We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Arrived Friday Dec 30 for 2 nights. The front desk was very nice. Checked into a nice,clean updated room. The bed was very comfortable. The room faced the harbor. Great view. Saw the fireworks from our room. Great crab soup at this hotel. Better then the well known seafood resturants. The only complaint was housekeeping. They did not complete their room check. We had to call for shampoo,tissues and they only give you 2 towels. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaVistor19460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    593
    235
    67
    43
See reviews for
381
323
58
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here 4 nights as part of a conference. Room was very comfy & clean. The hotel provided most of the food for our meetings and it was great. Location is right across from the harbor, a nice walk between meetings and to the aquarium. My room was very far from the elevator, so if this is a problem, be sure to request a close room, as the hotel is shaped in a square with only one way up to the rooms.

Room Tip: If walking long distances to the room is an issue, reqeuest one close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Across the street from the Inner Harbor with abundant shopping downstairs. Rooms were nice, nothing extraordinary, but you're paying for the location. Walking distance to most IH restaurants and tourist areas.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here for a convention and thought the hotel was adequate but nothing special. The room was nice but nothing special. The hotel restaurant/bar on the 5th floor had pretty tepid service. The location was good and close to the harbor. Overall, it was worth the money and a nice place, but pretty ordinary overall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islander_66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very comfortable bed! Housekeeping was slow to pick up room service trays, sometimes longer than 24 hours. Wifi is $12.95 a day and not very reliable - it dropped me several times. No vent in bathroom. Front desk staff was helpful. Attached mall was nice for window shopping and fast food. Hotel resraurant should be avoided at all costs!

Room Tip: Room 6050 was quiet, at the end of the hallway, a half mile from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed here since it was the host hotel for a professional conference I attended. I had my spouse and two kids with me and the location was great for the tourist attractions. The hotel is in a mall so there is stuff to look at right near the lobby. The room was a nice size and very clean. The most outstanding aspect of this hotel was the friendly and knowledgeable staff. Considering how crowded the hotel was for the convention, I was amazed at how helpful and upbeat the staff remained.

The main negative of this hotel is that I had to pay for internet access each day per device. Seeing as how my family had five devices needing internet access, this was a MAJOR drawback for us. I still can't believe hotels continue to insist on charging for wi-fi access in this day and age when just about all travelers require internet access. If this had not been the host hotel for my convention, I would have searched for a hotel that offered free wi-fi. My employer paid for my internet access but it was really frustrating for my husband to have to drag the kids to the Starbucks a few blocks away in order to use his iPad to plan the day's activities. It was also a major pain that the hotel did not even offer free wi-fi for conference participants in the meeting rooms. For $220 per night, spare me some wi-fi during the day so I can check my work e-mail on my iPad!

Also, I wouldn't recommend going too far off the beaten path around this hotel. There are plenty of places to walk to right in the Inner Harbor but don't walk too far outside the boundary. We wanted to try a crab place recommended by a friend that was one mile from the hotel so we figured we would walk. Not a good idea! The neighborhood went from bad to worse in a matter of blocks and we did not feel safe at all. Needless to say, we took a cab back to the hotel after dinner.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for business trips but I would might look elsewhere for a family vacation spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I'm a Marriott Platinum Elite member - lots of nights at lots of Marriotts. Renaissance usually can be counted on for a good showing for the Marriott brand. Not in this case. Some details: Mouse traps in the hallways, unclean pool water that actually smelled. sink taps that spit brown rust. Perhaps they are confused with "Ramada" - that's seems to be their standard. Need to clean up their act - I will avoid this hotel until they do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Regency Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
Pier 5 Hotel
#13 of 61 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing