We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Baltimore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Grant, mi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Drove all night from Florida, and had a reservation for that night, got to the hotel 8:30 am so I went inside to see the earliest I could get a room because I was tired, the young man at the desk told me he would give me a room right away so I could go to sleep, wanted to help me with my bags, told him I was fine. Room was clean and bed so comfy, so impressed with the hotel. Went back to the desk latter in the day to find places to eat, first then he asked was how was my rest, so nice to be concerned for your guests. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Director of Operations at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. Your kind words towards our staff is greatly appreciated as this will also inspire them to always provide excellent service to our guests.

Providing our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay in our hotel is one of our main goal, and we are happy to know that we were able to meet that. We assure you that we will do our best to maintain our services and facilities especially the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel rooms.

Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.

Yours in Service,

Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    329
    102
    53
    32
See reviews for
180
245
63
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just stayed 2 nights in one of the newly renovated rooms. It was fantastic! The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Also, had dinner in "The French Kitchen". The food was outstanding! C'est si bon! The staff is always warm and friendly. I was told the lobby will be done in a week or two. This is a must see and a must stay while in Baltimore. Great value!

Room Tip: All the rooms a great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Director of Operations at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel room. We also appreciate that our food choices was outstanding for you and liked "The French Kitchen". Our staff will be happy to know that you commended them for being warm and friendly.

We look forward to serving you again.

Happy to Serve,
Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was lovely. The staff was courteous and helpful. The ballroom is absolutely beautiful. It is a great property with a lot of Baltimore history so it is great to see it restored back to its original beauty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Tamaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Director of Operations at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the beautiful review you have given our hotel. Review like this makes us more inspired to continue to enhance our hotel. We appreciate you for liking the renovation that we did to our hotel, modern yet historic. Thank you for appreciating our ballroom, we assure you that we will do our best to maintain our facilities and services to the best that we can. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you.

Kindly,
Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'll try to take reviews of the party out of my review of the hotel. decent place, good customer service, clean, with an old school charm. Elevators were very old, but didn't break while I was there, and the rooms were on par with most hotels. Nice sized rooms as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Dir. of Operations at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Jamaal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Lord Baltimore Hotel. Thank you for your business and thank you for celebrating the new year with us.

Our Historic Lord Baltimore Hotel now has 200 brand new guestrooms and we are almost complete with our public spaces. I hope you get an opportunity to stay with us on your next visit to Baltimore and stay in one of our newly renovated spacious guestroom!

Don't hesitate to call us directly to book your reservation the next time you are in the Charm City of Baltimore.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
410-539-8400 ext 3305
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lord Baltimore hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary - we were married in the hotel 18 years ago and this was our first trip back. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the minute we walked in the door. The room we stayed in was roomy and clean, and although dated, all of the rooms will soon be renovated. Even though the renovations are not quite finished, we were given a tour of a newly finished room, which is amazing - modern, yet very classy. We also had an excellent dinner with impeccable service in the French Kitchen, which only recently opened. The Lord Baltimore is a beautiful, turn of the century hotel, which is soon to be restored to a place of prominence in the Baltimore hotel scene.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I am so happy that you were pleased with our service. Is because of you we are in business!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary dinner at our new French Kitchen Restaurant and thank you for allowing us to serve you and welcome you back again to the Lord Baltimore after 18 years. I am glad I had the opportunity to meet you in person and I am glad Jayme our Front Office Representative was able to show you what's coming to the Lord Baltimore in the next few days.

Please let me know when you are in town again so we can book your reservation in our brand new room, it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Yours in Service,

Abraham Esquivel
Dir. of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The party areas of the hotel were very nice, the staff was exceptional! The room overall was good, the bathroom is really old and needs updated. I am a little picky but the wallpaper was coming off the wall and the bathtub is worn looks unclean. The hotel as I said is lovely. The host of the party Charm City Countdown did a poor job with the party. The food was excellent but the bars were very overcrowded and the comedian never showed up for the show. Overall, I probably would not spend the $560.00 this cost again!

Room Tip: This hotel is under renovations I would ask for a renovated room before staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for being part of our New Year's Celebration. I am sorry to hear to you were not 100% satisfied.

As you mentioned we are under renovation and our first half of our guest rooms will become available in a couple of weeks. So call us, we would love to have you stay with us again! Give us the opportunity to make your stay memorable the next time you are in Baltimore, Inner Harbor.

The Lord Baltimore has more than eight decades of hospitality and is once again poised to become the Premier Baltimore Destination! Many more changes are ahead as the hotel begins its rebirth! from our Guest Rooms and our public spaces we are just excited! We want you to be part of that...

Again, thank you for your patronage, and we look forward to serving you the next time your schedule brings you back to Baltimore. If you need assistance don't hesitate to contact me at 410-539-8400 Ext. 3305.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Dir. of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Easily the worst hotel I have stayed at in the last year. The room was filthy. I stayed on 01/06/14 and found a Champagne cork on the floor which I can only imagine had been there since 01/01. A simple vacuum or just looking down would have caught that.Hair could be found throughout the bathroom.The shower water temperature was in constant flux and I was grateful to escape without third degree burns or frostbite .Taking the elevators was an adventure. I felt lucky every time the door opened and I was within 2 feet of the floor selected. They are renovating but seem to be concentrating on cosmetic lobby improvements. The rooms are were outdated in the '80's. It's just a very old run down building with terrible housekeeping . It would take many years and probably more money than anyone is willing to spend to help this property.
On a brighter note, the location is great.





Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Koovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I want to apologize for the poor experience you had while staying at our hotel because of the elevator and your overall experience with your room. Clearly we let you down.

The Lord Baltimore Hotel is going through a remarkable transformation right now. I know you'll love the hotel next time you visit we ask you to give us the opportunity to assist you again. We are not just revamping our lobby it's the rebirth of the Lord Baltimore Hotel with brand new boutique style rooms completely redesigned along with all the outlets of the hotel which is only a couple of weeks away.

“The bones of the hotel are historic and regal…” is one of the comments from our guests that have research the history of The Lord Baltimore established 1928.

I sincerely hope you will accept our apologies and give us another chance to show you that we can do better. Please call me at 410-539-8400 ext. 3305 and I will be happy to discuss your stay personally.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Baltimore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Baltimore Hotel

Property: Lord Baltimore Hotel
Address: 20 W Baltimore St, Baltimore, MD 21201-2550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#23 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Baltimore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Elegance in the heart of Baltimore Welcome to the Lord Baltimore Hotel, housed in a stunning French Renaissance building and located in the heart of downtown Baltimore, MD and just three blocks from the famous Inner Harbor. The historic Lord Baltimore Hotel features complimentary services such as high-speed wireless Internet access, HD televisions with sixty complimentary channels, custom designed linens, plush pillow top mattresses and much more. Guests at this grand hotel enjoy easy access and exclusive offers at area attractions including the National Walters Museum, and Visionary Museum, Baltimore Museum, Peabody Library and concert venues. The Lord Baltimore Hotel is in the City's Business and Financial Districts and is one of the best Baltimore Inner Harbor hotels. Towering over the Baltimore skyline at 23 stories with 440 guest rooms, the hotel offers more than 20,000 square feet of meeting, banquet and event space including two roof top garden decks for private events. Lord Baltimore Hotel offers a magnificent and historic 1928 grand ballroom that features Baccarat crystal chandeliers. A mirrored replica of Versailles, in the grand French style is the setting for our dining room - the French Kitchen. Additional dining is offered in the lobby bar, the LB Tavern and our signature LB Bakery which features freshly baked products, soups and sandwiches created by our own pastry team. Fully renovated and restored in the spring of 2014, all guest rooms and public spaces feature authentic and unique designs that incorporate state-of-the-art technology while embracing the historic ambience of this National Trust treasured property. In 2014, the hotel will also re-launch the long hidden Speakeasy that was closed with the repeal of Prohibition. The hotel is located in the city center near the intersection of Baltimore and Charles Street in the heart of Baltimore (at Baltimore & Hanover Street). Join us and explore the history, class and charm of the Lord Baltimore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Lord Baltimore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Lord Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Radisson Baltimore
Baltimore Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing