We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place with great food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Farmington B&B and Inns
Stow, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cozy place with great food!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband spent the day caving at Laurel Caverns then stayed at the Stone House for our anniversary. The staff was extremely friendly. Always a smile and a kind word. We booked a room in the new wing, which I was thankful for as it was on the backside of the inn, away from the road. The room was small but very comfortable. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub and had a great night's sleep. We had dinner at the inn's restaurant. The food was excellent, as was our server, Kailey. They have a great beer and wine selection as well. The continental breakfast the next morning was small but nice. This isn't a chain hotel, so having enough food to feed a lot of people would be a waste for them. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new wing. The inn is right along a busy highway, so it would be noisy to stay n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    19
    12
    14
See reviews for
22
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I visited the Stone House for the 2nd time this weekend, and my 2nd experience is a little mixed (1st time was in 2012 & I believe it was under diff ownership). We stayed in the "new" wing again & the rooms are very clean and fairly updated. Though we didn't eat dinner at the restaurant, we did visit for a nightcap & dessert & the dessert was excellent. They seemed to have implemented a new menu since our last visit & the food we witnessed being brought out looked great as did the overall selection on the menu. We will definitely try the restaurant next time (in lieu of a another disappointing dinner at a VERY OVERRATED resort about 3 miles up the street!). Now for the "negatives:" I waited several minutes to check-in while the "hostess" was searching for another guests reservations. It seemed very disorganized and we were given little info aside from an envelope & room key. Perhaps my biggest complaint is the breakfast served the next morning. On our 1st visit, there was a small, ala carte breakfast menu & the food was cooked to order and FANTASTIC. This time, not so much: it's now "continental" which basically equated to stale bagels, pastries, and lukewarm coffee & juice. The fresh fruit was the high point. The location is great & the workers were very friendly so we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We prefer the "modern" wing (private bathrooms, updated decor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Upside: Nice historic building, renovated and fairly up-to-date. Friendly people. Downsides: Website does not tell you that the hotel's front porch is 10 feet away from major, busy highway--impossible to sit or talk out front on the porch and difficult to sleep with the highway noise. Luke warm water in morning, luke warm coffee with not so great breakfast. No one at front desk at check in or check out, no room controls for heat/cooling, no wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahorn719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My friends and I booked two rooms for two nights in the Ziegler wing so we could get a hot tub. What a great experience! The beds were comfortable, the room was dark and and we were able to sleep very well. The chocolate covered strawberries were delicious and had a fudgy covering that did not break apart when you ate them. I completely recommend this add on to your stay. We booked the Stay and Play package which gave us free play at the Casino ($200 total!) Our meals in the tavern were excellent. Getting to meet the chef was an added plus as we wanted to express our gratitude to his abilities. Our server on Valentine's night was Dana and as busy as it was, she was pleasant and very cheerful. We requested her to be our server the next night as well. We are definitely planning a trip back and I would recommend this great place for dinner or as a getaway to anyone of any age. After reading other reviews I noticed a few people mention that there was only one outlet in the room, that is not the case in the Ziegler rooms as they are newly constructed. I, however, would like to stay in one of the more "historic" rooms next time to get the feel of the house and its charm. Well done, Stonehouse. We are telling everyone about our trip and hope to be back very soon!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a little more "modern" amenities, choose a Ziegler room. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrown3124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We loved our rooms (three of them!), the tavern and the restaurant. The building was remodeled in recent years and is just a pleasure to spend time in. We enjoyed the collection of old photographs, light fixtures, tin ceilings, staircases and comfortable beds. The inn promptly mailed us a cardigan we forgot in our room. The location is great for visits to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob or activities in Ohiopyle. Continental breakfast was included and was just that; enough to wake us up and out early for our tour of Fallingwater.

Room Tip: Some rooms share bathrooms with other rooms; we shared with friends and didn't mind. Other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerenaM20759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an old inn. Electrical outlets are few, so charging any electronic devices out side of the bathroom is difficult. Our bed was so high they had a step stool to get in, I was concerned about getting up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. The room we had was on the front, right by the highway and I had been concerned about noise. It was less of a problem than I expected, they have softened the noise a great deal, though you might not notice until you sit on the front porch. The restaurant had good food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Stone House Inn. We stayed in the Lincoln room in the main building. This is a lovely place to stay, but because the inn is almost 200 years old, it has a few "quirks." There is only 1 electrical outlet in the room, AC thermostat is locked and can only be turned up or down by staff. The inn is very close to Route 40-a quite busy road. Our friends traveling with us slept in the room facing Route 40 and the road noise was high. Staff is very friendly and the inn is located close to Fallingwater and Kentuck Nob. There is a tavern in the main building that serves very good food with VERY generous portions.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face Route 40--noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNnativeHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#2 of 9 in Uniontown
542 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
149 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
431 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Country Inn

Property: Stone House Country Inn
Address: 3023 National Pike, Farmington, PA 15437-1224
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stone House Country Hotel Farmington
Country Inn Farmington
Farmington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing