We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience”
Review of Anna's - City Market - CLOSED

Anna's - City Market
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Quaint Italian restaurant located in the heart of City Market. Offering fresh local seafood accompanied by homemade sauces that have been passed down for 75 years from generation to generation. Outdoor seating allows you to enjoy all the splendor of Savannah's City Market and nightly entertainment. Adequately priced to assist when dining on a budget. Great for a group of friends to gather before descending on Savannah's night-life (which is in close proximity to the restaurant). Daily specials created just for that not on the menu type of person. Dog friendly, so bring along Fido. Beverages available to accompany your meal include beers, wine cappuccinos, lattes and espressos. To close out your dining experience, top it all off with a delectable dessert such as homemade cannoli, key lime pie, chocolate cake and more.
WORCESTER, MA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stopped into Anna's on a trip to Savannah last week. It was a small place, but no one else was dinig yet since it was after lunch & not quite high supper time yet, so we had our pick of seating. We sat outside & had THE nicest waitress (sorry that I didn't get her name) - very personable & joked around with us. My hubby got the shrimp & grits. I got teriyaki chicken with rice. Both were outstanding. I am not a grit lover, but tasted my hubby's & they were delicious - very creamy. I think he'd have liked a slightly bigger serving size, but it was worth it at the reasonable meal price. My chicken was equally as good & the rice pilaf delicious, filled with roasted veggies & seasoning. Would definitely eat there again! Liked it better than Paula Deen's tourist trap buffet, which is double the price & only a block away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCOOKIEWorcester_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    109
    62
    61
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Food”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We ate outside at lunchtime. The night before, we had seen the place packed so we assumed the food was good. What a mistake - between the four of us we ordered crab cakes, two pizzas, a salad and a cheeseburger and chips. The crab cakes were still cold in the middle, the pizzas were very average and had unusual bases, and the chips were uncooked and horrible. The salad was flaccid and we didn't even try it. Also the waiter was not surprised when we asked for the check without finishing the meal.
Stay away!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch with Outside Dining”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice fall day so we sat outside. The service and food were good. The staff cleared tables as soon as possible because of pesky birds. ok place to eat and people watch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michellyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice meal at Anna's. We chose an outside table, as the inside is pretty tiny. Our server was friendly and the food was good. The bathroom is in the next building over, but the server explained that the city of Savannah will not allow them to make changes to older buildings. My husband and I had calzone's and our son had chicken fingers. Everything was tasty. We asked about drink refills...both the tea and soda were free.

No complaints, and wanted to add more positive remarks to their name :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goaldie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice outside covered dining. Food was Average”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Eat outside on a nice day, server was prompt and was helpful with menu selections. I had the shrimp sandwich which was very good but a little on the small side Companion also had shrimp.
Nice place to relax for lunch. Only drawback is they do not have their own bathroom so you need to use the one next door on the second floor. Thankfully the area next door has an elevator.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disney_Traveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna's - City Market also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing