We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop and rethink your hotel needs beforehand...”
Review of Hotel Revival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Revival
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The extremely difficult access to the location...due to road closures is only one of the major issues with this aged hotel.
The extremely difficult Mount Vernon area location...is only one of the major issues with this aged hotel…Elevators-Room Lighting-Staffing-Foodservice-Exercise Area-Functioning Room Keys....are also on list of problems with this converted apartment building site.
The road closures are temporary so that will be fixed...but the rest of the facility pales when compared to normative Wyndham hotel standards almost everywhere. Personnel try at the valet...to overcome the temporary road issues and the Baltimore Book Festival across the street...but the rest of the small staff are not up to the task of serving the guests needs. Front desk is staffed by a single person at all hours...food service is very slow and under staffed...a 30 + minute wait for breakfast does not compete with the meal period needs. No coffee service outside of the rooms...puts added stress on the small food/bar operation.
Do not expect a quiet sleep with this facility...just too much street side exposure...even without the jackhammers and heavy equipment from the temporary street construction. Workout room (closet sized) has broken equipment. While there are some redeeming features (Roof Top)…but just not enough to compensate for the issues.

Room Tip: Try something on a the highest floors...perhaps they are quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenAyers1, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

R_che I'm sorry to hear your disapointment with our hotel during your stay. We strive to make each guest feel comfortable at all time, and I'm sorry that we weren't able to do that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 981 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights. Our 2 double bed room was spacious. Nice tiled bathroom. Flat screen tv with lots of channels. The hotel restaurant was good too with specials every night. The burger specials were good and the macaroni and cheese with crab was really tasty. The service was super from the valet to the bellman to the front desk folks. Was lucky enough to have an awesome view of Mount Vernon circle area (ask for that!)

The only hassles I had were figuring out how to insert the key card in the elevator to get it going.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting the Washington monument area. Really awesome view up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenAyers1, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Hello zzrsteve. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you had great meals at George's On Mt Vernon Square. We hope to see you during your next visit to Baltimore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Truly a beautiful historic hotel. Our King room was much bigger than the usual hotel bedroom and had lots of extras, including huge windows with a fantastic view of nearby Washington Monument Park. My husband and I felt very much at home. There were 3 closets for clothes, dresser/vanity, wet bar/refrigerator, all with lights and power. Our large bathroom had all marble floors and walls plus a heated towel bar. It would be easy to stay for an extended time and not feel cramped although we would have preferred a higher toilet with a comfortable seat that flushed easier (you had to hold the flush button down hard for 5-10 seconds.) Unfortunately, we expected to be able to see Baltimore Orioles baseball games on our room TV, having been assured by the desk clerk when making our reservation, but found that the hotel rooms do not subscribe to MASN, the Maryland Sports Network (which also broadcasts football and other pro games). Although there's a high quality restaurant on the 2nd floor, the menu was all American crab cakes and steaks--nothing adventurous, but fortunately there are many good places within walking distance for us to dine. The restaurant also restricted guests to expensive room service, leaving us disappointed with the inability to walk into the restaurant for coffee to go--which would have been easy to implement with the coffee bar right at its entrance. (Many people instead walked to a nearby coffee shop instead of making coffee in-room in the 1-cup appliance that had no access to real cream.) The valet car service was good, but they need to come up with some inventive seating in the small but stately lobby for infirm people waiting for their vehicles--you can only sit if you go 4-5 steps down into the library. Despite some lacks, Peabody Court was still one of the best hotels my husband and I have ever stayed in: luxury, atmosphere, and convenience with very competitive rates.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlesthebarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenayers, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

charlesthebarles , thanks for your response! Its a great point you make about seating in the lobby! I will definitely look into that. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. You can get coffee to go in George's On Mt Vernon Square, so not sure why it was felt otherwise, I will check into that as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Wyndham Peadbody is an historic building - and along with the charm and originality of architectural features, some problems may occur -- as was our experience: namely, air-conditioning did not function in the room to which we were assigned, and problems occurred with the keys (as other tripadvisors report).

So problems can occur, particularly in an historic building, but more importantly, the staff found "solutions." Engineer, Chris, who came up the room to investigate the problem with non-functioning air-conditioning was immensely helpful, and along Shaun at the front desk, in re-locating us in a cool *and* quiet room.

The keys can be a nuisance in working the elevators - but the staff showed us the more successful techniques in getting the keys to operate. Admittedly, it takes some practice. . .

Because we moved to another room, we saw furnishing and bath room facilities in two rooms -- and the both bath rooms were well-equipped. Also a nice feature is a small frig in the room for bottled water. Plus beds have high quality linens.

Breakfast at George's (on-site) was good, and was fairly priced.

The immediate area near Wyndham Peabody has some outstanding sites, within a block or two of the hotel: The Library of the Peadbody Institute, the Garrett-Jacobs Mansion, and Walters Miuseum. These sites are (as the saying goes) "worth a journey," but they just steps away from the hotel.

If you prefer sleek, modern locations, another property may be a better choice. But for an historic hotel, with many original features, a charming lobby, and interesting rooms --and a terrific location in Baltimore-- Wyndham Peabody is a worthy choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenayers, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Hello triptraveller, I'm sorry you experienced issues at our hotel, however I'm very glad that we were able to correct those issues. We are working very hard on getting our locks corrected and purchasing new Heater/AC units for the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed for 3 nites and were quite pleased. this apparently used to be apartments, and was very recently re-done. they really kept a lot of the charm. the room was spacious and comfortable, and actually looked just like the photo of the king room. our room looked out over the park and monument, so it was quiet and very pretyy. everyone on the staff was extremely accomodating and eager to please. we did use the valet parking and never had a problem with it and it was a nice convenience. we ate at georges (their restaurant) for 2 breakfasts and one dinner. the food was very good as was teh service, and the prices were reasonable(especially for a hotel). that was a nice convenience for us. The only negatives on the hotel(and they are not deal breakers but they were slight negatives) were that the area, while nice and quiet , we would have preferred just a few more cafes, restaurants etc immediately around the hotel. also if you wanted to sit and talk as a group the lobby was rather small(beautiful, but on the small side). We did utilize the free shuttle on the Purple Route quite a bit which we did not know about before hand and that was a great feature to compensate for not having tons of places immediately around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moiinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenayers, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Hello moiinnj and Thank You for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Since we are situated in a residential neighborhood Restaurants are a little further out, but there are a good amount of them on the Charles Street corridor a block away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The location of hotel was excellent, the area was really pleasant to walk around, with museums, cafes and parks. The hotel itself was lovely, the room really spacious and comfortable. Also the staff were helpful and friendly - a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mudloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenayers, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

mudloft, Thank You! for visiting our hotel, and for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at the Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court with some family members for my daughter's graduation from MICA. The hotel has a lot of charm, and we all loved the neighborhood, and seeing all of the dogs in Mount Vernon square. This stay was even better than our first stay in April. The service issues were ironed out. We had top notch service from the time we arrived until our departure.

Starting with the valet, he directed us to a very close parking lot where we saved a lot of money over the valet parking cost. Transportation to the Inner Harbor and even to Fell's Point was easy using the free Circulator bus, which had a stop a block or two away. The front desk staff was cordial and helpful. The housekeeping was excellent, too. We were also pleased with the service at the bar.

Both rooms we reserved were beautiful, and we enjoyed the views from our rooms. For the price and convenience, this hotel was an excellent choice for us!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OHTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenayers, General Manager at Hotel Revival, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Hey OHTrip. We have been working very hard in the past few months to make sure our guests are comfortable and satisfied when they are staying with us. I'm glad that we have ironed some of those issues out, and I look forward to see you during your next visit to Baltimore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Hotel Brexton
#31 of 67 in Baltimore
475 reviews
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#55 of 67 in Baltimore
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore Downtown
The Ivy Hotel
#1 of 67 in Baltimore
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Revival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Revival

Address: 612 Cathedral St, Baltimore, MD 21201-5102 (Formerly Mt. Vernon Baltimore)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $216 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Revival 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Revival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Peabody Court
Clarion Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Baltimore
Baltimore Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing