We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and well organized for New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We went to Baltimore's Inner Harbor to celebrate the New Year. The Center Club overlooks the harbor and we were going there for dinner and a view of the fireworks. The Renaissance is almost next door so it was a natural choice for our overnight stay. I think that this may have been a five star hotel at one time? If so, that's not true today, but the location, room sizes, service and cleanliness all added up to a pleasurable experience. We were as far from the elevators as you can get. That's a good thing because no foot traffic passes your door. Keep in mind that this was New Years Eve and LOTS of people were out and about. Downtown was mobbed!
There was one thing that impressed us most about our stay that night. The streets were mobbed with all sorts of people, many of which had been overserved. When we got back to the hotel at about one o'clock, heavy hotel security was out front politely checking room keys before allowing access to the hotel. Well done.
We got up the next morning and joined friends for breakfast at the restaurant on the fifth floor, which was excellent, then we got in the car and drove home. One word of caution....use the breakfast buffet. They have pretty much everything that you might want, including crab dishes to order, and it's tons faster than ordering from the menu. We had finished by the time the menu orders arrived.
For the price, this hotel is a good choice but don't expect the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators in order to diminish hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,418 - 1,424 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived to the hotel with my husband for our wedding anniversary. We arrived pretty late, I ordered champagne and strawberries in advance, so everything was perfect and set up when we got into our room. The room itself was nice and clean, the only downside was a long walk from the elevator which was okay with us but probably not so much with older people.
Everything was great, until the next morning. The sound proofing of the room was really poor and I woke up from people talking in the room next to us, and I can literally hear everything that they were saying. After that I heard noises from the people walking in the room upstairs, and every time when someone was walking in the corridor and talking or laughing. With me being a sensitive sleeper that was completely unacceptable as we were looking for a quiet getaway and instead I only got a headache, so we had to check out early and head home, and I feel like our anniversary was ruined.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vwest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissance Harborplace Hotel the night of 7 January 2012. It is a beautiful facility located in the heart of the Inner Harbor area of Baltimore. There is parking under the building which is very convenient. The staff greets you very nicely. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and well-appointed to include a small fridge, coffee maker and safe. When I received my reminder notification that my planned stay was coming up, they suggested some room service items like champagne with chocolate covered strawberries. Since we were going there to see a musical and then do dinner with a group of friends (we all live about 60 miles south of Baltimore) I thought this would be a nice touch so ordered that and a three bottle bucket of beer. Had it delevered for when we returned to the room after the afternoon show at the Baltimore Hippodrome (a wonderful theater that I highly recommend as well). The items were waiting for us upon our return and very nicely presented. The next morning we did the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant. The restaurant has a wonderful view of the Inner Harbor. Bottom line: This is a very high quality hotel in a prime area of Baltimore and I would highly recommend it for business and pleasure trips.

Room Tip: As for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southern MD Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

At $300 a night guests expect a little more and we certainly received it at the Renaissance Harborplace. Our double room was beautifully finished with dark woods and plush and bright bed linens. The beds were the wonderfully comfortable and an assortment of pillows to choose from pleased everyone. Our bathroom was large and upperscale and provided everything we may have forgotten. The refrigerator and coffee station inside our room was a nice plus as we used both. The suite itself, faced directly on the harbor and with windows that opened we were not only able to see the beautiful scenery but we could hear it also. This was especially fun late at night when the city lit up and came to life. The night noise was not detected in our suite once the windows were closed so it was totally our choice what we wanted to hear. The views of the harbor activity, both on the water and around the sidewalks was just what we had hoped for and with all, within a short walk from our room, was even better. We dined in the hotel restauant and found the service to be very friendly and accomodating. Our meals arrived promptly and hot. One of our party needed to have internet access and the use of a printer and both were available inside the media room free of charge to guests. No matter where we went in the hotel the staff was pleasant and eager to please. We very much appreciated having doors opened and friendly smiles greeting us at every turn. The harbor is simply beautiful on a sunny day or a nice relaxing evening and we thankfully enjoy both over the course of our 3 day stay. We highly recommend spending a few days at the harbor and most definitely at the Renassiance. Take a harbor boat tour, visit the aquarium, or sit harborside and relax on one of the cool cement lounge chairs while you enjoy a fruity slushie. When night falls head back to the waterfront and stroll the sidewalks around the harbor, stop by the dancing waters park, or if the nightlight is more to your liking you will find plenty of it at restaurants and bars all within walking distance of your room at the Renaissance. There is just so many things to do at the Baltimore Harbor and this hotel makes the stay perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lifeis1bigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We checked in here for New Years Eve and stayed two nights. The hotel was nice but nothing to write home about.

All of the employees at the hotel were very nice. From the front desk to the pool attendant we had nice experiences with everyone.

The major downside to this hotel was the cleanliness of the hallways (everyones room service, dishes, glasses, and garbage sat in the hallways throughout the day and night) and the price of parking with the hotel. To use the valet service at this hotel there is a rate of $40 per day. Also, we tried to order room service late one evening but since the kitchen was closed (1215 am) they made no exception or suggestion on how to order a late meal to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be closer to the elevators. We did not do this and had to hike back to our room which was as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family and I were taking a trip to the National Aquarium, and wanted a hotel where we could stay that would be close. We decided on the Renaissance, and are so glad we did! The room was very comfortable-loved the beds! Based on other reviews, I requested a room near the elevator, which was definitely a good choice. Can't imagine doing the whole circuit with all of our luggage and stroller! The pool area was awesome! The pool itself was nice, but for those who don't want to swim, there was a great lounge area with tv, couches, tables and chairs. There was even a food menu to order from if you felt in need of a snack. It was great, since we had an infant and so even though one of us needed to be with her, we could still be down in the pool area and watch our other child. We ate at the restaurant in the morning for breakfast and enjoyed the buffet quite a bit. Had it not been included in our room package, we probably would not have chosen to eat there, but it was great and we had no complaints. Speaking of the package, I'd highly recommend it. We did the aquarium package, which included parking, tickets to the aquarium, and breakfast. Based on the prices for each thing individually, I'd say we made the right choice. Something to consider, anyway.

If you're headed to the aquarium, I think this hotel has the best location of any I saw. It was just across the street and down about two blocks. Great view of it from our room! Also close is the Hard Rock Cafe, a Cheesecake Factory, and the entire Harbor area.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, pool was great, and room was comfortable. We'd definiely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator! Otherwise you'll be in for a hike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iowakrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Arrived Friday Dec 30 for 2 nights. The front desk was very nice. Checked into a nice,clean updated room. The bed was very comfortable. The room faced the harbor. Great view. Saw the fireworks from our room. Great crab soup at this hotel. Better then the well known seafood resturants. The only complaint was housekeeping. They did not complete their room check. We had to call for shampoo,tissues and they only give you 2 towels. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaVistor19460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $113 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! Top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our Baltimore hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing