We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Falling Rock is rising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Follansbee, West Virginia
1 review
“The Falling Rock is rising”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I spent our 2nd anniversary at the Falling Rock resort. I knew she finally needed a break from our 1 and 2 year kids and it just happen that our anniversary fell on a weekend… a weekend with sum snow. We got up to Nemacolin right when it started snowing and they had trucks out moving the snow around but once we got to Falling Rock everything was amazing. Doug greeted us at our car where he got our bags and parked our car, the second we walked in we were greeted and told our room was upgraded plus offered many things and a thank you. Once the butler (I believe her name was Elissa) came and got us she took us on a tour of Falling Rock and then showed us our room where she continued to explain everything to us. She also set up a shuttle to the spa for my wife, once at the spa my wife was greeted with a gift bag and a happy anniversary; she spent a few hours there and was shuttle back in time to be greeted with champagne and strawberries at our room. Later that night we went to dinner at Aqueous inside the Falling Rock where again we were greeted with happy anniversary, the food was amazing and even my very picky of an eater wife ate everything (Loved the Elk Loin and Bison Steak). We get back to our room to find the lights dimmed and a warm bubble bath with roses set up. It was a very great experience all the way through and we will be back up next year and so on, plus we will be taking the kids up in the summer to check out the many attractions to do. Also in the morning they had our vehicle right up front for check out and loaded everything up for us. My only thing I regret it I now feel we should have had breakfast at Aqueous rather than the Sunday brunch at Lautrec and my reasoning has nothing to do with Lautrec because the food wowed me but it was just the experience at Falling Rock. It was unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    390
    163
    76
    46
See reviews for
582
859
42
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Wife and i Spent 3 nights in early December. Place was almost empty, being between holiday rushes.

Weather was cold and clear. We were lucky as it was inclement both before and after. Risky time of year for outdoor activities.

Room in Chateau was beautiful--large, well-appointed with vaulted ceiling and nice art work. Housekeeping good.

Food was disappointing. Lettuce wilted, presentation unimaginative, seafood fishy, etc. Room service missed delivery time, but was enthusiastic and accommodating. Front desk friendly and helpful.

We quickly learned to take meals off-campus (Stone House, Brick Oven). From servers and guests learned of love/hate relationship between resort and town. Resort employs up to 1700 persons/day in high season in this otherwise economically depressed Appalachian community, but is contemptuous at times towards locals.

Spa was spotty. Wife loved delux massage package, but I thought my bored masseuse treated me like a piece of meat.

Horseback riding staff was friendly and enthusiastic. My horse was surprisingly responsive for an indiscrimmatively ridden resort "hack". Horse and foot Trails were limited to the large resort property, including views of their caged animals. Animal rights folks might want to stay clear.

The seasonally closed golf courses were impressive wonders of chemically nurtured lurid greenery amidst otherwise scrubby, stoney hills. No level lies. Long fairways. Challenging water. Immense sand. No mature trees in bounds.

I'd give the staff 5 stars, the food one star, the spa 3 stars, and the sociology a C-.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gynodyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beauty, Comfort, Activities, and hospitality were all thoroughly amazing! I recommend to anyone- with or without kids, there is something to do for everyone...and the food- oh the food!! Experience it!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
460 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Nemacolin Resort overnight for a company Christmas party. The resort is beautiful! We arrived and had very attentive bellboys open our doors and get our luggage. Check in was very efficient, no wait, under 5 min but it didn't feel rushed. We arrive to our room 501. It is a small room, but nicely decorated, vaulted ceilings, granite counter tops, balcony with furniture to sit out and enjoy the evening. The bath room is large with a double sink. There were some minor aesthetic issues with the paint chipping on the vanity in the bathroom, and the crown moldings are in need of some tlc. The beds are very comfortable with feather pillows! The bathrooms are well stocked with towels. The security of the room was not so good. There was of course the standard key lock doorknob, but the door didn't seem to meet the jam and to compensate for this a metal piece was installed on the outdside of the door for privacy. The only additional lock was a chain on the door. Through out the night I could hear conversations in the hallway very clearly. The spa is incredible! I felt very relaxed there and wish I had more time to experience the treatments. The tavern is a nice restaurant with a great menu. I recommend the buffalo nachos made with homemade potatoe chips. We did wait for 10 min at the hostess stand before just walking in to seat ourselves. We were greeted by a waitress or bartender who looked at us but didn't acknowledge us. Then anger server told us we had to go see the hostess to be seated. We finally got to a table and had a great server and a good experience. There is a Starbucks in the sundry shop. I went in to get a beverage but the staff were to busy in the back chatting about boyfriends to be acknowledged so I left before being served. The banquet staff were excellent, attentive, personable, professional and efficient! The food was spectacular! The banquet rooms are gorgeous and very tastefully decorated for the season. We ate at the Autumn restaurant for breakfast. The menu has a little bit of everything to please all palates. We were a party of seven and everyone was thrilled with their breakfast choices. I could not decide between the pumpkin pancakes or the peach brioche French toast. So I did a split order of both. They did not disappoint. Very tasty and filling. The portion sizes were very generous. The staff, especially Olga, were excellent, professional and personable. The prices were very fair for the quality, quantity and atmosphere of the restaurant. We are planning a return visit to the resort with our kids to experience more of what the resort has to offer.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the fourth floor don't have elevator access. You must walk up a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinMcKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went there to celebrate my 86th birthday with the whole family. Found it to be a great place.
Golf course was interesting and challenging. Food and overall dining experience superior.
Not too much to do off of the property as far as shopping and antiquing, which is something I enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nemacolin is an amazing place with activities for all ages. Whether you like to ski, swim, off road, golf, relax, pay arcade games, see wild animals, or complete ropes courses, there is literally something for everyone.

We vacationed at Nemacolin during Thanksgiving weekend and participated in the Thanksgiving brunch which was absolutely amazing. In addition to the wide range of food items from your traditional turkey dinner to eggs Benedict and dessert, the staff had multiple arts and crafts projects for the kids to complete.

The staff at Nemacolin is one of a kind. Every single staff member that we encountered during our trip was gracious and kind. During the Thanksgiving brunch, staff members were so happy, cheerful, and fun to be around even though I am sure it's not easy to work on a holiday like Thanksgiving.

One other area in which I think that Nemacolin excels is the way in which they plan their events so that they are not over crowded and unenjoyable for the guests. Restaurants, buffets, and events were never so crowded that you were squeezing through people or we had to worry about my children not being able to see what was happening.

The overall focus of the staff at Nemacolin in on the experience. They don't just want you to run around and participate in every event or attraction but they want to be sure that while you are participating, that you have the most amazing experience doing so.

I would highly recommend Nemacolin to family and friends and we intend to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge which was very convenient to most of the activities that we participated. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We enjoyed Nemacolin for the first time with our kids 12, 10, and 8 in November. We stayed at the Falling Rock Resort and were wonderfully surprised at how excellent our stay was. The rooms are beautiful and spotless, the service was kind, abundant, and there was a sincere joy in all the employee's regarding their positions. The Aqueous Steakhouse was delicious. Special thank you to Tommy, our Butler, Brian, Greg from the Adventure Center, and the attentive housekeeping staff. We will be going back this summer and can't wait.

Room Tip: Falling Rock is quiet, contemporary, and beautiful. It takes a family get away and actually allows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
20.5 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
528 reviews
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
121 reviews
6.4 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
419 reviews
22.3 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

Property: Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Address: 1001 Lafayette Dr, Farmington, PA 15437-9754
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 2,000 acres in the Laurel Highlands of Western Pennsylvania and just 70 miles southeast of Pittsburgh, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort is consistently recognized in the travel and hospitality industry for superior service, luxurious accommodations, large selection of amenities and as a first-class meeting destination. With activities and amenities galore you can expect the unexpected at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nemacolin Woodlands Hotel Farmington
Nemacolin Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing