We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location for Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband, son (10) and myself stayed at the Renaissance this past long weekend - as a getaway - trying out a new city. We chose to stay in the Harbour area, as it was central to everything.
The Renaissance Marriott is an excellent location, that is central to many many activities and restaurant choices.
Our room was on the 12 floor, with two Queen beds. A standard hotel room. Expensive for the room itself, given that nothing was special about it. No view, no fan in the bathroom (a basic necessity). Valet parking was $120 for the 3 days we were there. Didn't end up using the car at all - so I would advise using the self park - still $28 a day.

The expense of this hotel was for us worth it in the end though, because of it's location.
The pool area, while well maintained, is guarded by two life guards who do not even allow the kids to 'jump' into the water. Not cannonball - jump. Rather excessive.
The hot tub had a thick layer of foam on the surface and anyone who went in it, came out covered. Gross.

The Watertable restaurant is the highlight of this hotel. With an amazing view of the waterfront and top notch service from the staff - on weekends. The food at dinner was 5* all the way.
Buffet breakfast is fantastic - on the weekends. Two made to order omelette/waffle/egg stations and a great assortment of very fresh fruit and other hot and cold items.
Sadly, as soon as Monday arrived, the service went extremely down hill and the omelette stations disappeared. Do they think you only eat omelettes/eggs etc on the weekends?? Terrible management decision.

While there be sure to use the local water taxi's - a great affordable way to see many different sites. An adult all day pass is only $12. Kids $6 - Little kids free. Get on and off as many times as you like.

The National Aquarium was outstanding. Spent 4 hours there easily. For a family of 3, it was $91 - a little $$ but worth seeing if this is you first trip to Baltimore, as it was ours.

Hard Rock Cafe was a great/fun family dinner. Dick's Last Resort - was a lunch we will never forget. A truly terrible experience. While 'Rude' may be their calling card - our waitress was 20 steps beyond that and was funny in no way at all. While I am well attuned to sarcasm (and have no problem using it or taking it), she was just plain ignorant. Skip this spot unless you enjoy handing over your cash (and a lot of it) while being treated like s*#t.

A beautiful city - very clean and safe feeling - at least in the Harbourfront area! Well worth the 7-8 hour drive for Canadians coming from the Toronto area as we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueEyedPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    694
    272
    83
    54
See reviews for
451
382
69
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed one night with my daughter at this property and found the service to be excellent. From the time of our check in to our check out, the staff was on hand to take care of all our needs. I also received a complimentary upgrade to a harborview room - by the way, I highly recommend a room with views of the water even if it costs more money. The difference is huge. We also had access to the club lounge and ended up having a free hot breakfast on Sunday morning.

My only big complaint about this hotel is the size and quality of the pool. It is tremendously undersized for the size and quality of this hotel. It was very small, over crowded, and did not seem very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here to go to the Orioles game as it is around a 10 minute walk away. Right beside the waterfront as well and the water taxi over to Fell's point!
Had a little mess up at check in as we walked in to someone else's room but it was fixed right away no big deal.
Derrick the bellman was really friendly, helpful and welcoming...all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renhar, Guest Experience Coordinator at Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful experience and found the location convenient to the ballpark as well as the surrounding neighborhoods. We hope your travels bring you back soon!

Pamela Saleh
Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is one of the best downtown Renaissance properties I've seen. The location is great for a tourist, as I was able to walk to the Inner Harbor, Federal Hill, and Camden Yards easily. The hotel is very modern-looking and the rooms are spacious. I actually really like the long, seemingly never-ending hallways as I usually hate being near elevators (and it helped keep the room quiet).

If self-parking in the garage, do not forget to have your ticket validated at the front desk. I made this mistake and ended up paying $6 more than I would have otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great hotel right on the Inner Harbor. Centrally located near many restaurants and shops.

Great service and very nice rooms. Heard a lot of noise from the street below, even though I was on the 10th floor.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for an O's game and aquarium visit (cashed in Marriott points). Room was very clean and spacious. Included a mini fridge. Quick 5-10 minute walk to Camden Yards. Decent size pool for the kids. Right across the street from Inner Harbor. Parking was $28 per day, but we got a full 30 hours of time. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband, two children (10 and 5) and I stayed here in July of 2013. We decided to pay a bit more for the convenience of being right on the Inner Harbor since this was the first time we'd been there. The convenience was worth the price as we parked in the garage downstairs and didn't need to drive anywhere during our two-night stay in Baltimore. Great service, lovely location, rooms are modern, spacious and attractive. Super clean, great housekeeping. The kids loved the pool (where there's always an attendant) and everyone we encountered was great. Walk right across the street and you're at the National Aquarium (amazing) as well as lots of family-friendly (if chain) restaurants. Only downside: the breakfast buffet, while gorgeous, is very expensive at $18 per person -- very overpriced, especially for children. With the caveat that this hotel is a little pricey, and other than the breakfast cost, we'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't pay the additional fee for a harbor-facing room; not needed, not worth it. Also, we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,434 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
#14 of 66 in Baltimore
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing