We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and the staff was excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location and the staff was excellent.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The Royal Sonesta is in a perfect location to enjoy Baltimore's inner harbor. Literally located right across the street from the Science Center, the pavilions, and the aquarium.

The service was really great. From the time I called the hotel prior to our arrival to the time we left everyone was super helpful. There was one minor hiccup with our room check-in and the staff made sure it was taken care of and in fact did much more than I could have expected. A+ to Andy, Chris and Michele.

The room was very nice and clean with a spectacular view of the harbor. We actually had a team in the bathroom that the kid's thought was was the best (get them into the bath has never been easier).

Our only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    328
    109
    58
    50
See reviews for
412
513
38
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Almost didn't book this hotel based on the previous reviews I read but decided to take the chance. The hotel does need updating but is in no means dumpy or worn out. Just the decor is out of date. Flat screens in the rooms and bathroom. Harbor views awesome. Keuig coffee pots in house. I would definately stay again as long as it is within my means!
Down side- they didn't refill the coffee or sugars or clean the cups...they did make the beds, had to call for service.
Front desk clerk spoke broken english checking in (why do they do this at a customer service level)?
Jennifer desk clerk checking out- extremely rude and standoffish..

Room Tip: If you can swing a harbor view room ..worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore. We truly appreciate your evaluation of our services. Please accept our apology for the inconsistencies during your visit. We have shared your comments with our department managers so they may work with the staff to improve on the irregularities that you experienced. It is troubling to hear you had a difficult time at our Front Desk. As a diversified employer with international guests staying on a regular basis, it is our goal to make them feel just as welcomed. We’re sorry your experience with our staff was less than satisfactory. Please accept our most heartfelt apology.

Thank you again for the review and know that we take each comment positive or negative very seriously and work with our staff to improve on our services and customer relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose to stay at The Royal Sonesta Baltimore Inner Harbor for 2 nights to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary.From the moment we arrived the staff was wonderful and courteous.
After we checked in we were surprised w Complimentary Champagne, Cheese platter and Chocolate covered strawberries! We relaxed in lovely robes provided and enjoyed the amazing Harbor Views and our treats! That eve we strolled the Harbor and had a nice dinner.
The next day we went to the Orioles last regular season game, then headed to Federal Hill for a Street festival . This location is perfect to walk to so many activities - no need for a car. There is also free shuttle and water taxi to help explore the City.
Sadly, We had to check out this morning but we will keep The Sonesta in mind for future getaways and Special events.

Room Tip: We asked for a room w a nice view and were not disappointed. We were on 6th floor and the views were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating your 10th Wedding Anniversary!!! It is our goal to make each and every guest feel welcomed and at the same time feel as though they are in the comfort of their own home. We’re glad you had the opportunity to explore the city during your visit, there is so much that Baltimore has to offer. We hope you have to opportunity to return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed at the Royal Sonesta (harbor Court International previously named) at least 10 times. This was our first under new management. We did not see any changes to the hotel that were really noticeable. We were told that a plan is in the works to revamp the rooms etc.What makes this such a great place is the location which is the best right in front of the inner harbor and is located only blocks from the football and baseball stadiums. We could walk every where from this hotel. No cab or car necessary so to me it is worth the high price for a room. This will always be the place I will pick to stay as long as I can afford the nightly rate.

Room Tip: If you really want a good view of the habor get a room from the 4th floor on up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel's location does make it so much easier to access the many great venues in the city. Beginning late next year we will start our major renovations of the guest rooms and public spaces in the hotel. This will be a very exciting time and we hope that you have the chance to come back and visit us before and after the renovations. We think you'll be pleased with what we have planned. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

1. Overpriced for outdated building and rooms
2. Fridge leaked water which I had to clean up
3. TV would automatically go on mute and hotel did not replace TV.
4. Went to purchase a soda from the coffee shop and was told by the clerk that she was closed even though she was checking out a gentleman and refused to allow me to purchase one bottle of soda.
5. The thermostat when set at 65 continually went up to 72 and above.
6 Ordered room service and after 45 minutes was called to say the "ticket" did not print so my order was not prepared. After one hour I complained and hotel said they would send food, of course, at my expense.
7. Left dirty wine glasses and bottles on bar area and cleaning staff did not clean up.
The hotel mgmt. refused to compensate my trip in any way, shape or form, only to say continually, "I'm sorry." I stayed here because I wanted amenities and safety for a single woman. They provided no solutions or compensation. I don't know how this hotel got its AAA and 4 and 5 star rating; however, Comfort Inn; Candlewood Suites; Hilton; Marriot and Hyatt way out perform this inappropriately rated hotel! If you want to stay near the Inner Harbor in Baltimore I would suggest the Hyatt. I will NEVER stay at such an ill-prepared and non-customer oriented hotel operated by Royal Sonesta. There were negative reviews prior to booking; however, I overlooked them because there is always someone who can have a bad experience. Trust absolutely every negative review you've read about Royal Sonesta. Hec, Motel Six at least leaves the light on and greets you. Disgusting! Do not stay at any of Sonesta Hotel, they did nothing to fix any of these problems the entire five days of my stay! I should have packed up the first night when the TV kept going on mute. Ridiculous!

Room Tip: Do not book at Royal Sonesta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience here at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore. Please accept our most sincere apology as we did not live up to your expectations during your visit.

We truly are dedicated to putting our customers first and it is disappointing that we did not measure up to your expectations. The issues you experienced during your visit have been investigated and please know each concern has been discussed with our department managers and staff in an effort not to have these types of incidents repeated in the future.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

From the minute of arrival the doormen make guests feel at home. The decor is update old world elegance and the rooms are quiet and large. The vanity and bat areas are large and rich too. The only reason I have not rated the room, my room with five stars is that the carpet needs to be updated because of stains. The bed was very comfortable and so I slept great. I ordered room service and my dinner was hot and delicious. I could walk everywhere easily and the harbor is right across the street so the location is ideal. I'll be back next September.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We look forward to welcoming your back in September. Thank you for the very lovely review of our property. As mentioned in several responses to our guests, we will be undergoing room renovations in the later part of 2013. The rooms will be completely redesigned with new furniture, drapes, carpet, etc. We are very excited about the renovations and hope you will have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again once they are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night to see the Yankees play the Orioles. I think it is crazy that you have to pay for parking. The hotel itself is nice and staff is friendly and helpful. We got an upgrade on our room to a one bedroom suite with murphy bed. It was a corner room that was nice and secluded. The room had an older appearance but the views of the inner harbor are make up for it. The room was spacious and clean. When our coffee maker would not work in the morning they just brought us up a fresh brewed pot of coffee. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing harbors have the best views. Nothing beats waking up looking out on the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. Many guestrooms and each of the hotel's 21 suites offer stunning views of the Inner Harbor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing