We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good but still a work in progress...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Traveling with my 16 year old son on a college visit trip. When a 16 year old boy notices dust, there must be a lot of it! The furniture was not dusty, but the floor behind the beds and nightstand was. The bed was also very soft for my taste.

Location is good for Inner Harbor. The room was very large and we had a nice bay window overlooking the harbor. The bar/lounge area was also quite nice. Staff was very pleasant.

I had a travelzoo package that included valet parking, but had to remind the person who checked me in... evidently their systems don't show these packages right off the bat.

Overall... with a few fixes this can definitely be a great place. For the price I paid, I was satisfied, but I would not have been happy paying rack rates.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ2Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our colleagues to ensure these types of incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just loved the royal soneta harbor court I really felt like a queen I can't wait to come back I really felt like a queen and every one was so nice and pleasant keep up the good job because y'all are number one in my book

Room Tip: I stay in room 423 you can see the harbor from your room good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you’ll be able to visit us again in the near future. It sounds as if we exceeded your expectations and thank you for sharing your visit on TripAdvisor.

Thank you again and we look forward to being of further service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Larger than average rooms which were comfortable and I understand are going o be renovated next year, to restore to former glory. Enjoyed the sports facilities, indoor pool and hot tub. All positive. Friendly front of House staff and chatty valet parking and bell hop. We thought we had landed on our feet for our one night stay to attend a function on a tall ship moored opposite the hotel. But.....all spoilt by the awful service from the waitress/ bar person who seemed to want to be on her smart phone all the time and not serve! Having sat in the bar for some time around 5 pm, had to get up, go ask her to come and serve us and after we had our drinks and food once again I had to go and get her...yes she was still on her phone...to ask for the bill. Please ban your staff from using their phones if they are supposed to be serving!! It detracted from our stay and let the hotel down.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind words in regards to our friendly staff. We apologize for the unfortunate situation in our lounge. We do have a policy in regards to cell phones and we appreciate you brining this matter to our attention. It is comments such as yours that help us strive to provide our guests with the ultimate hotel experience and customer satisfaction.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Royal Sonesta. As noted by others, nice location.
The best part of the hotel was the view from our room. The best views are on the 6th floor, bay side. They have nice arched windows from the floor to the ceiling...the 7th and 8th floors have a ledge below them that does not give as nice a view...at least I was told...

The staff was great...the only exception was the attitude I got from the waitress in the Explorer's Club for asking what kind of beer they had...she obviously didn't want to be bothered even though we were the only ones in the bar at that time.

The workout facility was great. There was an outdoor tennis court, a racquetball court, and an indoor swimming pool...with a proper locker room.

As others have noted, the decor was a bit too much "old English countryside" for my taste. The bed was also a bit too soft, giving me a backache.
Don't valet park. Just self park in the attached garage and pay at the machine on the lobby level of the garage when you leave...much cheaper and just as convenient.

Room Tip: 6th floor bay side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SixpackDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The harbor views from the hotel are amazing and at times surreal. Our apology for the incident you experienced in the Explorers Lounge. Please know we are further investigating this issue. We take these types of comments very seriously and work with our staff to further educate them on the true meaning of customer service.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We scheduled a trip to NYC but due to super storm Sandy, we were forced to cance. We wanted to do something special for our 16th wedding anniversary. We decided upon the Royal Sonesta. We checked in, were treated like royalty, explained our canceled plans, and next thing you know we are getting some complementary chocolate cheese cake. Honestly, clean, friendly, well located, not a better place to stay. I will stay at the Sonesta whereever I go if I can. Thank you Royal Sonesta.

Room Tip: Stay here, you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was able to help you further celebrate your 16th Anniversary with the complimentary Chocolate Cheesecake! Our goal is to make each guest feel at home. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again or stay at one of our other properties. With the Sonesta Collection expanding your choices for accommodations has greatly increased in the United States and abroad.

Thank you for your review and we do look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have stayed at numerous 5-star hotels. Royal Sonesta lives up to its 4-star rating.
Rooms are a tad bit dated. In-room furniture wasn't as modern to my liking and could have used some sprucing up. Grand stairway isn't as grand as pictures would lead you to believe, but very nice anyways. They gave the lobby lots of decor attention and it shows - very nice.
Staff was extremely friendly. Goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasant.
Rooms are roomy and accommodates playful children. Sheets were a tad bit dated.
Spa, lounge, pool, gym, and racquetball court adds to the hotels 4-star rating. Very happy about that. Extremely well landscaped courtyard.
Very close to Inner Harbor. Makes a nice walk to-from.
Overall a very great stay. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Your feedback is truly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating to your needs. As mentioned in previous replies to our guests, we will undergo a major rooms’ renovation in late 2013. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit Baltimore again and we would be thrilled to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located right at the harbor basin, location is ideal. Property is lovely with touch of old world elegance and the staff is to be commended. These people like working for Sonesta! Our harbor view room was most spacious, clean and very well appointed. Bath amenities are Bulgari - same brand as The Four Seasons. The handsome lounge with library ambiance has antique mural wall of life size elephants and monkeys in trees lending an colonized charm. We happen to be there on a Thursday evening when there is a piano (light vocals) and bass player very pleasant background music. Chef Zeus is a master - sample the sweet & sour calamari with pineapple...out of this world. BeeHive located on a "green roof" garden (not accessible) was a pleasant surprise to see and from what we're told they are actually harvesting honey for the kitchen & it's delicious.
Easy walk across the street to harbor sights and attractions - perfect location.
Scheduled to stay 3 nights but disappointingly checked out a day early on the heals of Hurricane Sandy. Now bear in mind we had already paid for 3 nights and easily obtain a refund. They were truly concerned with our safety not their bottom line.
This hotel is another jewel in the Sonesta crown.

Room Tip: We did upgrade to a harbor view room, loved the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalWetVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. You mentioned our Bee Hive in your review and we do indeed use the honey in some of our dishes, hope you had the opportunity to try one. It was a shame you were not able to enjoy your three day get-a-way, but with the impending storm, it is completely understandable. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,586 reviews
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $180 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. Many guestrooms and each of the hotel's 21 suites offer stunning views of the Inner Harbor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing