We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Upgraded to suite due to being a platinum elite. Room was very nice. Hotel close to attractions. Lots of security in the hotel. Club lounge had basic items for breakfast. Fitness center had basic working machines. There is a mall attached to the hotel. Typical city noise from the room.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nailcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Overnight Stay

Huge hotel yet makes you feel comfortable and welcome; hotel needs better room number signs and directions for getting to the elevator

Great Location-across the street from harbor

Check-In: easy process; A gentleman greeted me with a very berry tea (included alcohol).

Restaurant:Dined at the Watertable Restaurant; ordered the Rockfish (local fish); excellent presentation, but no taste; requested lemon slices to squeeze over fish

Lobby car- closes early on Friday night do you are forced to go to restaurant bar

Room- had a harbor view room, spacey, clean, comfortable bed

Bathroom-big

Lobby-tranquil decor, nice colors; lots of spaces to lounge

Pool-small

Fitness center-smelled clean, some TVs didn't work on treadmills

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevator; It's easy to get lost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houtrravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is an average convention hotel. Check in was slow due to a large line but easy once we made it to the desk. Expect a crowd in the lobby, later than normal room cleanings, long waits for concierge services, and modest waits for elevators. Rooms are clean and fairly large. Our view of the harbor was extremely pretty, day and night. Ask for a room with this view! The hotel is located directly across the street from the harbor tourist attractions, water taxi, tourist shops and restaurants. The water taxi charges but free local bus service to attractions picks up on the corner near the hotel. I personally won't return to this hotel for one reason - there is no coffee maker in the room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coneycoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renhar, Guest Experience Coordinator at Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your harborview room and our excellent location. It sounds like you were able to explore many of the sights. The free circulator bus is a great way to get around if you want to visit some of the historic neighborhoods such as Fell's Point and Federal Hill. Weekends are bustling in the hotel and our lobby is a gathering place for many of our guests. I'm sorry if some of your wait times were a little long. My apologies if you did not have a coffee maker in your room. All of our rooms have coffee makers along with coffee/tea service. The coffee maker is located in the cabinet next to the small refrigerator.

Again thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

Pamela Saleh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The Renaissance Harborplace Hotel is quickly becoming our favorite in Baltimore. The service starting from the valet parking through the front desk are absolutely wonderful. They're courteous, professional and pay attention to the details that make staying with them worthwhile.The hotel is very fancy from the moment you step into the foyer. Very modern and well put together.

The room was nicely appointed. Our first stay had a harbor view which was breathtaking. Our most recent stay overlooked the courtyard and the swimming pool. Every detail was given its due attention.

All in all the Harborplace Hotel is a repeat stay for us. Between it's amenities and it's primo location at the Inner Harbor it's a definite! Whether you're in the city for sightseeing, catching a game at Camden Yards, or catching a show at the Lyric...the pricing is competitive with other hotels, but when I stay in Baltimore, I choose the Renaissance Harborplace Hotel. Stay happy my friends!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My daughter and her fiancé planned a weekend of wedding events in a way that would lead her out-of-town family and friends to realize what a great city Baltimore is. She chose the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel for the guests to stay. Its location right on Baltimore's Inner Harbor gave them easy access to the many attractions there (e.g., the National Aquarium, the Science Center, the Constellation, the shops and restaurants in Harborplace). Fun public transportation is within a block to take them to farther venues. The water taxi provides an easy way to travel to Ft. McHenry, Fells Point, and other harbor stops, The free Charm City Circulator bus system makes getting to the B&O Railroad Museum or the Walters Art Museum a breeze.

We, the parents, chose a room with a view of the Inner Harbor. Watching the sun rise over the city of Baltimore provided a gorgeous start to the big day. The suite we reserved for the bridal party to have their hair and make-up done together worked really well. Both rooms were well appointed, clean, and spacious. The Renaissance even left Champagne and strawberries in the rooms to welcome us.

On Sunday after the wedding festivities, our out-of-town guests joined us for brunch in the Renaissance Water Table room which overlooks the Baltimore Harbor. Brunch featured a cornucopia of delicious options including made-to-order crab meat omelets; lox, cream cheese, and bagels; plus fruit, pastries, etc. As our guests left for home they thanked us for a wonderful weekend in Baltimore, a city they now loved and intend to visit again! Success!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the harbor are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

If location is a priority but not exceptional views, service or facilities this is the hotel to go to. There is nothing wrong per se with staying here but the service is mediocre, rooms aren't cleaned until 2 pm, they were not able to get our reservation correct even after 3 calls and our view was of the other hotel rooms. So the experience was meh!
I see this hotel beneficial for business travels not for out of town vacationers.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renhar, Guest Experience Coordinator at Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not particularly enjoy your stay and felt the service was lacking. Our guests do find our location to be the best in the Inner Harbor. It is convenient for both business travelers who want to get out and about after all day meetings and families who want to explore with the ease of having everything within walking distance. My apologies for the late in the day cleaning of your guestroom. Requests for specific times to receive houskeeping services can be scheduled with the front desk.

Thank you again for your feedback. It is much appreciated.

Pamela Saleh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Perfect location and excellent staff. We arrived as early as 1030 and due to our elite status they were kind enough to give us a room as loves we didn't mind two queens instead of a king. Ask for a room on a higher floor with the harbour view ... It's really worth it. The concierge lounge well stocked and good food. The harbour mall opposite has a good selection of food and shopping, the team was wonderful even with the late checkout and the ex tended parking. All in all met all the Marriott usual excellent standards. Only little issue is that rooms are really far from the elevator bank but that's a building design flaw. All in all a great stay and would use this property again for sure

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room on a higher floor it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bharati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $153 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing