We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Bonaventure Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
Ranked #4 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bonaventure Cemetery was developed on the historically-significant site of Bonaventure Plantation. The peaceful setting rests on a scenic bluff of the Wilmington River, east of Savannah. The site was purchased for a private cemetery in 1846 and became a public cemetery in 1907. Citizens and others can still purchase interment rights in Bonaventure. This charming site has been a world famous tourist destination for more than 150 years due to the old tree-lined roadways, the many notable persons interred, the unique cemetery sculpture and architecture, and the folklore associated with the site and the people. The entrance to the cemetery is located at 330 Bonaventure Road and is the largest of the municipal cemeteries containing nearly 100 acres. The cemetery is open to the public daily from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. . The main office of the Department of Cemeteries is located in the Bonaventure Administrative Building at the entrance.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
348 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

When I die, I want to be buried here. An amazing place to walk around and view the beautiful monuments. I have been with a guide once and by myself once. I loved being with a guide because they explained the meaning of some of the monuments. But, I believe with a little research beforehand, this could be a great place to go and understand the history of it. Amazing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,530
    1,152
    252
    36
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rittman, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Second trip just as intriguing ...”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My first visit to Bonaventure was in July 2011. I spent hours in the cemetery in both visits, discovering new places this time around ... I feel peace at this cemetery, even though there are some creepy stories about it. TAKE YOUR CAMERA or you will regret it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank soyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serene and surreal”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I don't know what I was expecting, but it was not was I thought.. just different... I went with the intention of taking tons to pics of all the angel statues. I tried to get a tour, but tours are very limited and you need to make reservations. I was there on a Sat. morning and felt safe. I met up with an elderly gentlemen who was tending to his family plot. He told me where he would be laid to rest and how his father bought the plot for 12 family members for $40 in 1914. He was a southern gentleman, and I enjoyed our conversation. The office has a print out that is difficult to read of the lay out of the cemetery, but it useless because you don't know what is of interest. If you are going, do a little research if you don't pay for a tour. I just wanted to take some pics and I did get some beautiful shots. By the way, the girl with the bird in hand, made famous by the movie is no longer in the cemetery. She is in the Telefair Museum because people apparently were chipping at the statue! Really?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mssmith717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Died and went to heaven”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a wonderful cemetery to visit. There is so much history. I would suggest taking a tour so you don't miss out on the stories behind many of those buried here. A must see in Savannah.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Artsy Cemetery”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time. The headstones and moseliums are gorgeous. Remember to take a few bottles of water if you are planning on walking very far.

Helpful?
Thank SteFinch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Bonaventure Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing