We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The only reason we stayed here was because of friends from Kentucky, who we were meeting to join to go on a cruise to Bermuda, were here. Large hotel with one set of elevators that can leave you a long road trip to your room, pack a lunch. Staff was very friendly but I found it odd that they would charge for internet when they charge so much for a room, lesser hotels have this service for free. We spent 2 nights and the location close to the the Inner Harbor was excellent. Overall for the cost of the room we were not "overwhelmed" by any means. Clean and comfortable for 2 nights but we will definitely look at a less cost alternative on a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators, if you have a number of pieces of luggage use one of the lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spookietooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    663
    261
    78
    54
See reviews for
426
366
67
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our room was a decent size and the view was lovely. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They made people feel very welcome. The room didn't have a refrigerator and when we asked the desk to put one in they said engineering would bring one up but they never did. The pool area was clean and nice. The only odd thing is that housekeeping cleaned the room with a closed door which I have never seen anywhere in the world. It's odd when you come back to your room and there is a cleaning cart blocking it and then the cleaning person is inside your room with the door closed. Also the hotel left a trash bag and a breakfast tray in the hallway overnight. If you are looking for a hotel near the harbor this is a nice choice but it had a few minor issues.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower_girl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJU
Level Contributor
468 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Last minute reservation thru Priceline got us the room at more than 50% off so we were happy.
The location is right in front of the harbor so perfect if you are doing the tourist things. Room huge, bathrooms nice, tiny thin towels, Aveda toiletries, nice decor. Very friendly valet and front desk.

But if we had paid listed amount we would have been extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, twice as expensive as another hotel we stayed in on the Inner Harbor, yet not that much better. Valet parking was available, expensive, but available, and for that I am grateful. Staff helpful and attentive. No mini-bars!. Would have been nice. A good place, but a little expensive for Baltimore.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night before we left on a cruise. Then we stayed for a day after disembarking from the cruise at 8:00 AM before we took the train home in the afternoon. It was nice to have a place to "land" after the cruise. We did not have to wander around the inner harbor with our luggage. The location could not have been better. It was right across the street from our small ship. We had a courtyard room the night we stayed. It was very nice and quiet. There were three of us, so we had a roll away bed delivered. Even with the extra bed, there was plenty of room to move around, and my mom is in a wheelchair. For our short day stay after the cruise, we had a harbor view, which was so nice; great memory for our last day in Baltimore. It was very convenient to all the venues along the inner harbor. I want to mention the employees who made our stay so wonderful: Sainabou and Patrice, thanks for the great rooms; Derrick, you are so special .. thanks for helping us get our bags to the dock boarding area; and finally, Terrance, Howard and Dianne . . you are wonderful people. If I ever come back to Baltimore, I would absolutely stay at this property.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just stayed here for a graduation in the area. Room was comfortable and clean. When I booked the hotel I was quoted one price. I then had to modify my stay and was told that now my room rate had gone up. Didn't say anything but waited until day of check in. Explained that the room rate was originally 309/ night ,then after changing days I was told the rate was now 449/ night. Complained on check in and they said thy were giving me a rate of 289/ night. When I received the bill I was charged 309. What is up with this hotel and room rates. will not stay here again because of deceptive room quotes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misoangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, QC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a very large, older, well renovated hotel, attached to a large multi-story mall and located in the inner harbor. I was there for a conference and all the arrangements and food service were nicely done. It is not quite a luxury hotel but perfectly comfortable.
• Room a nice size with comfortable bed, well kept and clean; we were allowed to check in much earlier than anticipated, and all staff were polite and helpful. Bath clean and modern.
– NO in-room safe, a necessary amenity, in my view.
– Bathroom lighting on dim side, barely adequate for makeup application.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing