We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fall GetAway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Falling Rock

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falling Rock
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fall GetAway”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Falling Rock Hotel made for a wonderful Fall GetAway for us. The staff was very special. They were very concerned that all our needs were taken care of. The restaurants, Aqueous and Autumn, served outstanding food. The Pete Dye Golf course, Mystic Rock, was in super shape and our caddie made the round a lot of fun. Just down the road is FallingWater, the Frand Lloyd
Wright house. It's a must see!! My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbleck19hole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I have made at least one stay each year to Nemacolin Woodlands Resort for more than 20 years. It is our "go to" place for a romantic getaway or a special occassion with friends or family. Since the addition of Falling Rock, the properties boutique hotel, that is our place of choice. They offer butler service and a very serene atmosphere we very much prefer. A few weeks ago we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a stay at Falling Rock. It was either our fifth or sixth stay there, and sadly it proved to be the first time we left disappointed.

Upon our arrival to the resort we were greeted by name and received a champagne welcome, which was very nice, but to our disappointment we were asked if it was our first time staying at the resort. Well, I was dumbfounded. In years past we were "welcomed back," and our previous butler Tommy went so far as to recall specifics about our last stay. In this day of computers, I am simply amazed that the staff was not better trained to look att he guest history in order to make a better impression. I know this may come across as shallow or picky, but when we choose to pay between $700 and $950 per night for a room it is ALL IN THE DETAILS!

The butler service on this stay was nothing special. It may have been a new employee or perhaps someone filling in. In retrospect, we should have requested our previous butler, but sadly we did not. Frankly, there was no service above and beyond what you would expect at any other 5 star hotel. It was not overly personal, it was not overly accomodating, it was the bare minimum and not what you would expect of "butler" service.

The hotel itself in location, amenities and decor is fabulous. Sunning by the infnity pool is my favorite activity, and it must be stated that we had great bar and waitress service there. My husband and I are not overly thrilled with the new Panasian theme of the poolside restaurant and would prefer more American classics return to the menu such as salads with chicken or club sandwiches. But the food was good; it is merely a preference.

The breakdowns that occurred on this trip were 100% service related. I sincerely hope that management will take note and bring the service level back up to the consistent perefction that it has been in years past.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a treasure! It lives up to its 5 star rating in everyway. Beautiful, tranquil and stylish accomadations. The food is top notch. The staff are fantastic. If a problem does arise-above and beyond is how you will be treated. Go-you will not be disappointed. It is worth every dollar.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Partnerpa0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

In evaluating hotels, a big part of the equation is judging what you receive for your dollar. Falling Rock is expensive, make no mistake. Importantly, it's worth it. For the price of a room at a midtown Manhattan Hampton Inn, you get a truly unsurpassed lodging experience. Located near the first tee of Nemacolin Woodlands fabulous Mystic Rock golf course (home until recently to a PGA event), Mystic Rock's design takes its inspiration from architect Frank Lloyd Wright. It's common areas -- the vast, open main gallery, the restaurant -- derive much light from the generous windows ensconcing the building. The interior is rustic, with rough stones creating a natural feel to the interior.

Guest rooms are spacious with massive windows looking to the golf course or to the grounds of the resort. Bathrooms are amazing, with huge tubs.

And while these trappings are wonderful, it's the level of service that the property presents which sets it apart. Each guest room is assigned a butler, who caters pretty much to whatever need you may have. Need your clothes pressed? Need a bath drawn? Need shoes shined? They gladly will assist.

Outside, the hotel features an "infinity pool" looking out to the 18th hole of the golf course, with a view of the now (unfortunately) unused leader board. It's a real treat, and the only one I have seen anywhere in western Pennsylvania.

This is a small property -- just 42 guest rooms. But you do feel like you are one of the lucky few when you're there.

All in all, if you are staying at Nemacolin, and you're willing to part with the scratch, Falling Rock offers a memorable and elegant experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I am truly fortunate as this is my second stay at Falling Rock. This gorgous 42-room boutique hotel is an immaculate representation of architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright's Falling Water. Attention to detail is unsurpassed at Falling Rock, where each guest is catered to by a personal butler available 24-hours a day. Prepare for the most beautiful sleep of your life as you choose your pillow preference from Falling Rock's 19-option pillow menu, slip between the 1200 thread count sheets, and cover up in hand-sewn chenille bedding. Dine at the four-diamond Aqueous offering delicious steaks and seafood. Play a round of golf on Pete Dye's Mystic Rock, where you're in for a real challenge. Falling Rock is only open five months of the year, so make sure to make your reservations beginning in May. I highly recommend visiting Falling Rock, it is truly an experience like none other.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
501 reviews
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#6 of 9 in Uniontown
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
13.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falling Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falling Rock

Property: Falling Rock
Address: 150 Falling Rock Blvd, at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, Farmington, PA 15437
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tribute to the organic architectural style of Frank Lloyd Wright, Falling Rock sits on the 18th green of Mystic Rock, a PGA-tour-tested golf course designed by Pete Dye. Guests of Falling Rock can enjoy fine dining at Aqueous, Nemacolin's AAA Four-Diamond upscale steakhouse, the stylish Amber Bar and the outdoor Sunset Terrace, overlooking the hotel's Infinity Pool. Host your next meeting, conference or banquet at Horizon Point, a deluxe meeting facility adjacent to this Pennsylvania luxury hotel. A recipient of the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Five-Star awards, Falling Rock boutique hotel features 42 rooms, including four suites, and will provide you with the most beautiful sleep of your life. Indulge in a 10-option pillow menu, upscale sheets and hand sewn chenille bedding. More than just a hotel, Falling Rock is the definition of an escape. Each guest at Falling Rock has access to 24-hour butler service. These professionally trained butlers provide guests with unrivaled attention and service during a stay at this Five Star hotel near Pittsburgh. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing