We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtakingly beautiful”

Bonaventure Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
Ranked #4 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bonaventure Cemetery was developed on the historically-significant site of Bonaventure Plantation. The peaceful setting rests on a scenic bluff of the Wilmington River, east of Savannah. The site was purchased for a private cemetery in 1846 and became a public cemetery in 1907. Citizens and others can still purchase interment rights in Bonaventure. This charming site has been a world famous tourist destination for more than 150 years due to the old tree-lined roadways, the many notable persons interred, the unique cemetery sculpture and architecture, and the folklore associated with the site and the people. The entrance to the cemetery is located at 330 Bonaventure Road and is the largest of the municipal cemeteries containing nearly 100 acres. The cemetery is open to the public daily from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. . The main office of the Department of Cemeteries is located in the Bonaventure Administrative Building at the entrance.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
247 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

One of our most favorite stops on our trip. Took dozens of photos. The hanging moss, azaleas in bloom, beautiful expressions of love for those that have passed. It was such a picturesque and soothing place. You must visit this wonderful place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesleyc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,410
    1,114
    246
    34
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful for a cemetery!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Huge cemetery with lots of areas overlooking the water. It's a beautiful place with lots of pretty landscaping. It's a very cool place to walk around & look at the different grave sites. If you like cemeteries, you should definitely visit here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scenic”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Park like- Peaceful setting. About 10 miles from River Street and easy to get to by car. Enjoyed seeing old memorials.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonkaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning beauty with Azaleas in bloom”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We took our two grandkids with us (7 & 13 yrs old, and they wanted to visit the cemetery). Such amazing history. We were also fortunate to visit on a day that had several re-in-actors standing by the graves and would tell stories about them. Wow, that was great, and the grandkids actually loved looking at the birth and death dates, and some of the comments on the headstones. Truly one of the most beautiful places to visit. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A one of kind cemetery”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading so many reviews, we decided to include Bonaventure Cemetery in our visit to Savannah, GA. We would typically not think to visit a cemetery as part of a tourist attraction, but we were so glad we did.
This is certainly a one of a kind cemetery, filled with beauty, mystery and a sense of calm as well. It was very interesting reading the various epitaphs and seeing how many historical figures were buried there. The Spanish moss and massive trees added to both the charm and the oddly engaging eeriness of the cemetery as well.
We parked in the main office and walked the entire cemetery, which took about 2-3 hours.
This is definitely a must visit! Bring some good walking shoes and make sure to visit the office to obtain a book which will outline where most of the historical figures are buried.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaDoubleJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Bonaventure Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing