We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This is an old hotel from about 1986 so I was eager to review.

The good:
1) The customer service is excellent. For me this is a big selling point.
2) They have valet parking so you may avoid a scavenger hunt.
3) The view of the harbor and downtown is nice
4) The room had adequate space, and ok amenities like the coffee maker, exercise room, and pool.
5) The king bed was comfortable
6) very clean

The bad:
Not much here and most will be objective.

1) The valet parking is $40 bucks. (Not a big deal but you should be aware)
2) the view of downtown is far better from higher floors(obviously)
3) the room is not modern in anyway aside from the coffee maker and the flat screen tv. Even the bathroom is antiquated. But keep in mind this is an older building.
4) one of the shelves were broken.. But that could have been a fluke.

Overall: I would recommend if you want a quiet stay with a great view, perfect location, and comfortable amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flipdatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Public Relations Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your candid and thorough review from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve our overall product and level of customer service. I can say your comments will be shared and we will make every effort to make your next stay (perhaps on a higher floor, so you get a great view of the Inner Harbor), one you will thoroughly enjoy. Thanks and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    260
    97
    42
    41
See reviews for
322
410
30
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Great service, clean building, great view of the Baltimore Harbor, walking distance to restaurants, shop, shopping, museums, etc.
Attention to details makes this place a one of the best hotels in Baltimore.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Public Relations Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We appreciate your review and your kind comments. Our location is definitely an advantage for the hotel as we are so close to everything around the Inner Harbor. However, a fine hotel is about the people and the genuine care for our guests - this is our top priority! Sonesta Hotels assumed management of this iconic Baltimore hotel last May and we plan to elevate the level of service across the board. Each time you return, we expect to meet and exceed your expectations. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our first time staying at the Royal Sonesta and we were so "wow'ed!" - from the moment you drive into the courtyard you know you are in for a treat - great staff and such prompt attention from everyone the moment you arrive. We had our 2 college-age students with us in a separate room and they were even impressed. The rooms are very spacious, super comfortable and the most luxurious bathrooms. Location to Camden Yards, Raven's field and any spot on the Inner Harbour is a hop, skip & a jump away - so convenient. Our daughter loved the fitness center - she didn't want to leave! The lounge downstairs was fantastic - great atmosphere and once again amazing staff. No need to look any further for a hotel ....this is the best!!! Thanks so much - can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: We had a fabulous room facing the harbour - spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Public Relations Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes, impressing college age young adults is never easy, so we appreciate their approval! Most people LOVE the nice TVs in the bathrooms, too (almost makes it hard to leave). Once aagain, we appreciate your kind words and you should come back in the spring to experience a couple of Orioles games, just a couple blocks away! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta after our wedding downtown. We also booked a block of hotel rooms for the out of town guests. The staff made every effort to accomodate us and our guests. We highly recommend the Royal Sonesta!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank je8141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Public Relations Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks so much for taking time to provide such a nice review. We take pride in our high standards for customer service because without our guests, we would not be here.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently celebrated my son's 12th birthday in Charm City and it was amazing! Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was (in my sons words) AWESOME! The hotel is beautiful and the customer service is exceptional. The concierge, Jonathan, was wonderful and very resourceful. He set us up with reservations at Dicks Last Resort, which was a hysterical experience, and knew everything that was going on around town. At the end of the weekend my sons said it was the best birthday ever! He wants to do it all again next year. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Public Relations Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks for your review and we appreciate your selecting the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court for such an important occasion. Belated Happy Birthday to your son from all of us here! Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Friday was my first visit to Harbor Court and it was a great experience. Everyone at the hotel from check-in to the pool to the library bar was very friendly. The room was lovely and harbor view was spectacular !! We sat at the window at dusk and enjoyed a bottle of champagne and strawberries at midnight delivered by room service. Baltimore even provided fireworks over the city every hour. We took a very nice morning walk to breakfast and a little shopping and a last visit to the pool and hot tub before checkout.



Decided that a return visit should be planned before too long.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodredearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Public Relations Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Sounds like you had an amazing stay. The view of the Inner Harbor here is amazing and we are glad you had such an enjoyable visit. Nice to watch the fireworks from inside where it is warm and cozy, too. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for couple years now for our anniversary. This hotel only improved after the recent ownership/name change.

Excellent location, gourgeous public spaces and great roomy accomodations. This year we were lucky enough to get upgraded to a Bayview corner suite - what an AMAZING experience! The suite is huge and has 2 bay windows overlooking Inner Harbor, such a treat.

All of the staff were professional, courteous and highly accomodating. We had dinner at Explorers (great drinks as usual, but I liked menu better last year, miss my plantain fries with special sauce) and breakfast next morning at Brightons. Excellent service (much improved from last year) even with large game day crowds.

We will be back next December!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalia20879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We’re so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary. Our Corner Suites are spacious and the views are magnificent. Very glad to hear the Front Desk was able to offer you a little something extra special with the upgraded room. Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Regency Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 61 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#1 of 61 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing