We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay at the Renaissance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at the Renaissance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

The hotel is in an awesome location right on the Inner Harbor and if your lucky enough to get a view of the Harbor, you wont be disappointed. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was so comfortable that we overslept by two hours one morning. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There are lots of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance and there is even a mall connected to the hotel. We will definitely be staying at this hotel in or future trips to Baltimore.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klee723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    672
    264
    80
    54
See reviews for
434
369
68
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Recommendation: Put all Wedding guests on one floor AWAY from all other guests!!! We were in for a quick trip - great place, clean, comfy, awesome views (which we paid EXTRA for)...Went to bed, woken up by yelling, banging on doors, laughing, etc...not once....over 6 times. We called the front desk - THEY DID NOTHING! They knew who the people were, did nothing. We literally got up, threw our stuff in our suitcase and high-tailed it out of there - will look to stay in a different hotel next visit...not happy! Oh - and PAY for internet. We stayed at the Courtyard and it was FREE!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

On the first night some sort of loud fight erupted outside our romm at 3 AM.
The second night we were accosted by an aggressive panhandler while in the lobby bar. We reported to hotel security, They were entirely unsympathetic and treated us poorly.

The wireless internet, which cost $13 a day, worked for about 50% of the day. Staff was unconcerned when it was reported to them.

The lobby is loud and uncomfortable. Speakers blare unpleasant music at all hours making reading or converstion very difficult.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFasano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

The Renaissance Harborplace Hotel is ideally situated if you are planning a lot of activities in the downtown Baltimore area - it is right across the street from the Inner Harbor area with its loads of shops and attractions, and within walking distance of many other nearby attractions. That said, it makes pretentions of being a 5-star hotel, but only a total fool would pay the 5-star price for this place.

The front desk staff is very good, check-in and check-out were painless and quick. The undergound garage rate is one notch below extortion, yes, and you are well advised to lock anything you want to keep in the trunk - this IS a big city and the criminals DO know where the tourists and all their toys hang out.

The rooms are adequate as far as size goes. Furnishings are generally up to date, the bed was comfortable (if anything, they go overboard on the pillows), and the expected extras are in the bathroom. Big minuses are a hefty $12.95 per day charge for internet access, no exhaust fan in the bathroom and rather dim lighting in the mirror there, and a paucity of free channels on the flat screen TV. A smaller minus was the coffee maker, that was cleverly hidden behind the ice bucket in the cabinet under the TV.

The biggest downsides are room location and noise - there is only ONE bank of elevators for the entire hotel, so long waits can be common, and since the hotel is laid out in a hollow square, be prepared for a lengthy hike if you room is in a far corner. Of greater concern for many might be the noise. The walls are thin, and you will hear almost every conversation and TV program of your neighbors; the corridors also carry sound quite well and loud, late night groups can wake up an entire floor as they make the long trek to their room.

Contrary to some reviews, I did not find the fifth floor restaurant horribly overpriced, but then I wasn't trying to feed a family. There is a huge variety of restaurants within walking distance, but the view from the Harbor Place restaurant can't be beat. I can't say the same for the ground floor coffee shop, it always seemed either overcrowded, understaffed, or both.

Although the lobby is nicely appointed and furnished, very loud background music makes it almost impossible to have a normal conversation (maybe that was intentional?)

All in all, I stayed there because I had to. Would I stay there if I had the choice? Only if I got an exceptionally good price on the room, to cancel out the exorbitant parking price and lack of free internet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weary Travellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikasoshi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

I reserved a room with 2 queen beds for 3 girls. When we arrived we were told that there was a King room available only.... "no guarantee on the 2 queens"! Why did someone else that reserved 2 queens get them and we did not?!?!? Who makes that decision?? We got the run-around REPEATEDLY when we called the front desk inquiring why we could not get the 2 queens we reserved. Our King room was beautiful, however NOT what we wanted. We were told 4 separate times we would get a roll away bed delivered. It, along w/ bath towels, were not delivered until 2:30AM! Before we received the roll away at 2:30AM, management tried to move 1 of us to another room down the hall-we said No! We were completely unpacked and settled at that point.

Paying $300.00 for a room/night is not cheap and we do not feel that it warrants sleeping on a cot! What if we were two couples splitting a room for the night... we were all supposed to crawl into bed together? I DON'T THINK SO! If you plan to stay at the Renaissance or anywhere that has no guarantee on the room that you THINK you reserved, be aware! Its pretty shady! And, oh by the way, when we checked out and expressed our distaste, management waived our valet parking fee of $36! At that point, this was simply a slap in the face.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikasoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We booked our two nights through priceline and were thrilled with our room and the service at the hotel. We were able to check in early and were treated as if we payed full price for the room. We used the pool each night, the room was spotless, room service was quick and the food was very good. The location of this hotel is amazing. Right across the street from the harbor and only two blocks from Port Discovery.

We will certainly book this hotel in the future. We were VERY happy with our last minute trip!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri9160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

I am happy to report that after contacting Marriott corporate, who in turn contacted the management at the hotel, our situation received satisfactory resolve. We were given a free night (points added to our rewards account to equal room we had stayed in) and were told the staff has received training and will continue to, in order to not have our situation happen to another guest.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing