We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but overpriced!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed there Friday night after going to the Yankee's game. The hotel is fairly nice, but needs some updating. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. We were upgraded to a beautiful harbor view room facing Pratt Street. The view was nice, but the traffic noise during the night was distracting. I woke up several times from the sounds of sirens and taxi horns. The lobby is very dark and the music is too loud. It was hard to hear the staff during check-in because of the loud music and the loud talking from the mobs of people waiting in the lobby. We enjoyed the Gallery mall which is next to the hotel. Everything is very close to this hotel. We walked to all of the shops around the inner harbor and Camden Yards. I thought the room rate was too high for the quality of the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine082357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    689
    271
    82
    54
See reviews for
445
377
69
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Must say when I booked my room I was worried from many of the prior reviews, but I had a great stay this property. The staff at check in was very friendly and helpful. As far as the elevators, the hotel was full to capacity being that the Yankees were in town and so were their fans but never waited for elevator more than a minute or two. Great thing was that we had a room on the 12th floor so their was no traffic noise to worry about, must say the rooms are not sound proof and hall ways can be a bit noisy, if we would have been there for more than a couple of days than it would have been an issue, not a Five Star hotel but we just needed a place to sleep, great harbor views, parking and mall next door, accross the street from the harbor and aquarium. Many places to wine and dine, and walking distance to ball parks. Ordered rooms service for a late night snack and breakfast and was not dissapointed. Recommend if you dont mind a little hall noise.

Room Tip: Had room on the 12th floor with harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bori2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed for work and fun. The room was clean, modern, and well-appointed, and the cleaning staff were extremely friendly and efficient. we noticed the first night that our king size bed had been made up with queen size linens, so when we got int he bed, the corners of the sheets popped up. Housekeeping took car of that the next day without fuss. The hotel was very busy while we were there, and the hallways could get a little noisy, but that was the only bother.

Room Tip: Only one side of the hotel faces the water, so the chances of getting a view are small unless you pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We came for a wedding and had a suite facing the city. The room was huge, nicely appointed, but not a suite in the traditional sense with a separate sleeping area. There are no minibars in the rooms and fridges only in the suites. Facing the street, even on the 11th floor, we heard loud traffic all night. We solved this with a little white noise app and the fantastically comfy bed! I really regretted telling my cousin I'd get up early out of that bed on our last day to climb Federal Hill (right across the harbor).

The food was excellent with one exception: the pancakes at Watertable Restaurant were so tough my mother couldn't saw through them with a knife. She sent them back and ordered scrambled eggs and toast because the rest of us were halfway through. The waiter brought her the wrong order; when we handed the plate back to him he checked his ticket and then served it to the table next to us! Aside from the service, the food - especially the crab cake eggs Benedict and hashbrowns - was amazing. We ordered room service the first night and had delicious crab chowder and (of course) crab cakes, which are all crab and a teeny amount of filler. The hors d'oeuvres at the wedding reception were equally spectacular, with the lamb lollipops a real standout.

We were here on an Orioles/Yankee game weekend and the hotel was packed. Parking was a real challenge and the lobby was *always extremely loud. The hotel lobby has music playing way too loud, causing everyone to have to raise their voices to be heard above it. That said, the lobby is very spacious and comfortable and the bar area is pretty and well-lit.

I would definitely stay here again and plan more time to explore the city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RoamstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 1 night. The room was an inside room. Great location near the harbor. Room was newly renovated and everything was great. Go across the street, towards the harbor for breakfast, can't remember the name of the diner, but it faces the water and is near the tall ship.

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffinHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Right in the best part of town, with a skyway walking bridge to the inner harbor. Kona grill next door is amazing. Fine shopping in the same building, spent way too much money but I Loved our stay! Felt very safe. Room service cake was out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunblossom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renhar, Executive Guest Experience Coordinator at Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. I am glad you were able to enjoy the restaurants and shops. We are definitely in the perfect location, convenient to everything. I have let our culinary team know you loved their cake! Hope to see you again soon.

Pamela Saleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Perfect location for exploring Inner Harbor. We enjoyed the fantastic view, and the comfortable room. The parking was pricey, as is everything else in Inner Harbor. The staff we encountered were very friendly. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohcaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renhar, Executive Guest Experience Coordinator at Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope your travels bring you back soon.

Pamela Saleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,376 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
#13 of 66 in Baltimore
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing