We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, lovely views, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance Harborplace Hotel for 3 nights per week nearly every week from November 2010 to April 2011. First, the positives: the hotel has excellent service, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I only had a few special requests while I was there but I was always readily accommodated. I really enjoyed the workout room, with treadmills and elliptical machines facing windows (not the optimal view, but still nicer than a wall). The coffee bar opens very early and serves Starbucks beverages, which I really enjoyed. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms in general are nice. Each room has a mini-fridge that probably used to be a mini-bar. I made good use of mine since I didn't like to eat in restaurants every night (though there are an abundance nearby). Which brings me to the best thing about the hotel, its location. It is directly across from the harbor, and the views - if you get a full harbor view - are delightful. The aquarium is across the street, as are many attractions at the harbor (e.g., USS Constellation, water taxis, live music in the summertime).

On the downside, the hotel is pretty pricey unless you get a good corporate rate or some other deal (which I did). Also, parking is not cheap, but similar to other locations in the city. And ... this is kinda petty ... there is only one elevator bank which is quite far from some of the rooms. The hotel occupies nearly a full city block and is built around a courtyard. So, if your room is at the opposite corner from the elevators you feel like you have walked a half mile to get there. It's good exercise, but I finally started requesting a room closer to the elevators. The best rooms are the ones with the full harbor view, because they are a medium-distance from the elevators as well as the nicest.

Room Tip: Ask for full harbor view, or second best, partial harbor view. Let them know if a long walk to elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler91047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,481 - 1,487 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Let me get this out of the way first, I came in from Dallas, Texas in order to go to Otakon. I thought that since this hotel had recieved high ratings that we'd get good service and nothing would go wrong. Oh boy, was I wrong.

When we were checking in Thursday before the convention actually started the person who booked our room had to deal with quite possibly the rudest person I have ever seen in my entire six-year convention hotel experience. This guy continually told her the wrong amount for the room, would not work with us, was condescending as all get-out, and pretty much continued to COUNT OUR MONEY WRONG at the same time. I walked away to calm down half-way through this but I counted at least three times he counted our money wrong and no one else at the front desk would help when one of our other friends tried to get someone else to help us instead of him. It was pretty much like we were "lesser guests" because of the fact we were there for Otakon. I watched before we were able to check in and everyone who wasn't "convention goers" was treated with absolute respect and politeness. This is ridiculous considering we pay just as much as other people to stay in this place.

The rooms were also entirely uncomfortable as the AC was spotty at best and the beds felt like I was sleeping on a slab of stone instead of a bed. Also, if we needed extra towels or anything it took at least an hour, if not more, to get any and they always sounded like we were taking valuable time away from them for doing so.

This is the worst experience I have EVER had in a hotel and I will certainly not be staying here ever again or recommending it to anyone ever.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StaceyBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I travel frequently to Baltimore and this is my usual place to stay. It's been fairly well-maintained with attractive rooms, many with great views overlooking the Inner Harbor. Very centrally located and everything from Camden Yards to Harbor East are a 10 minute walk. Staff has always been friendly and responsive. The only negative is that it is very much a convention hotel and feels it - it is large-scale, busy, and at very busy times it can be hard to get attention.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My daughter and I tagged along with the hubby to Baltimore. He came here for a conference for 4 days. During this time,we had to use the fax machine to receive and send faxes. The front desk staff were great and patient with us in helping us. Room was great. Housekeeping was good. I love the fact that the hotel is attached to a mall and you can use the overpass to get to the inner harbor rather than crossing the street. I would come back to this hotel again. Great customer service!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Nice Hotel at a reasonable price, walking distance to the Inner Harbor and Camden Yards. They also have discounted on site parking for guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I got my room for $85 Off priceline. The room online is $280. It was a nice clean room just like the hotel pics show. It did not have a view. They said that would be an extra $40. Parking is $28 for overnight. Its location is great. It has a walkway over to the harbor and there is shopping everywhere. I would not have been happy paying $280, but for the deal I got, I was very happy! Priceline is the way to go!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Perfect location...within walking distance to almost anything you desire. Rooms were adequate. Staff there to please. However, I believe it was over-priced. Except for lemonade in the lobby...and coffee pot in room...there was nothing else complimentery.

I have stayed in many hotels...with less rates..and at least received a complimentery breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33833Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $112 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! Top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our Baltimore hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing