We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, great value”
Review of Roussell's Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roussell's Garden
Ranked #19 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Best value in Savannah. The rooms have been beautifully restored, the beds very comfortable and we loved the large, private bath. The garden and exterior bring back the ante bellum charm of old Savannah.

We felt the owners went out of their way to accommodate us. I actually left B&B and forgot my laptop. They held on to it for us for a week and we were able to pick it up on our way back home. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAVMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 192 of 192 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Roussell's Garden Bed and Breakfast for six nights. It was a great experience! Bryan and Jan are excellent hosts and their place is beautiful and charming. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing! We couldn't believe how much food there was to choose from. It's about a 25 minute walk from there to the river. -Which we didn't mind at all since there were so many cool things to stop and look at on the way. (It's about 2 blocks from Forsyth Park). We didn't rent a car and walked back to Roussell's Garden very late at night and felt completely safe.
We will definitely stay here next time we go to Savannah! Couldn't ask for a better deal at such a classy place!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenekika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

This was a wonderful B&B. The hosts were so pleasurable and their home is lovely. The location was close to everything and parking was easy. The garden is so pretty and relaxing. I enjoyed my morning reading a book and listening to the birds. The full/hot breakfast was fantastic and I forgot to ask for the recipe for her breakfast casserole. I truly felt like I was visiting friends and can't wait to visit them again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PasteyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

While the hosts at this B&B were very friendly and accomodating, the physical property was not ready for visitors. The house is still in the process of being renovated and it showed. Some floorboards were only temporaries and only a few of the rooms were decorated with period furniture typical of bed and breakfasts.

The bedroom and bath for the king suite were very nice with ample space; however, the secondary suites' bathroom included the laundry area for the hosts and access to their bedroom.

The king bed was very comfortable and overall we enjoyed our stay. We expected the location to be a little more finished though.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erinleigh_twin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Bryan & Janet have lovingly restored their home into a gem in the residential neighborhood of Savannah. Their home reflects the great historic architecture of high ceilings, wooden mouldings and a winding staircase.

We were given a tour upon our arrival, and enjoyed seeing the beautiful gardens, along with the house. We were invited to sit and chat over a glass of wine, as we discussed where to go to sightsee, and where to have dinner.

We were invited to play the piano in the front room, or to borrow a movie from the basket in the parlor. There were maps and brochures for tours and restaurants and places to sightsee that we could take with us.

Breakfast included chicken, eggs, waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, bacon, coffee, juice, tea, potatoes and yogurt. Everything was fresh and hot and served on beautiful, old dishes on an elegant table. We left feeling very full and satisfied...

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I am a frequent guest at B&B's in fact I own a B&B and this place is just great! For me there are certain things I want when I stay at a b&B, and this place has it all. (wireless internet, luxury linens, Cable TV, Beautiful common space, and full breakfast) I am not an easy guest and I would recommend this B&B to anyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ski1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,854 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
728 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roussell's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roussell's Garden

Address: 208 E Henry St, Savannah, GA 31401-6922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $189 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roussell's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our 3400 sq ft home, we have 12 ft ceilings, a living room, a formal dining room, a parlor/bedroom downstairs and 3 bedrooms upstairs (all with private bathrooms), to give our guest the feel of living in an historic home in a gentler time at Roussell's Garden Bed & Breakfast. Whether you come to the magical city of Savannah, Georgia for business or pleasure, you will delight in the mixture of period furnishings and modern luxuries. Bryan and Janet, owners of Roussells' Garden, live on the premises to extend exceptional southern hospitality to their guests. We are 1+ mile from "downtown/River Street", three blocks from "Forsyth Park", and two steps away from the gardens at Roussell's with a treat for the senses. You'll see most year round, lush blooming vines and flowers, smell, in season, the citrus and fig trees laden with fruit, and hear the soft songs of birds, in their feeders and baths, throughout. You'll also indulge yourself with, peaceful bubbling water from several fountains, or, a porch swing to enjoy evening breezes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Roussell's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing