We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Visit to Baltimore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great First Visit to Baltimore”
Reviewed October 6, 2006

We are here to attend a conference, and we lucked out into getting great rooms for less than $200 per night, and are across the street from the Inner Harbour. Everything is very convenient, maybe a little too touristy, but for the first visit that is ok. The Hotel amenities are first class, the parking is easy below the hotel, and my wife enjoys the shopping in the small mall attached to the hotel. Everyone has been very hospitable,the Front Desk, the Porters, Housekeeping, and any other staff. I would return here anytime. Hope the weather cooporates next visit.

  • Liked — Great Room, close to everything
  • Disliked — A little too much street noise,even on the 12th floor
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan for better weather
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    693
    272
    83
    54
See reviews for
450
381
69
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2006

My husband works for Marriott and he could not believe how rude the staff was. Upon checking in, it was pure chaos. The front desk was so rude and unfriendly and no one new what was going on nor did they care. That evening we tried to order room service but upon several tries, no one ever answered. Finall y,reached the front desk, again she was put out but took the order. It arrived one hour and fifty minutes later. As for the room, the view was great. The bellman, Brooks, was awesome. We will never stay there again, too many other hotels to choose from. The front desk really needs to take a course in hospitality, otherwise quit their job. If things are not right upon check in, they only seem to get worse. The hotel manager was just walking around the lobby, as if she was in a daze. People like to feel like your happy to see them not a burden.

  • Liked — the view and the bellman brooks
  • Disliked — staff
  • Tips/Secrets — book somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely location. We were assigned a room with a courtyard view, but requested a change and they gladly gave us a partial harbor view. We stayed on the Concierge floor as we are Marriott Rewards members, and the breakfast and snacks were great. The location is great -- right across the street from the Harbor. The restaurant selection in the Harbor was wonderful! As an added bonus, the hotel is actually connected to a nice little mall, with several fast-food possibilities and a few brand name stores.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kareberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

This hotel is right at the center of everything. You just need to park your car there and that's it. Gallery Mall is inside the same building, and there is a skywalk that connects to one of the 2 Inner Harbor shopping centers. Baltimore Duck boards merely a traffic light away. You could even take the water taxi to all major sight-seeing points in Baltimore (that's what we did). In case you don't know, the 2 routes of water-taxi all go to HarborPlace (you tranfer between boats of different routes there), which is right across from the hotel.

The room is spacious and the water view is simply spectacular. I would not consider the room furnishing itself the most luxurious (compare to Westin and Four Seasons) but the services are without peers.

Try the crab egg omelette at the hotel's restaurant. You won't be disappointed! The lobster boil is also superb.

In retrospect, there is a few hotels that offer more amenities on paper and cost less, but I can't stress enough how convenient it is, after a long day of shopping / dining / sight-seeing, a nice room with unparallel views awaits you merely a few minutes away. A few blocks of walking is a whole lot more than you think at the end of each day!

TIP 1: Before booking this hotel from all those travel websites, try the property's website directly first! I regret I didn't do it. The property offers really good deals / packages periodically. For example, you could book your room at Expedia or Travelocity at $239 a night, but for $30 more, you could have book it directly from the hotel and get 4 adults tickets to National Aquarium (that's $130 folks!) or, for $10 more, 4 breakfast buffets ($64 value).

TIP 2: You want a healthy exercise? Try the Dragon Paddle Boat! The rental is merely 2 minutes away from the hotel, right next to the World Trade Center. If you don't want to wait in line, or you prefer something more relaxing, try the electrical boat rental between National Aquarium and World Trade Center (an 30 seconds additional walk). It's real nice to ride the electric boat in Inner Harbor after dusk!

  • Liked — Location and unparalleled services
  • Disliked — Price
  • Tips/Secrets — Book direct with the property which offers unbeatable package deals
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank The_Silent_Music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in early August and had a great time. The hotel was lovely and the location was just wonderful. It is close to all major attractions. Parking in the adjacent garage is valet or self and can be billed to your room. You need to take one elevator from the garage to the lobby and another elevator up to your room. Our room was on the 7th floor and had a view of the courtyard (boring but quiet). We opted to stay on this floor as it was the same as the pool and the kids just love to swim. Now it was a long walk from the elevator to the room but luckily we didn't do that too many times a day. The room was very nice and the beds were so comfy. We had 2 queens with down duvets and 4 pillows per pillow top bed. The crib was a pack and play. The indoor pool had life jackets, kick boards and pool noodles to use which we thought was a great touch. The hotel is connected to the gallery mall. Mall elevators are a bit slow but there is a food court on the 4th floor. The hotel is also connected to the pratt street section of harbor place by a walkway over the road (not handicap accessible). We enjoyed our stay. My only complaint is that the hotel staff didn't seem to know much about the area. I asked for directions to the zoo and she printed something from the web. Once she read them she was able to direct me but I thought it odd that she didn't know there was a zoo. I had also asked another staff member for breakfast recommendations and he replied that there wasn't many places open for breakfast and gave me some streets to try. Well, there is a Starbucks in the hotel as well as in the gallery mall. There is a McDonald's across the (back) street, a Dunkin Donuts 1 block away and a Barnes and Noble in the Inner Harbor. That is just what I was able to find on my own. The restaurant in the hotel seemed pricey at least for breakfast so we didn't try it.

  • Liked — Very confortable beds and the pool noodles at the pool
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank unytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

Wow, I was somewhat concerned with some of the reviews on this hotel because I have pretty high standands when it comes to a hotel. My concerns where unwarranted because our stay was very nice.

Check-in: A gentleman by the name of Lio checked us in upon our arrival (early about 2:00). Our room was ready and we were placed in room 11043.

Room: Nice size room, very clean, bathroom clean, tub, sink, toilet, floor all were spotless (no hair). The room, bedding, and furniture were all clean and dusted. Lather bath products (love them) were in the bathroom. No dust on the tables, behind the curtain, or even behind the TV (I checked). Our room had two queen size beds,chair and ottoman, desk, nightstand, etc, the usual. It overlooked the Gallery Mall and the pavillion area. Fast elevator service. The room is a little bit of a walk to the elevator but it was not a big deal at all. My kids didn't even complain.

In-door Pool: Clean with excellent lifeguard staff. The lifeguard immediately stopped children who were diving (no diving is permitted) or behaving in an unsafe manner. Well monitored pool area by the lifeguard. We didn't use the sauna but did use the whirlpool/jacuzzi and it was also clean. Yes, the pool is small, it is not an Olympic Size Pool but it is adequeate especially for children.

Staff: Excellent, friendly and greeted us with a hello/smile in the hallways. Concierge was very helpful. He provided us with directions as requested to the Great Blacks in Wax Musuem (excellent by the way), and to local restaurants. He was very friendly, accomodating, and thorough.

Room Service: Our meals arrived within the 25 minute guarantee with a smile each time. Set up was complete and professional. The food was good and priced fairly in my opinion. I don't expect "value priced meals" when ordering room service in a hotel. Let's be realistic.

Overall: Excellent stay, great staff, with only one minor concern; it takes a looooong time to receive extra towels/washcloths after the maid staff has left for the day. If you anticipate needing extra, make your request early in the day.

Well done Renaissance, we will return.

  • Liked — Clean,comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — long wait for extra towels
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelismymiddename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

On July 28, my boyfriend and I checked into the Renaissance to begin what we thought would be a nice, romantic weekend. The desk clerk told me that he did not have any non-smoking rooms with a king available, but he offered to "upgrade" me to the "Governor's Suite." He added that it had a "queen bed." We were shocked to discover that the "suite" was actually a glorified conference room! Although the conference room was the size of an apartment and the view was amazing, the “queen bed” was a rollaway twin about a foot off the floor next to the conference table. We called to the front desk, and they said they'd bring up a queen. About 45 minutes later (and only after a second call), another rollaway bed was delivered, but it was only a double. The thin mattress was very uncomfortable, the sheets were coarse, and the box spring was literally falling apart. We felt like we were one step up from camping. We tried the pullout bed in the couch. The edges of the thin mattress were curled upwards, and we could feel the metal bars through the mattress. We moved back to the rollaway bed after I cut my elbow on an exposed piece of metal in the pullout couch.

We requested a room change, but the front desk said nothing would be available until the next day. Because we were going to be out most of the day, we were told we would have to check out of our room and let the front desk store our things for the day. Not only did we not want the hassle of re-packing and moving, at this point, we had very little trust in the front desk to secure our luggage. In the end, we had two nights of horrible sleep, and we both had neck and back stiffness the following day.

I am shocked that a hotel like the Renaissance thought it would be acceptable to misrepresent the quality of the room (it was not a suite, it was not an upgrade, and there was NO queen bed) and then charge 300+ a night for us to sleep on a rollaway bed. Perhaps the hotel was so packed that the front desk had no other option for us, but this was unacceptable. We will never go back to the Renaissance.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Danimal818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,428 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
#14 of 66 in Baltimore
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing