We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was wonderful until my car got broken into”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Loved the hotel, you couldn't beat the location. Received an email a couple days before check-in telling me to either use valet parking or park in the garage that was on the hotels property. Self-parked since it was literally within just steps of the hotel. Check out time was noon, and we wanted to sightsee and grab a bite to eat. So luggage was placed in car for two hours. My car window was shattered and everything valuable was stolen. Hotel staff was not helpful in assisting or even giving us a broom to get the glass from under the car so the tires wouldn't be punctured. The police respond time was 2 hours. If I paid to stay in a hotel so nice, there should've been at least assistance for something this horrible happening to me. And they shouldn't be recommending a garage to their customers that is so easily accessible to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracefulRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent visit and for taking the time out of your day to speak with our General Manager. We apologize for the situation and as discussed with our General Manager this morning, we have reviewed the circumstances with our parking garage operators and hotel staff.

We apologize for inconvenience this has caused and look forward to your next visit to the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We held a business meeting at the hotel. The hotel provided excellent support on the meeting room needs, the av support, the catering and the housing. Our delegates were very pleased with the location, includng the close access to the restaurants on federal hill. Highly recommend for a walkable location of Baltimore inner harbor and federal hill sites. By the way, the food at the breakfast restaurant in the hotel was excellent and very modestly priced.

Room Tip: On the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. The staff and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your meeting was a success and your attendees were pleased with the location and service. Our team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you and your group back in the future. We truly appreciate your positive feedback of our hotel and the service provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We Pricelined a fourstar in the inner harbor and got this hotel for CHEAP! The hotel room was huge and clean. The bathroom was large with a great bath (including a TV if that's your thing.) While the whole hotel felt a bit old and in need of updating, it felt more older B and B than outdated and gross. Just could use some newer carpet styles and the elevators are beat up.

Again, felt older in a Cape May B and B sort of way. Great location and the valet was quick!

Staff was also super friendly!

Room Tip: It's right on the harbor, so if you can get it, go for the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evenheskeyscored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We are glad to that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our views of Harbor are truly amazing. As mentioned in past responses, the hotel will undergo a major room and public space renovation in late 2013. We are excited about the new look and hope that our guests will join us in our sentiment. Please be sure to visit us again before after the completion of the renovations, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 3 nights over the summer. We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and the room we had was wonderful. We used and loved the swimming pool. We also received great recommendations from the staff about things to do around the inner harbor. They were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in August. Our goal is to have our guests feel as if they are "at home" It appears our staff was very helpful in providing you excellent service during your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sonesta is a great brand with high quality hotels. This isn't one of them. From the other reviews I gleaned that this used to be an Intercontinental hotel and is undergoing renovation to become a Sonesta. It's not there yet.

Location
Outstanding. It's across the street from the Inner Harbour where you can jog, walk, eat, see the aquarium, hit the bars, etc. It's also about five blocks from Cross Street which is a historic section of town loaded with bars and restaurants. Great location for tourists.

Entrance
Valet and doormen were friendly and pleasant. They work hard to help you get in and out efficiently.

Check In
Slow and monotone. Felt like robots were checking me in. They did give us free cookies though.

Room
Key Tip -- book a room with a view and insist on getting it. I supposedly did book one, but it wasn't available because the hotel was full. So I had a huge window with a view of a brick wall and the windows of others' rooms. My room looked like it was last renovated in the 70s or 80s. It felt like I was staying in my grandmother's house. It was big and comfortable, but outdated and yucky. The TV was a large flatscreen that didn't show in HD so the image was fuzzy.

Renovation
Be sure to ask in advance for a renovated room. Guests I spoke with who had a new room said they thought it was high quality.

View
People I spoke to who had the harbor view said it was spectacular. They awoke inspired and loved their rooms.

Gym
Large and comfortable gym. Has a pool and weight area. Opens at 7am which is a bit of a bummer.

Food
Terrible service with snotty waiters. Not a great experience. Why would you eat here when there are great restaurants all around?

Taxis
Book in advance. Sometimes they have to call them and you'll have to wait. But the doormen are very helpful with this.

Internet
Free wifi throughout. Has two pass codes -- one in your room and one in the rest of the hotel. Sometimes it runs slow, but it's good that they have it.

Maid Service
Rooms were clean and organized.

Conclusion
If you're a tourist you should stay here a) if you get a good rate, b) if you can get a new room and c) if you can get a room with a harbor view. If you get all three you will be very happy. Otherwise, stay at the brand new Hilton a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property during your recent visit to the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. We very much appreciate you mentioning the good points of your stay and will be sure to share your comments with our staff. However, we are sorry to hear that we did not live up to all of your expectations during your stay. Please know we take your comments very seriously and these will be discussed with our staff to ensure this type of service is not repeated in the future.

In late 2013 we are planning to begin a major room and public space renovation. The rooms will be completely redesigned to give the hotel a more modern look and feel for our guests. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again once this process is completed. We think that most of our guests will be pleased with the new design.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at Royal Sonesta for a weekend getaway. Nice hotel across the street from the inner harbor attractions. Staff was friendly. Only complain was no mini fridge without breaking the seal to the mini bar which = extra charges, so if you bring your own water or soda be prepared to use the Ice bucket( in room bottle of water is $5.00)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firemedicjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Baltimore. For future reference there is no charge for breaking the seal on the minibar and we do reserve room inside the minibar for guests to store personal items. Thank you again for your feedback and your review of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were put into a fantastic king suite on the fourth floor, overlooking the harbor. Amazing view, eclectic and tasteful art on all the walls, very comfortable furniture, two bathrooms, and three TVs. I've never stayed in a more comfortable hotel. The concierge hooked us up with a folder of things that are "lesser known, even to Baltimore residents" since we live in Baltimore and were using this stay as a "hometown vacation" to celebrate our anniversary. Without sounding too gushy, I'll just say that the location was exceptional, the views, the room, the staff... everything. We stayed right until checkout time, and were thrilled with every component of our stay. Look forward to staying again!

Oh, and here's some good stuff: HUGE(!!) bathtub in one bathroom, and there's a TV in there, so I could wake up, take a nice hot bath and watch SportsCenter (while my wife was watching Say Yes to the Dress in bed, of course). The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbor view room. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us and the rest of the TripAdvisor Community. It sounds as though you had a fantastic time both on and off property. We are thrilled that the staff was able to accommodate all your needs. Our main goal is to make sure that each and every guest feels “at home” while staying with us. It appears we lived up to our expectations. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,591 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $169 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. Many guestrooms and each of the hotel's 21 suites offer stunning views of the Inner Harbor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing