We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently while on a short business trip. My room seemed a bit dingy, but I really feel this is because of the decor choices, which tended to dark colors, plus the fact that none of the bulbs in the room seemed brighter than 40 watts. I will never understand why hotels rooms can't be brightly lit. I have to think its because they think it will show the dirt. My room seemed fairly clean.

On the plus side the bathroom had a fan, rare in hotels, the towels seemed new and fluffy, the shower was easy to use, the water volume was decent and got hot quickly.

They could improve the bed pillows. If you're going to have 4 pillows on a bed why not have them of varying hardness and thickness so that the guests can find one they like? All of mine went totally flat the second I put my head on them. I woke with a terrible crick in my neck the next day.

My room was quiet so no complaints there. It would have been nice to have a fridge for drinks.

The food in the restaurant and room service was good. Room service was very expensive. $32 for an omlette and OJ! Staff were attentive and very polite.

Overall I was happy with this hotel, but I do feel the room rate of $190 per night was high for what you get. I suspect prices are so high because of the location and limited hotel choices in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mostly_business1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Room is good, but no free breakfast and the paid breakfast is poor, even if you order omlet has no taste. The free cookie the Hotel provides is good. Just stay in the room and then go the nearby Indian or Italian restaurant for food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maimaiti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Colonnade is a really comfortable, well located hotel, and Will, the extremely friendly and personable Front Desk clerk, has been spoiling me lately. Not only good conversation when checking in, but he's been putting me into seriously upgraded rooms -- suites!

Room Tip: Ask for Will, and see what he can do for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Clean and comfortable room. The beds were comfortable. Plenty of space. Terrific breakfast in the dining room. The AC was a bit loud when it cycled on during the night. If you self park, pay at checkout as the credit card machine at the exit wasn't working.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

the bride and groom picked this hotel for the out of town guests as well as their honeymoon suite. Perfect weekend. the staff was wonderful and service great.the reception was at the hotel, great venue

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is in a great location with staff that was exceptional. Good service is usually unnoticed but this place has well trained, quality people in contact with the customers. I travel a lot and was inspired!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very good value for what you get for your money, the service from the staff was exceptional. The room was very clean and nice.Will definitely consider using this hotel if I'm going back to Baltimore. We took a cab to Baltimore Convention Center everyday, paid about 10 to 15 dollars from the hotel to BCC. Had a bad experience with one of the cab outside the hotel on Saturday morning who tried to con us, He took some detours and when we wanted to jump off close to BCC, he said that he had taken some detours and turn off the taximeter and said that we could just pay him $ 20, so we paid and jumped out. (The taxi have white and red paint)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KJKTrondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#25 of 67 in Baltimore
636 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $122 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing