We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusty and Musty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fusty and Musty”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was 11:30pm when the cab pulled up to the somewhat darkened depressing looking lobby. Upon entering I noticed rings of blackness(dirt? mold?) around the edges of the gold cushions covering the lobby seating area. The receptionists were incredibly nice, but the room I got (10109) really smelled - a combination of gym sock and dampness. It was close to midnight so I figured I could just get to sleep and deal with it in the morning. I went to wash up, but found the bathroom without any toiletries -- including no soap at the sink and no soap in the shower. I called down and got moved to room 110034. It did not smell and had a nice view of the harbor.
The hallways, however, have old carpeting and the old dark wood doors with cracking surfaces, so walking from the elevator to one's room doesn't inspire joy.
The afternoon after I had checked out I returned to pick up my bags from the bellhop. The men's room next to the bar was locked, and the guard in the lobby was none too pleased to have to walk a few feet to open it.
I did walk over one afternoon to the Hyatt, which had been the other hotel I was considering, and, at least from their public spaces ((soaring atrium, loft-type bar, etc.) it looked far cheerier than the Renaissance.

Room Tip: Definitely try for one that does not smell and on the harbor side. The so-called "partial harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    700
    273
    87
    55
See reviews for
455
383
69
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel on the weekend of 8/16/2013 - 8/18/2013. We arrived to the hotel late Friday night and parked in the attached parking lot ($28 a night, we were charged 2 nights). Additionally, once you get the parking ticket validated from the front desk, you can drive in or out with the same ticket as many times as you'd like. We got a King sized bed room on the 9th FL facing the inner courtyard (from our window we can see the pool on the other side at a lower level and a large glass sky light panel to the lower levels (the Gallery mall/shops).

The location and access from within the hotel is very convenient. From the hotel, you can access the parking lot (via a different set of elevators), you can access the Gallery (shops and mall area on the lower levels - on floors 1 and 5), and you can walk across the street or walkway to the inner harbor shops/center/marina.

The room was clean and cool with an adjustable thermostat. The hotel uses Aveda toiletries. The bed was very comfortable so both my wife and I slept very easily. Did not check out the pool, but it looked like it was in use from early morning to the night.

One thing that i didnt like was, my wife and I used up 3 of the 4 towels and had placed them on the floor (so they can take it away when they serviced our room). When we came back, all the towels we didnt want was taken away, and we were left with only the new unused ones we still had. I would've thought that towels would be replenished if we left them on the floor...

Nonetheless, the hotel was clean, comfortable, and provided easy access to shops, restaurants, and the inner harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's hard to beat the locatin of the Harborplace Hotel. Located right on the water, this property is steps from everything there is to do in downtown Baltimore.

Rooms: Very poor. Dirty, damaged furniture, in bad need of an update.

Lobby/Restaurants: The lobby was nice and updated with a refreshed bar located near the check-in desk. There is a mall that is accessible through double doors near the check-in desk.

Parking is expensive - $28 per day.

I did not visit the gym.

Service was just ok - nothing great.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the east side - view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tboz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night over the summer with a large family group. Attendants were very polite and friendly. A gentleman gave our 3 year old boys rubber duckies when we got there and the boys loved it. Check in wasn't until 4 and they didn't have our rooms ready by 4. We went to the hotel a little after 3 and they said our rooms would be ready in about 15 minutes so we waited there with 3 3 year olds and a 4 year old. Not only were they not ready in 15 minutes but they weren't ready by 4. It was miserable as a parent having to sit in a lobby for 45 minutes with toddlers. Once we got in the rooms were really nice and it was a perfect location. It's attached to the mall (we didn't have time to shop) but that was nice. It's also just across the street from the harbor and within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Parking at the hotel is $28 per night. The pool was just ok. It was really small and they don't allow kids to jump in the pool. But the kids were able to swim and they enjoyed it. Our room was on the 12th floor overlooking the harbor. It was a great view. However it was also noisy. Around 11:30 there was a caravan of loud vehicles with sirens and horns blaring that parked right across the street - think that it was after an Orioles game. We also got continental breakfast on the 12th floor and it was available until 11 which was nice because we had breakfast first thing and then our kids went up for snacks after swimming. This isn't included in all rooms, not sure if it was included because FIL has tons of Marriott points.

Room Tip: Harbor view room was really pretty but also noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wal1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germansville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We weren't sure where we wanted to stay since we hadn't been to the Inner Harbor before. After looking online we found this hotel and got a great discount with AAA. The view of the Harbor was great and not living in a city, it was fun to watch all of the "excitement" at night. All over the staff was friendly and the rooms were nice. It was close to everything so we left the car parked and walked everywhere. The kids were disappointed to leave. The only complaints I would have is that you have to pay extra for wireless and parking rates are really high. But I guess all parking in the city is high.

Room Tip: Use AAA or another discount program if you have it, it saved a bundle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renhar, Guest Experience Coordinator at Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed the luxury of being just steps away from all of the attractions. There is a charge for wireless internet in the guestrooms but it is free in the public spaces of the hotel. I hope your travels bring you back soon!

Pamela Saleh
Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petropolis, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in Baltimore. A few meters from the acquarium and many restaurants. There is a small shopping center within the building very convenient and its location is privileged. You will find a nice sport center, although a little small, and a pool (which I didn't used). I would say that is a typical business targeting hotel, less interesting for families on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioPortoDEXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a group code and stayed for $125.00 a night. We would have paid over $270.00 a night without the code. The hotel is clean, but not luxurious. The staff are excellent! The price has to do more with its proximity to EVERYTHING. We walked everywhere, and we are a lazy group. :) The only problem you might have is finding something worth to eat nearby under $20 a piece. The McDonald's in the attached mall is probably the worst that I have ever been to. We ate breakfast at The Corner Bakery - it was excellent. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, but heard that it was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cincychick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,472 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing