We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Song of the South”
Review of Roussell's Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roussell's Garden
Ranked #19 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Relaxing in the 4-poster bed in the Azalea room and sipping wine on the porch swing overlooking the garden during a thunderstorm are perfect ways to get into the rhythms of the south before heading out to walk Savannah's historic district. Elegance and granduer, 12-foot ceilings and perfect hosts. Thanks, Bryan and Jan!

Room Tip: All rooms are elegantly decorated and full of antiques.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlbjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Roussell's Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 192 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Roussell's Garden B&B. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating (we had bicycles which Bryan stored in his locked garage) but never overbearing. The house is very nice and we very much enjoyed the Parlour room, comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and the direct access to the porch was a nice bonus. The location is excellent, at the edge of the historic district (walking distance) but a block away from Forsyth park. It was our first visit to Savannah and will return to Roussell's Garden if we visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannne39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Bryan and Janet were on the street to look for us as we were a little lost. The B&B is on a somewhat busy intersection , but we didn't notice any noise. It is not in the most upscale part of town, but seemed safe and convenient. Parking is on the street and we had no problems. Bryan went out of his way to give us a tour of the home, amenities, etc. The digital pass card made it convenient to come and go. Janet's breakfast on our two mornings was incredible and with a good variety. We had two of the four rooms and they were comfortable with private bathrooms. I would probably stay here again since it is so reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 957BobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a warm greeting from the hosts, we settled into a more than adequate room for a two night stay in February. The location is on the edge of the historic area; the home is lovely and the garden great. We were made to feel very welcome here and very safe. The breakfasts were tasty and quantity more than needed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggyy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food was delicious, the rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated/furnished, the owners (Jan and Bryan) were awesome. I need to elaborate on the owners- they were genuinely friendly, they have poured their lives into this B & B and it shows.

The location was really the only drawback. It is a long walk to the riverfront. My wife and I did a lot of walking during our stay and enjoyed that too.

Room Tip: The Parlor room was nice because you had a door to the porch but the morning traffic can be a bit no...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenDon32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here and really enjoyed it. The house is beautiful and the food was really good. We drove down to the river because the walk was just too far, but it is small price to pay for the quiet location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a night in savannah on our honeymoon and the and hospitality was impeccable. The Roussell's are delightful, friendly and very accomidating. We had a wonderful time learning the history of Savannah as well as the history of their beautiful home. The garden was beautiful and it makes you appreciate all of the time spent on making the Roussell's home the best B and B and Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelandChiffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,799 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,440 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roussell's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roussell's Garden

Address: 208 E Henry St, Savannah, GA 31401-6922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $189 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roussell's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our 3400 sq ft home, we have 12 ft ceilings, a living room, a formal dining room, a parlor/bedroom downstairs and 3 bedrooms upstairs (all with private bathrooms), to give our guest the feel of living in an historic home in a gentler time at Roussell's Garden Bed & Breakfast. Whether you come to the magical city of Savannah, Georgia for business or pleasure, you will delight in the mixture of period furnishings and modern luxuries. Bryan and Janet, owners of Roussells' Garden, live on the premises to extend exceptional southern hospitality to their guests. We are 1+ mile from "downtown/River Street", three blocks from "Forsyth Park", and two steps away from the gardens at Roussell's with a treat for the senses. You'll see most year round, lush blooming vines and flowers, smell, in season, the citrus and fig trees laden with fruit, and hear the soft songs of birds, in their feeders and baths, throughout. You'll also indulge yourself with, peaceful bubbling water from several fountains, or, a porch swing to enjoy evening breezes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Roussell's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing