We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trips start with fantastic customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Forked River
2 reviews
“Great trips start with fantastic customer service!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I took a two day trip to Baltimore Harbor. We elected to stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. If you have a wife like mine,who refuses to go anywhere without groupon in hand,you are a lucky man! The first thing I look for when I approach the check-in counter is the friendly smile and the genuine hello, how are you today? Without fail we were greeted with the utmost respect and professionalism. Long story short, because of a parking problem, they upgraded us to a harbor view room which was beautiful! The guys and girls at the desk answered all of our questions without fail. The Royal Sonesta upper management should be extremely proud of their employees. We will certainly rebook a trip back to this fine hotel. The reason why I mentioned groupon is, even your finer establishments with good sound management and first class personnel, know middle class america needs a break and they are willing to help. Thank you for allowing my wife and I to stay with you and we will be back soon!
Sincerely,
Mark and Kathy Risberg
(arrived 4-1-13, 3:30pm/left 4-3-13,9:30am)

Room Tip: 6th floor Harbor view. BEAUTIFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 329MarkR329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mark & Kathy,
Thanks so much for your wonderful 5-star review! It is so great to hear comments like your about our staff. All of our associates are amazing people and truly care about each and every guest. This is what makes our industry so great - people who are passionate about providing excellent customer service, exceeding expectations and going above and beyond to make the guest feel as warm and welcome as possible. The Groupon deal is definitely an excellent value, so glad you were able to take advantage of it. Please spread the word about the Royal Sonesta to your friends. We are relatively new to Baltimore and our committment to this area this long-term. Thanks again for yourn 5-star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    327
    109
    56
    50
See reviews for
411
512
38
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Easter getaway for Saturday and the stay was well deserved! Great location and parking is an option for valet and self-park: which we did. They give you a voucher at the end of your stay if you self-park (way to go). Rooms are pretty nice, little touch ups needed, but much better than others. Beds seem old and used (lumpy, lopsided, etc.)!! Hotel indeed! Overall, not a bad place. By the way, everything is closed pretty much for Easter Sunday, just in case you plan on going in the future. In addition, room was not ready at 3pm. We walked and ate before returning to the hotel, they at least held on to our luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gz138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello gz138,
Thanks for your review. Your comments are well-taken, but I want to let you know that Sonesta recently assumed management of this property and I can assure you a plan will be in place soon to address a number of improvements and upgrades to the entire hotel. We are very excited abaout the future of Sonesta in Baltimore, and if you return (we hope you do) in the coming year, I know you will be amazed at what will be happening here. Stay tuned! Thanks again for your review and you hope to ssee you again soon at our Inner Harbor hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our Anniversary and after seeing a great Groupon deal, decided to spend a night in Baltimore. We only live 2 hours away so getting there was a breeze. When we checked in, I happened to mention that it was our anniversary. Next thing we knew, our room was upgraded to a suite! I wish I could remember the woman's name who checked us in, because later on she sent us champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! It really made our evening so special. The room was immaculate and had spectacular views of the harbor. When we checked out the next day, there was a large group of managers, etc, in the lobby. I made sure to tell the group the extra touches made a simple day so special. All the staff were friendly and accomodating. We hope to return to this fabulous hotel!

Room Tip: Room 317 - fabulous and beautiful views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithFriends4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear TravelwithFriends4,
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! I do remember seeing you as our managers were gathered in order to conduct a test of our three elevators and needed staff on every floor to make sure guests could get from various floors to the lobby area efficiently during the short process. It's great that you were able to take advantage of the Groupon deal, but even more pleased that our staff was able to make your anniversary extra special. From all of us here at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court, we wish you many more years of happiness and hope you will consider staying with us again when you return to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only live about 45 minutes away but got a great deal through Groupon for a one night stay in a harbor view room and decided to take a romantic getaway. The hotel was great: wonderful view, clean, very comfortable, helpful staff and an amazing location just a short walk from the National Aquarium. My only complaint was that the light was flickering constantly above the shower, although I'm sure that they would have fixed it promptly if I had drawn their attention to it - it just didn't seem worth the intrusion for a one night stay. I don't know that I would pay full price for the hotel, but then again that is only because I wouldn't pay that price for any hotel, but for someone who has the means to spend $220 on a room then maybe it would be worth it. I will definitely return for another weekend trip sometime if I can find another deal on the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear jingold,
We really appreciate your great 5-star review! The Groupon deal is definitely something people have been taking advantage of purchasing, so glad you snapped it up and made your way to our Inner Harbor hotel. Sonesta is new to the Baltimore area as we started managing this property a few months ago. We definitely have great plans and upgrades in store here, so stay tuned as we transform this hotel and return it to its rightful place as one of Baltimore's great places to stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIDGEWATER
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I along with our grandson stayed at this hotel from 3/26-3/28/2013. We found the hotel to be first rate, but it was the very friendly staff from the front desk to maintenance people we met in the hallways that made our stay particularly pleasant. We especially want to mention Sherry, the breakfast server we had for both of our breakfast meals and who remembered what juices we had the previous morning, and Cameron, our dinner server who made our meal a real pleasure. The food was also excellent The next time we are in Baltimore we will stay at this hotel again.

Tom C..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THOMAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello THOMAS C,
Thanks so much for your great 5-star review! Our staff takes great pride in providing memorable customer service for our guests and it sounds like Sherry and Cameron provided 5-star service. A hotel is only as good as the staff who maintains it, so we will pass along your comments and they will serve to motivate all of us even more to be the best for our guests. Thanks again for your great review and we look forward to perhaps seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a mixed review.
First, we booked this hotel with miles - so there was no money spent out of pocket. We arrived and checked in early. They said our room was ready - so we headed up to our room - only to find that the room had not been cleaned yet. There was food on the floor, trash in the trashcan, crumbs on the bed...the room also just seemed sad. The light fixture was falling off the wall and one light was on - the other off...just really sad looking. We went down to the front desk and they said they would get us another room. Well - this room was so much nicer (although located by the elevator...we never heard any noise from inside our room) - always a bonus being clean and no fixtures broken. They were very nice about the whole thing and we left the hotel for a day of sightseeing. When we got back that night - there was milk and cookies and a personalized note apologizing for the mix-up when we checked in etc...How nice is that? We only stayed one night - so we didn't use the pool or library etc...everything looked nice. The thing is...the beds. Too soft and too small for my liking. But the soft thing is a matter of opinion. I like a semi-firm mattress with pillow top - this was just soft. Husband and kids didn't have a problem with the softness. Loved the ease of self parking - that was a total bonus. Minus the first room that just hadn't seen maid service yet...the hotel was clean, the service was great, and we would definitely stay here again. oh - and my husband signed us up for their membership plan? and we got the bottle of water in the room (usually $5) for free. the keureg in the room - didn't use it - but it had 6 or 8 assorted teas and coffees - and random..there was a tv in the bathroom. lol. didn't use it.
One more thing - you can't beat this location. It's right across the street from the Science Museum and the water. The visitors center was also across the street. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear bpilko,
Thank you for your great review and glad we were able to turn things around for you after your initial impression. Sonesta just assumed management of this property a few months ago, so I can tell you that we have big plans in store for the hotel which includes significant upgrades and changes. While the physical plant will certain get a facelift, it is our staff that takes pride in providing excellent customer service and engaging with our treasured guests. Sounds like they did a great job with the nice surprise, so I am pleased our associates took ownership to go above and beyond to make your stay special. Please consider us again when your travels bring you back to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel over the Easter holiday, but had a couple of complaints. We had booked a city view room with a king bed through Booking.com. The room was spacious, but the bed was not a king. The room was also next to the elevator shaft so all night we heard the elevator shaft going up and down. I asked for a different room, but no luck due to the holiday weekend. The staff were excellent and provided free breakfast to make up for the room. The amenities (gym, pool) were spacious and the on-site parking was a plus. Location was convenient to the Inner Harbor attractions and cabs were always on-site to go to other parts of the city. Overall, a great value for a decent hotel central to the Inner Harbor.

Room Tip: We stayed in 751...DON'T stay there because you will not sleep. We heard the elevator shaft goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello jen f,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and you are right about our being at capacity this past weekend. We have some room improvements on the way and we plan to address the issue you raised. However, I am pleased that our staff was able to soften your view with the items offered to you during your stay. Overall, we have great plans for this hotel as we just started managing the property in the last few months. I hope when your travels bring you back to Baltimore, you will stay with us again so we can better meet and exceed your expectations. Thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing