We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildly diverse set of experiences possible here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wildly diverse set of experiences possible here”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We just spent a few days at the Nemacolin. We realized that the resort is impossible to summarize in one sentence, but here's an a little bit of what you can expect here:

We stayed in the Chateau, the mid-range (~$500/night) hotel, one step above the Lodge and one step below Falling Rock, is a gargantuan Vegas-meets-Paris structure that towers over the surrounding hills and trees. The interior is as elegant as money can make it.

Yesterday evening, we had two experiences that seem to epitomize the contradictions of Nemacolin. In the lobby, amidst all the antiques, artwork and chandeliers, staff were operating an enormous spinning wheel that gave assorted prizes, mostly discounts on the resort's shops. The wheel was surrounded by people of all ages, including lots of shouting children. Nearby, resort staff were demonstrating fishing and hunting gear - rods and rifles, and other staff were holding wild animals from the resort's mini-zoo. So, chaos in the midst of elegance. As another example - Caddyshack, the casual burgers restaurant on the golf course, sits across a road from a car store/museum, where you can pick up a vintage Mercedes for $400,000, or a magnificent restored Cord for $300,000. Right after you finish up your cheese fries.

However, just 100 yards down the hall, we had one of the best dinners of our lives at the ultra-expensive ($250/person tasting menu, with the wine course) restaurant Lautrec. The restaurant was quiet, the service was impeccable, the food creative and delicious, the wines worth every penny.

In the end, we decided we would stop trying to figure out whether Nemacolin was more about the spinning wheel, or the hunting and fishing, or the wild animals, or the antiques, or the truly great restaurant. As the owner put it, they try to provide something for everyone, and they succeed. In spite of, or because of, the quirks, we really enjoyed Nemacolin.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    407
    173
    78
    47
See reviews for
625
896
42
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

It's a little hard to get there, but well worth it. I do wish there was an airport closer for commercial airlines. The service is just wonderful. They really want to help you in any way they can. It makes you feel special.

Meg White

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeClub4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

To those of you planning a business retreat for your Board of Trustees or any meeting for that fact, Nemacolin is a facility to consider. Not only is it beautiful but it offers a wide range activities if your spouse is traveling with you. The staff is remarkable and will accommodate your business and personal needs to perfection.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia15317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The facilities were immaculate. Our room in the Chateau section was extremely comfortable and kept very clean and attractive throughout our stay. The restaurant food and drinks met our expectations in both taste and appeal. We enjoyed the leisurely atmosphere and the many offered activities. The golf at the Mystic Rock course was first class and I utilized the unlimited driving range practice area a number of times to my total satisfaction. A few of the actiities and restaurants had limited availability schedules so you need to do a little bit more planning and we did miss the Sunday Brunch at the Lautrec Restaurant since it was not scheduled on this particular weekend. We did not feel rushed in any aspect of our visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our short three day stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamstees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have stayed at Nemacolin in the past and had great experiences. But... my wife has an Allergy Society meeting there in October and we called to make a reservation and they charge $25 if you end up cancelling. We have stayed at resorts like this all over the country (the Broadmoor, the Greenbrier,etc.) and have never had anyone add a cancellation fee. Completely ridiculous.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gratefuldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, PA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Absolutely DO NOT MISS the Express Train.....a ride (not a real train) around the wild animal areas with Tim! It's fun; and Tim knows everything about the animals on property.....lions, beautiful tiger, incredible bears, etc.!!! We all loved this activity....ages 3-63! Three of our family of eleven spent a morning playing Mystic Rock! An incredibly beautiful, challenging golf course. Don't forget your credit cards.......But this is a place worthy of repeat visits!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klynneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a fantastic weekend at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. The staff was very friendly and accomodating and the food was excellent. Our return trip can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
20.5 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
551 reviews
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
135 reviews
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
6.4 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

Property: Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Address: 1001 Lafayette Dr, Farmington, PA 15437-9754
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 2,000 acres in the Laurel Highlands of Western Pennsylvania and just 70 miles southeast of Pittsburgh, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort is consistently recognized in the travel and hospitality industry for superior service, luxurious accommodations, large selection of amenities and as a first-class meeting destination. With activities and amenities galore you can expect the unexpected at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nemacolin Woodlands Hotel Farmington
Nemacolin Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing