We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week end getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Week end getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this Hotel so much, that we decided to come back again for our 21st anniversary. The accomodations are excellent! The quaility of the Hotel and the service is superb. The Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. This year we decided to take a boat ride with Spirit Cruises, and we found out that they dock a few minutes from the Hotel...literally 3 minutes. We enjoyed the lunch cruise and look forward to doing the dinner cruise next year! Thank God the weather was nice, we had a beautiful sunny day out on the water! We went to Ruth Chris's steak house on Water Street. I originally thought that we could walk to the restaurant (because everything else is in close walking distance), but--it was a bit of a walk, so we were going to call a Taxi, only to find out from the restaurant staff, that they have a car that could come and pick us up (for free)...Awesome! The food at Brightons was still "excellent" breakfast buffet on the weekends (Bacon, sausage, eggs, omlettes,pastries, bagels, hash browns, french toast...the works!). It's about $20 for the buffet, but--to me...it's worth it! I enjoyed the fitness room this time, it is a large fitness room (large compared to some of the other Hotels that I have stayed in), and on the 7th floor, just around the corner from the spa, there is a roof top area, where there is grass and a gazebo, beautiful landscaping and benches....just an oasis where you can sit and take in the beautiful scenery. The Hotel is very thoughtful on special occassions, and I don't know if this is customary with them each year, but--this year we received a knock at the door, and were greeted with a staff member congratulating us on our anniversary, and offering us a free bottle of wine (in a bucket of ice) along with a beautifully decorated tray of strawberries dipped in chocolate! We were surprised, but--very appreciative. I thought this was that little extra added something, that just made our stay even more memorable. Thank you Hotel Staff for another great weekend stay at your Hotel, and we look forward to visiting you again next year!

Room Tip: We ate at Regis (local restaurant) delicious food. Ruth Chris's steakhouse..excellent! I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nayenaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear nayenaye, thank you for a great five star review and sharing details of your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. We feel our staff is the best in the city and your experience speaks to that. Excellent customer service is what makes our hotel such a wonderful place to stay. Happy anniversary and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    295
    102
    50
    45
See reviews for
356
464
33
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic stay. Traveled with my wife and two children (6 and 12). Had a long journey of 10 hours in the car. Arrived and we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we were upgraded to a corner suite! Room was incredible, staff as friendly as could be. Spent the next day at the National Aquarium and Inner Harbor. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: check for the package deal with the Aquarium
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTtraveler948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear CTtraveler948, thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. We feel we have a great location; however it is our staff that makes our hotel a great place to stay. Thanks again for the great review; we look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location! i got a deal with groupon which included parking. If parking not included its pretty pricey. DO NOT stay in a room near elevator shaft, creates a constant annoying sound!!!

otherwise, fabulous hotel! Near the stadium, right across the street from the inner harbor!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room near the elevator shaft! Createse a constant annoying sound!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Viola P, thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We agree that we have a tremendous location to the Inner Harbor and many of Baltimore’s attractions. Thanks again for the review, and choosing Harbor Court!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

brighton's restaurant--excellent food, superior service, outstanding manager--jack elsby. marion, excellent server. accomodates vegans. wide selection. high quality . explorers grill good option for lunch and mid afternoon. food really delicious, service attentive .

donald, doorman, outstanding-welcoming, and will get you a special car back to the airport for the same price as a cab

quiet, comfortable, spacious rooms--excellent view of harbor. towels weak part--not plush as i am used to and housekeeping could be more responsive to time requests for service.

the "original" grand harbor hotel--perfect location, quality construction--so quiet-- excellent staff.
been coming to the property since 1989 when gave 75th birthday party for my mom in the old hamptons restaurant. then it was the very best at the harbor. now there are new properties on the east side of the harbor, but we prefer the quiet elegance and tradition of the original grande dame. we do not go for the latest, flashiest. we prefer lasting quality.
originally this was harbor court hotel--1988--then 5 years ago intercontinental bought it, it fell in quality, then almost 2 years ago, royal sonesta took over and it is returning to its original high quality.
there also is easy access to harborplace shops, the water taxi, and the wonderful, nonchain restaurants on charles st. we prefer "real" private owner ,not cookie cutter chains.

Room Tip: harbor view-worth the extra few dollars--beautiful view have buffet at brighton's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Susan T, thank you for the great five star review and wonderful feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Our location is ideal for guests looking to enjoy the Inner Harbor and surrounding restaurants and attractions, however it is our professional staff that make this hotel such a great place to stay. Thank you also for mentioning those team members by name. Each of them is an example to the exemplary service delivered to our guests. I’m glad you had a chance to try both restaurants. I will be sure to share your feedback with housekeeping in regards to a sense of urgency. With Sonesta’s new management, we have plans for a full renovation in the near future and are being careful to maintain the old world charm that that property exudes. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Group On, we celebrated our anniversary at the hotel. We knew we had gotten a great deal and would be staying in the lap of luxury as soon as we pulled into the property. We were greeted by bell staff who happily offered to help us with luggage and to valet park the car. We walked into a breath-takingly beautiful lobby and a front desk staff that were warm and welcoming. Our Harbor View room was spacious and well appointed, although the furniture and carpeting could use some updating. We had a problem where our shower didn't work. 5 minutes after calling the front desk, maintenance was at our door! What service!!!

We had the breakfast buffet. The food was not very tasty. But service was so good, you almost didn't mind that the eggs were tasteless.

Overall, a great place, a great location. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel in the past month. It is a really nice property and excellent staff. I would come back here in a heartbeat. Close to good restaurants and Camden Yard. The location is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetotravel730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was a Group On special. We picked it for the price but were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel management. In the time where bell staff are eliminated by chains adding Express or CourtYard to their name, this venue was a pleasant surprise! Friendly bell staff met the car and made the move to the room a pleasant experience. Front desk staff provided friendly service. Room service staff friendly. Great views from Harborview Room. Comfortable bedding and immaculately clean room. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Harborview are well worth the upgrade. Bow window with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Marianne B, thank you for the great five star review. We feel our staff are the best in the city when it comes to delivering exemplary customer service to our guests. I’m happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing