Bonaventure Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing