We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bring a camera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral of St. John the Baptist

Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
Book In Advance
$56*
and up
Savannah River Cruise and Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #2 of 200 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The oldest Roman Catholic church in Georgia.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bring a camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the tour. Plenty of places to take a picture, and the landscaping is very well maintained. Stained glass, and piped organ make this an exceptional picture worthy experience.

Helpful?
Thank Michaeljonesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,461
    792
    115
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sacred Space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a must-see in Savannah, and you're welcome at Mass too. Visitors might find the worship service difficult to follow without a service-leaflet, but even if you're not religious, you are likely to be impressed with the art and architecture of this place. Of the many churches in Savannah, this is one whose doors are open on weekdays and weekends!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank True_Grits411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Renewal of vows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When you first arrive you are in awe of the beauty both inside and outside this Cathedral. the beautiful wood carved stations of the cross and the stained glass windows. There is so much detail that is took us over and hour to view. We decided to come back and renew our vows. Mass was beautiful and the priest blessed both of us and our rings. It is a place we will always revisit when we come back to savannah.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a cathedral”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I guess, being from Germany, I was not overly impressed by the cathedral, for I have seen many similar ones back in Germany, and this one for me personally lacked character. The art is beautiful, but you can tell that it only mimics the old european churches, while it is obviously way younger itself. It looks too clean and modern in its overall appearance, fo it is usually the church's history that makes the visit an experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marcmariusmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I loved the detail work and the scenic artwork. The organ pipes are up and behind the pews and with the huge window behind them, it seems almost unreal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of St. John the Baptist also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Cathedral of St. John the Baptist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing