We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Hotel Revival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Revival
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This property is a distinctly mixed bag.

The good:

Rooms and hallways are recently renovated and comfortable, clean and ordelry too. Valet parking and front desk service were efficient (valet is not cheap though, and there are cheaper secure parking alternatives very near by). The location is nice for downtown, albeit a $10/10 minute cab ride away from the Inner Harbor or Fells Point. The entry is not glamorous but is efficient. Requiring key cards for elevator operation at all times and all floors is probably a good idea.

The televisions were new 40" LCDs with a decent HD channel selection, properly configured, although cheaping out and having Showtime and not HBO is an odd move.

The room service, at least for breakfast, had the lowest prices I have seen in a hotel in twenty years -- a full American breakfast for well under $10, and no delivery charge (20% mandatory gratuity added). A value in itself, and interesting as a business strategy. We stopped by the bar for a late night drink and dessert and were similarly impressed by low prices. (Room rate was good as well, a pricing trifecta).

The bad: uneven service on several dimensions.

That room service, even with its attractive pricing, was very poorly executed. The delivery time we'd specified on the door hanging card came and went the next morning, and a check outside the room revealed why: no one had picked it up, even though we'd left it there before 8 p.m. We called and placed the order, and when it arrived it was delivered with no water and (bizarrely) one paper packet of salt (for an order for four people including eggs and potatos) and no pepper. (The food was satisfactory, though.)

The Wi-Fi service was terrible even by the standards of hotel WiFi. Went in and out constantly, regularly requiring you to log back on, and had sub-3G bandwidth when it was on. We eventually gave up and used 3G on our devices.

The business center printer was too low on toner to print out acceptable bar-code documents for scanning (tickets, etc.)

Did not use the gym, eat in the restaurant at meal times, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback!! We certainly appreciate the comments so that we can continue to commit ourselves to our guests and provide the best service possible! Since your stay we have undergone quite a few changes and upgrades in regards to our services and internet! We hope to have the opportunity to show you sometime in the near future!! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 981 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is my first review of a poor for a hotel. I had called the hotel before I booked because I was traveling with children. They advised the double bed suite because it was roomier with a kitchenette with microwave and fridge. I paid 30% more and we took that room.

When we arrived at about 9pm, the room was nice enough, but NO microwave and a mini-fridge sitting on the counter. I went to the front desk. The fellow said he was alone !? but would try to get one. I explained that we were a family with kids and a baby and would not be able to eat without the microwave and suggested he simply transfer one from an empty room. The microwave never arrived. The kids and us ate cold TV dinners.

A little before 11pm my wife put the kids in the bath. Problem - NO hot water. They suggested we let the water run. That did not work. In the meantime the desk persons shift was over and a new fellow came and gave us keys to other rooms to try to find hot water.
The rooms for several floors above us were empty and we found one which did have hot water but no water coming out of the kitchenette sink! Now we had a microwave too in this one, so we figured we can manage here and took the room, transferring the kids and our luggage at about midnight.

The next day we had no room service don't know why and Saturday evening ONLY boiling hot water came out of the faucets, nothing else. I almost burned myself. When I asked the front desk how they could rent such rooms he just shrugged and said "to tell you the truth I don't know". If not for the guys honesty and friendliness I would have raised a greater ruckus.

The staff told me there was this ongoing problem with the number X09 and X10 room lines going all the way up.

A friend of ours on the twelfth floor in one of the cheaper single bedded rooms told us he had a great stay without problems, so PLEASE check your room before you unpack.

The bedding was ok, unremarkable, though the covers were lumpy. The hotel was clean in all its areas. Our coffee was never replaced during the stay. Toiletries were replaced.

The location though not that close to the inner harbor has a charm of its own. As for parking we found over night street parking and parked near the harbor during the day as the hotels rates came to near $35 a day for parking.

This hotel really has alot of potential, but they have to invest in maintenance and consistency.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 09 or 10. Watch out for the "C standard double bedded rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsadoreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Good Afternoon! We certainly apologize for any incovenience you endured during your stay here with us, especially with children!! Since your departure we have had a change in our Management Team which has taken large strides in updating the property! It is an on-going process however, we are committed to it and do it with the end goal of pleasing our guests to the fullest! Being a historic boutique property built in 1928 we find ways to think outside the box and provide our guests with exceptional service by investing in ourselves and striving for consistency!! Thank you so much and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is the second time we've used the hotel for out of town guests for a wedding, and both times we were very pleased with the service, rooms, and staff.

The hotel is located in Mt. Vernon, one block away from the Walters art museum and easy walking distance from several good restaurants. The harbor is only a 15 minute walk away.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, and feel like an authentic city hotel, not a generic, plastic chain. The restaurant and bar, George's, is a great local spot for happy hour and brunch. Many a wedding guest has ended a night propping up its old wooden bar!

Our waitress a few days ago, K., was particularly fantastic for the brunch after the wedding and was very accommodating for our large wedding party. Front desk staff and management were equally helpful in planning and organizing both parties' stays.

A great hotel for anyone for a city weekend trip or for out of town guests for something like a wedding. It is also very close to the meyerhoff and the lyric opera house. Charming!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philologue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear Philologue,

Thank you so very much for the kinds words and thoughts in your review. As the new GM of The Peabody Court Hotel, I also feel the hotel is clean and comfortable gem in a wonderful area of our city with a fantastic Food and Beverage department.
Please consider visiting us again soon...

Michael Donaldson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My family and I decided to stay in Baltimore and get the Baltimore experience for one day. We came in at about 7 p.m. and planned to sleep in, take in the sights and head home. We got a little lost finding the hotel and ended up in a very bad area (finding out later that only about a 3 block radius around the hotel is okay). We pulled up to the hotel and the valet told us a 35.00 charge for overnight parking. My husband was NOT happy. We also got a deal on a website so no warning on the parking fee. "Overnight" is from the time you get there to 1pm but checkout time is 12:00pm... Then there is an extra 30.00 charge for daytime parking. The staff was great and a big thanks to Sean (Shawn) for helping us find a place to eat and learn the bus system - which is free and very clean. The room was BEAUTIFUL! But the parking price really killed, unable to enjoy Baltimore due to cost of parking and unable to explore

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Small_T0wn_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Good Morning! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!! Like any major city hotel, we have found that offering Valet Parking is a better option for our guests so that it is quick, they know where their vehicle is at all times and that it is secured! We actually own our own garage which is unusual for a city-dwelling:) Our Parking Rates are $29.00 + tax for overnight and then $19 + tax for the day with in and out privileges! We hope that you do have the opportunity to come back to explore as the City of Baltimore is definitely a sight to see!! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The older hotel was nicely furnished. Our room was nice and had a great jacuzzi tub. My only complaint was that it was pretty easy to hear other guests, perhaps a function of the building's age.

We were able to find on-street parking (much easier during the weekend) and avoided the $29 valet parking.

With on-street parking, the hotel is an excellent value ($84 before taxes). If you have to use the valet parking, the value isn't as good as you can get closer to the inner harbor if you want for about the same amount of money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Clayton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments!! We are glad that we had the opportunity to host you and hope to do so again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Some friends and I needed a room in Baltimore for one night this weekend, and I booked through a discount travel site that doesn't give the name or location of the hotel until after payment is made.

What a pleasant surprise! The Wyndham Peabody Court was much more lavish than I had expected and the room was extremely comfortable.

The valet greeted us, the desk staff was friendly and the jacuzzi tub sealed the deal!

My ONLY concern was our experience in the restaurant. There was ONE server, and a bartender, trying to manage 10+ tables and a full bar. Our server was initially extremely rude (and later apologized, explaining that they didn't expect it to be so busy), and our dinner took close to two hours. Having read a few other reviews, it seems that they have had this problem before, and I would recommend that they look into hiring an additional server for the weekends.

Overall, a great hotel, great stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Peabody Court. I am disappointed we failed to give you the proper service in the restaurant. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Sincerely, Wayland K. Campbell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

For our purposes on this trip to Baltimore, this was a perfect set up. We were there for performances at Peabody and not familiar with the Mount Vernon area of Baltimore. We flew in, took the Light Rail from the BWI airport and walked only a few short blocks to hotel. They were able to hold our luggage and called when room ready (we got in early). It was awesome. No need for car. Restaurant at hotel good - only had breakfast here, plenty of restaurants close by and free bus system to get down to Inner Harbor. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Slept great, upper floor was very quiet. We had plenty of hot water although tub did not drain well. Loved the towel warmer in our bathroom!
We found the staff friendly and helpful, especially Paula and Kirsten. We plan to return and stay for upcoming wedding in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the Monument side of the hotel. Corner rooms are larger and have more windows. Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedreamweavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our establishment. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your suggestions with respect to corner rooms. We look forward to your return visit and thank you for your business.
Sincerely, Wayland K. Campbell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ivy Hotel
#1 of 67 in Baltimore
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Revival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Revival

Address: 612 Cathedral St, Baltimore, MD 21201-5102 (Formerly Mt. Vernon Baltimore)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $198 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Revival 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Revival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Peabody Court
Clarion Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Baltimore
Baltimore Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing