We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home in the heart of Baltimore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
1 review
“Home in the heart of Baltimore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Royal Sonesta is a gem -- you feel like you are staying at a true hotel, not a cookie-cutter property. The rooms are larger than usual, and there is a lovely 7th floor terrace garden with flowers, gazebo, benches and tennis courts next to the fitness/pool facility. You are right on the Inner Harbor with dozens of great things within walking distance including the large boats, National Aquarium and Camden Yard. You are also right on the Charm City Circulator route, which is a friendly, free bus system that travels throughout the city. If you don't want the in-room breakfast, or seating in the restaurant, there is a coffee shop off the lobby with excellent, fresh choices and friendly service. When you come back from an outing and arrive in the charming circular stone courtyard, you truly feel as if you are returning to your home away from home. Yes, it costs a bit more, but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear John L. Thank you for your review of your recent stay. To be honest, I couldn't have said it better myself. You are truly correct in your description. Our rooms are larger, the 7th floor terrace in a nice quiet oasis to relax or play tennis, most attractions are in walking distance and if not the free Charm City Circulator can more than likely get you to your destination. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    295
    102
    51
    45
See reviews for
356
464
33
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel is friendly ,clean and walking distance to all Inner Harbor activities! Will definitely visit Baltimore again and stay at this hotel.... The Sox may have lost but we won! Fun time, Got a great rate $189. Per night in June

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Roxanne0729, thank you for the 5 star review of our property. I am delighted to hear you were pleased with your stay. The Red Sox did play a great couple of games. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully the next time the Red Sox are in town. Until then, thank you again for posting your review of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Royal Sonesta Baltimore tries hard to be a luxury hotel but it's in need of a facelift. Not worth the $370/night I paid. Service was good but the rooms are tired, double bed (not Queen) was small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear James R. Thank you for your review. As I've mentioned in other replies upgrades to our facility are on the way and I'm sure it will be to everyone's liking. Please stay in touch for updates on when we expect to have these upgrades in place. Thank you again and I look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Royal Sonesta in Baltimore. The staff was very accommodating in all our needs. From the front desk to the valets. We were in town for a wedding and some of our party required special needs which were addressed in a timely manner with a smile. Would not hesitate recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jim. Thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating to your needs. I appreciate the recommendation to our hotel. I hope that you will be a chance to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Location may be everything but as a frequent traveler I was very disappointed. Outdated rooms uncomfortable beds and no duvet covers. For the price I would not come back I'm sorry it needs to be updated

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Sarah L. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Your comments are very much appreciated and I happy to say that plans are under way to make improvements to our guestrooms. Please be on the lookout for information about the upgrades. We hope that you will consider a return visit in the future once the project has been completed. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We go to Baltimore frequently and have stayed at several very nice hotels. The Harbor Court ranks with the best. It is well maintained with excellent accommodating staff. We came for a Sunday bike ride. We were offered the option of paying for an extended check out or using the pool/fitness facilities when we returned. We had a beautiful and comfortable room with a large sitting area. We checked out at 6:30 and stored our luggage. Upon return we were given a key to the pool area and were able to relax and then shower and change.
The bell staff was amazing. They stored our bikes overnight and then our luggage during our ride. They were friendly and helpful.
Carmen at the front desk was amazing and the other front desk people were equally pleasant. The coffee shop was great for a quick breakfast before our ride and made a great Mocha later.
Overall, this was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard view - this was fine but I probably would have preferred a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Carol0910. Thank you for the 5 stars and for taking the time to write this review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share them with our staff, especially Carmen at the front desk. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night there with family. Very nice hotel but used the Valet parking and the attendant left the auxiliary power on in my car causing the battery to drain. Apparently I wasn't the first car that day that had the same problem. Valets were very nice and apologized. They jump started my battery without difficulty and off we went.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Gina L. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I was sorry to hear there was trouble with your vehicle. I'm glad our Valet staff were able to assist and get you back on the road. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to the Baltimore area, we would love another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing