We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Plum, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway place”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A nice getaway, a lot to do. The simply the best deal is very good.Loved walking around the grounds. The Mystic Rock golf course is fantastic and seeing all the animals in the zoo part was amazing. We were celebrating for the wife's birthday and they put a bottle of wine in the room for us, that was classy of them.

Room Tip: Stayed in the lodge which was ok, but the main hotel looks great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    382
    162
    76
    46
See reviews for
568
845
40
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nemacolin is amazing! We stayed in the Chateau and had a beautiful room and bathroom! We ate at Lautrec, expensive but so worth it! We also ate at Aqueous and enjoyed a beautiful sunset. Unfortunately we were unable to get a dinner reservation at a time we wanted so ended up have great bar food in the bar area. It was a meal in itself. Also had 2 mornings of breakfast at Autumn, once again pricey but very good. My husband played gold at Mystic Rock - I drove the cart so was also able to enjoy the beautiful views. I enjoyed the Woodlands Spa and even zip lined. The zoo that Nemacolin has on the property is a must see! The animals all looked so healthy and the setting was very nice. All the shuttle drivers couldn't have been nicer and had interesting things to say about Nemacolin. We really enjoyed our 2 days there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelercolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Unfortunately, I was here on business and did not get a chance to enjoy all that this impressive resort has to offer. We did get the opportunity to tour the grounds on a gorgeous fall day and all areas of the resort were stunning with the fall colors. I found the staff to be extremely courteous and helpful. The Bellmen even took time to find me a phone charger from one of the employees, because I had left mine at home. The food that at the banquet facilities was awesome the first night and good the second night. It was a little difficult to navigate through the meandering hallways, but by the second day I was giving directions to the "secret elevator behind the large desk."

Overall, I would love to go back to share a special weekend with my wife and I would highly recommend that you do the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Nemacolin for his birthday. I had minimal expectations upon arrival so as a result I was impressed by some aspects of the resort and confussed by others.
I have had the opportunity to stay in 5 star hotels and resorts both in the U.S. and abroad and found Nemacolin to be lacking in the 5 star classification by comparison. The resort as a whole is an eclectic mix of personality and decor. We stayed in the Chateau which is a reasonable attempt at a European grand hotel. Our room was impressive; very large with french doors opening to a balcony and a proportionately large bathroom. The Chateau is connected by a winding hallway to the Lodge portion of the resort. A walk between the two left me questioning the intent and perspective of the decorator/design team or if it was intended to be a tribute to the resorts owner, Joe Hardy.
Our dining experience ranged from a mediocre brunch at Autumn to an excellent dinner at Aqueous. The quality and preparation of our meals was not lacking in any way at Aqueous and we found the service from both the wait staff and somelier to be attentive, knowledgable and friendly.
During our stay I visited the Woodlands Spa. From arrival to departure it was outstanding experience. Small details were well thought out and executed and my masseuse was exceptional for my 80 minute deep tissue. I enjoyed that the gym is connected to the spa; I could have spent the entire day in the spa area if time was not a factor.
In my opinion, Nemacolin does not deserve a five star rating but overlooking the average and eclectic decor and design, we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUHTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Finally made it to Nemacolin and I am so glad I did. The resort is well appointed as was the room in the chateau. Very large and well maintained. I also enjoyed the Woodlands Spa experience. The resort offers numerous activities, a convenient shuttle service and a variety of dining options at various price points. The food and dining experiences were great. I would say that the resort employs one of the most courteous, professional and knowledgeable staffs I have ever encountered. I am already thinking about my next trip to Nemacolin.

Room Tip: Room at the chateau was quite large, providing a nice sitting area, large bathroom, and ample storag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent Saturday night at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort to celebrate her birthday. We love the resort. There is so much to do and see. Every staff member from the valet parking attendant to the front desk personnel to the managers/servers in the restaurants make you feel special. We stayed in the Links Townhouses. On Sunday morning we walked out on the deck and there some 40 yards away was Nemacolin's famed White Buffalo. In the distance we saw a camel and zebras. Across the street was the lion and tiger enclosure. It's not everyday you wake up living in the middle of a zoo. The golf courses and grounds are beautifully maintained and there are plenty of paths and walkways to enjoy it all. It takes several days to enjoy all that Nemacolin has to offer. It's a great place for couples or families. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGnWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was looking for a special and romantic place within driving distance that would provide my wife and me with a memorable experience as a way to spend our 25th wedding anniversary. Nemacolin was that much and more and delivered an incredible experience from beginning to end. We stayed in the Cub Level of the Chateau which included butler services, continental breakfast each morning, tea & snacks in the afternoon, cocktails with hors d'oeuvres in the evening as well as turn down services and before bedtime treats. The staff was always happy and eager to help with whatever was needed. We stayed 4 nights and found no shortage of things to do on or off the resort. The fine dining experiences were outstanding and the casual dining was very good too. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to spend our special anniversary at Nemacolin. We would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: For the romantic atmosphere we chose the Chateau and were happy that we did. Modeled after the Ritz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirpy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
20.5 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
22.3 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
6.4 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

Property: Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Address: 1001 Lafayette Dr, Farmington, PA 15437-9754
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 2,000 acres in the Laurel Highlands of Western Pennsylvania and just 70 miles southeast of Pittsburgh, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort is consistently recognized in the travel and hospitality industry for superior service, luxurious accommodations, large selection of amenities and as a first-class meeting destination. With activities and amenities galore you can expect the unexpected at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nemacolin Woodlands Hotel Farmington
Nemacolin Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing