We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Hotel Revival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Revival
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Some friends and I needed a room in Baltimore for one night this weekend, and I booked through a discount travel site that doesn't give the name or location of the hotel until after payment is made.

What a pleasant surprise! The Wyndham Peabody Court was much more lavish than I had expected and the room was extremely comfortable.

The valet greeted us, the desk staff was friendly and the jacuzzi tub sealed the deal!

My ONLY concern was our experience in the restaurant. There was ONE server, and a bartender, trying to manage 10+ tables and a full bar. Our server was initially extremely rude (and later apologized, explaining that they didn't expect it to be so busy), and our dinner took close to two hours. Having read a few other reviews, it seems that they have had this problem before, and I would recommend that they look into hiring an additional server for the weekends.

Overall, a great hotel, great stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Peabody Court. I am disappointed we failed to give you the proper service in the restaurant. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Sincerely, Wayland K. Campbell GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    348
    181
    82
    33
See reviews for
323
220
53
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

For our purposes on this trip to Baltimore, this was a perfect set up. We were there for performances at Peabody and not familiar with the Mount Vernon area of Baltimore. We flew in, took the Light Rail from the BWI airport and walked only a few short blocks to hotel. They were able to hold our luggage and called when room ready (we got in early). It was awesome. No need for car. Restaurant at hotel good - only had breakfast here, plenty of restaurants close by and free bus system to get down to Inner Harbor. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Slept great, upper floor was very quiet. We had plenty of hot water although tub did not drain well. Loved the towel warmer in our bathroom!
We found the staff friendly and helpful, especially Paula and Kirsten. We plan to return and stay for upcoming wedding in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the Monument side of the hotel. Corner rooms are larger and have more windows. Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedreamweavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our establishment. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your suggestions with respect to corner rooms. We look forward to your return visit and thank you for your business.
Sincerely, Wayland K. Campbell GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, PA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked this hotel after ours became overbooked. We were expecting a great hotel at a "deal" price". I called ahead before booking and was told that it was walking distance to the inner harbor, where we had reservations and plans throughout the weekend. It is a 1.5 mile walk (I don't call that walking distance for my wife in heels) I feel that $35.00 is overpriced for parking, especially in this neighborhood.The hotel did not have hot water for showers either day for my wife or me. 1/2 the staff were nice, and the other half were extremely rude.

The hotel is a faded glory, and in the 70's or 80's it was probably really nice, but it's seen better days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jshoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Good Day, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. I apologize for you not receiving the Great experience from staying here that most of our guest have had. We are definintely walking distance to the Inner Harbor because we have guest that easily decend on the Inner Harbor by foot everyday. We had no way of knowing that your wife would be wearing heels to do so. We had a water unexpected pump malfunction on Saturday, professionals were called out for emergency services and the water was restored within a few hours. Yes, we do have an older dwelling, however, we make every effort to stay on top of all maintenance upkeep. We also provided our affected guest with complimentary breakfast and other means of compensation for the inconvenience. We offer valet parking services which is optional like it is at most properties. That choice is totally up to the guest to decide. We are a beautiful hotel with lots of charm and charater and we hope that you decide to give us a try again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Arrived and the valet parking attendant was great, really friendly and helpful. Things went downhill after that.....Front desk staff wouldn't let us check in early, but they did offer to hold our bags, that was nice. Room was very comfortable.

The restaurant on the second floor was unbelievably slow. The service was so slow, it took 2 hours for a dinner. It turned out that we weren't in a rush, but if we had been, there was no way the staff seemed to be able to help. There appeared to be one waitress, helped by the bartender, for the entire place. Then the next morning, it took 2 hours for a breakfast! I know there was a large (wedding I think) party, but come on folks, you should be prepared for that.

Up early one morning and when I asked the front desk guy where I could find a local place for coffee, he shrugged, said he didn't know, and went back to watching tv. Asked another question later at the front desk and got a blank stare.

Internet worked one day, and didn't work the next. Staff was so unfriendly I didn't bother to ask them to look into it.

Wrote a letter and never heard from them.

Great place if you're on your own and don't need any help/questions/service, etc.

Can't believe this place really has a manager. If it did, and he/she spent one hour in the restaurant, they'd see for themselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisaRJohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
I was both saddened and surprised to see "Staff need an attitude adjustment" Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the frustration and inconvenience that we caused. This is especially saddening because Wyndham was founded on the promise of excellent customer care. We are committed to you, our valued customer and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. We have implemented plans of action to provide better information to you. We are placing additional staffing on for our "Wedding Weekends" as well as giving handouts for area restaurants and coffee shops at the front desk. I am truly sorry for the slowness in the restaurant upon your visit, as well as your perception of the front desk agent not helping you with your need for suggestions in the area, but I can assure you that we do not have any televisions at the front desk. On a positive note, I am happy to know that you were greeted warmly by our valet staff upon arrival, which is what the entire experience is supposed to feel like. We are confident, as a result of these actions, that Wyndham will emerge as a more reliable and customer responsive establishment than ever before. You deserved better service than what was given. Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon and provide you with the positive Wyndham experience that you have come to expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Called and made a spur of the moment reservation for me and my toddler. The staff was fantastic! They were able to fit us in and have a room ready early. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and fun to talk to. The valet service was excellent and the rooms were beautiful and spacious. We had a double bed room with a jacuzzi tub and felt pampered and special during our stay. If we had stay in Baltimore again we definitely would book at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you very much, we appreciate your feedback. It gives me great joy to see comments like yours. I am happy to see that we are continuing Wyndham's efforts in customer service. Maybe next time you could endulge in some of our delicious entree's at George's at Mount Vernon Square. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, VT
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel has personality and charm, but the wonderful staff made our three night adventure one to remember. Everyone...Everyone was helpful, friendly, and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay comfortable and easy.

The room was large, quiet, and clean. Great linens. The beds were soft...but not overly so. The bathroom had been updated and was quite nice...clean and conveniently arranged.

We ate a couple meals in the dining room which we enjoyed and were once again pleased with the staff.

I can't say enough good thing about our experience. This was my first time in Baltimore...I accompanied a friend who was there for a conference. I'd love to come back just for pleasure.

What a wonderful city...Who knew?

Room Tip: Rooms in front overlook the monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaylandC, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our establishment. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your suggestions with respect to room views. We look forward to serving you on your return visit and thank you for your business.
Sincerely, Wayland K. Campbell GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel was actually smaller than I thought (103 rooms or so). The service was quite good. I asked for a room away from the elevators and I couldn't have gotten a room further away. The building itself was old, but the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were upgraded, and the water pressure in the shower was excellent.

The only criticism is that it's a bit isolated from the touristy part of town, and finding a CVS or grocery nearby was a bit hard. There are a couple of very nice restaurants, however.

The exercise room had a bad odor and needing renovation of its ventilation system. I used it once and decided not to go there again.

Overall, my experience was very positive and if you're looking for good service in the area (Peabody Court / Washington Monument), it's an excellent choice. If you're looking for more dinner/nightlife, I would consider alternative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InfreqTrav1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Good Morning! Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments! We appreciate the feedback!! We are definitely located in the Historic part of Baltimore which does not boast "touristy" venues. Instead, we are home to more Cultural venues such as the Walters Art Museum, Peabody Institute and Library and much more!! However, with Charles Street being a block away our location still offers you plenty of options to explore the night life :) I do want you let you know that we have recently renovated our 24 Hour Fitness Center so if you are back here with us I can assure you that you will have a better experience!! Have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Hotel Brexton
#30 of 66 in Baltimore
466 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#53 of 66 in Baltimore
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Revival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Revival

Property: Hotel Revival
Address: 612 Cathedral St, Baltimore, MD 21201-5102 (Formerly Mt. Vernon Baltimore)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Revival 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Revival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Peabody Court
Clarion Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Baltimore
Baltimore Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing