We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed-Not up to reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roussell's Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roussell's Garden
Ranked #19 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Magnolia, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed-Not up to reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

For some reason, Doug and Jan were not as helpful as other reviews have said. Only a hand drawn map, no details of things to see- no suggestions on where to eat - no info provided on free events. We got more off the Internet. The Parlor room is next to kitchen and dining room, so morning noises filter through glass door. We were there for 5 nights - "cheese and wine" time was self-serve wine and no cheese. House still being repaired. Needs paint and broken window fixed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suezt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    39
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
126
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Wish we could have stayed longer, a lovely old home and a delicious breakfast. We could walk to the riverfront and the walk took us by things we wanted to see while in Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Bryan and Jan do a great job of providing a nice place to stay that doesn't break the wallet. They have a good breakfast that lasts all day. And they were willing to go out of their way to help my husband surprise me for my anniversary by getting 2 dozen roses and a cookbook, which were beautifully displayed and waiting for us when we got to our room. That was really great!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Beautiful room--the kind you only see in movies. Lovely company. Comfortable, charming--very Savannah!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ke301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Roussell’s Garden is an affordable and ‘accommodating’ B&B located just south of Forsyth Park in Savanna, GA. Bryon & Jan, the owners, provided service to and from the airport, were on hand with maps, directions & advice all during our stay, provided the essential Southern style breakfast, buffet style, and had wine available in their lovely sitting room so that we could relax and enjoy their tastefully furnished home at the end of the day.
It is aptly named as the luscious side yard is full of birds, flowering trees in springtime, various fruits in their season, several fountains and a sitting area. Their home also has a side piazza (porch), adjacent to the garden so that one could sit and take in the garden or await their shuttle for one of Savannah’s ‘must do’ tours.
In all, we spent a wonderful 5 days at Roussell’s, disturbed only by the mockingbirds who awoke far earlier than we did in the mornings. We appreciated all of the services offered and discovered too late the cache of historical information that the Roussell’s had regarding their home, including several movies made recently by SCAD (Savannah College of Art & Design) students who used this historic venue as their backdrop. I guess we may just have to return in the future!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIPuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Roussell's Garden Inn is a keeper on our list of top places to stay in Savannah. This beautiful Victorian-era residence is clearly a labor of love for the owners, Bryan and Jan. Their gracious southern hospitality and charming accommodations made for a romantic escape. Breakfast was generous and delicious, especially the french toast casserole.

While a night at Roussell's is a good value, consider staying a couple of nights. It's convenient historic district location provides easy access to the best that Savannah has to offer. Bryan's knowledge of the area was helpful in making our stay easy and fun. Thank you for making our visit a very special memory. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emest_Da_Bestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Best value in Savannah. The rooms have been beautifully restored, the beds very comfortable and we loved the large, private bath. The garden and exterior bring back the ante bellum charm of old Savannah.

We felt the owners went out of their way to accommodate us. I actually left B&B and forgot my laptop. They held on to it for us for a week and we were able to pick it up on our way back home. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAVMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roussell's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roussell's Garden

Property: Roussell's Garden
Address: 208 E Henry St, Savannah, GA 31401-6922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roussell's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our 3400 sq ft home, we have 12 ft ceilings, a living room, a formal dining room, a parlor/bedroom downstairs and 3 bedrooms upstairs (all with private bathrooms), to give our guest the feel of living in an historic home in a gentler time at Roussell's Garden Bed & Breakfast. Whether you come to the magical city of Savannah, Georgia for business or pleasure, you will delight in the mixture of period furnishings and modern luxuries. Bryan and Janet, owners of Roussells' Garden, live on the premises to extend exceptional southern hospitality to their guests. We are 1+ mile from "downtown/River Street", three blocks from "Forsyth Park", and two steps away from the gardens at Roussell's with a treat for the senses. You'll see most year round, lush blooming vines and flowers, smell, in season, the citrus and fig trees laden with fruit, and hear the soft songs of birds, in their feeders and baths, throughout. You'll also indulge yourself with, peaceful bubbling water from several fountains, or, a porch swing to enjoy evening breezes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Roussell's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing