We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Staff-Manager Michael treats us like family.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite Staff-Manager Michael treats us like family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful spot to stay while enjoying the beautiful city of Baltimore. The rooms are large enough to spread out. Beds are comfortable and the restaurant is cozy and delicious.
With all that said, the staff from the front desk to the bell men are above and beyond A+ with customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! I am a little biased, but I agree, I think we have great staff, and Michael has been a great addition to our front desk. Thank you for your continued patronage and kind words, looking forward to seeing you soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    235
    178
    77
    30
See reviews for
398
117
91
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the rooms were nice, the lobby nicely decorated and the restaurant was good. The staff was very nice and attentive. I plan on staying at this hotel the next time I am in Baltimore.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigwavdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I appreciate you choosing our hotel and appreciate the kind words. Please let us know if we can do anything to make your next stay even better, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT., United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Room lighting too dim, same for bathroom automated system for departing parking garage often fails to read hotel room key, requiring call to front desk for help. Food purchased in hotel was expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your experience. We are in the process of increasing the lighting in our rooms and bathrooms, you should see a brighter product your next stay. I apologize about the garage system we have had our vendor make the necessary corrections to avoid future issues. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Of all the hotels my husband and I have stayed at over 26 years, we agreed that this hotel was the worst by far. We were simply shocked at how small and outdated the room was.
Overall SF of the room was perhaps 120FT?
The bathroom had no vanity space. I had to put my makeup bag on top of the toilet.
The bathroom had no towel rack.
The entire bathroom, including the shower, was about 5'x7'?
The shower curtain was ripped.
There was 1 bath towel, 2 hand towels, 2 tip towels--I've never been to a Hilton where only 1 bath towel was provided.
The closet was half the size of average hotel room closets.
The telephone was from the 80's.
There was only 1 free outlet in the entire room. I had to plug in my phone there and the IPad in the bathroom.
The AC/Heater was so loud that we turned it off to get some peace and quiet.
The hallways on the 2nd floor *HHonors floors was hideous and smelled "old."
Instead of flowers, there was a sad looking unhealthy house plant on display near the elevator.
The elevator was outdated and slow, subpar to what is available on the market.
The flowers near the tour desk was literally dead and the water in the vase was completely depleted.

They're very lucky that the hotel is the closest chain hotel to Johns Hopkins. Otherwise, I'm not sure how much business they'd get. I took pictures of the room and plan to post on Hopkins parents Facebook page, Expedia and other websites to never go to that facility unless they would like to experience a 1 or 2 star hotel room where they can see what claustrophobia feels like. I was so disgusted that I really wanted to leave immediately. The only consolation was the friendly staff. Sorry, but the facility needs to be reevaluated by the Hilton Group. It's time for an upgrade or set appropriate expectations with future guests. The Colonnade is a 1.5 or 2 star facility. We paid $155.

Room Tip: Proximity to Johns Hopkins Univ campus couldn't compensate for how terribly shocking and subpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESKPLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. As I noted in the email I had sent you prior to you posting your comment here on Tripadvisor, when you reserved your room, you literally chose the smallest room in the hotel through Advance Purchase. I noted in the email I wasn't sure if that was the only room left at that price point you had wanted to be at, but we did have 1 or 2 suites left due to our nearly being sold-out when you made your reservation at 9pm your day of arrival. I also extended a personal invitation back to the hotel, and included my personal cell for you to reach out to me directly, which you have not responded back to me to discuss your challenges,.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The service that we received from checking in, dinning in and checking out, were all excellent. I will say I wasn't to happy with my meal. Other than that our stay was great. Thank you to everyone we enjoyed our time. Loved the cookie lol

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lakia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

WE had a 1 bedroom suite. There was a pullout couch and we requested a cot. Both the couch bed and cot had terrible mattresses. The shower did not drain well. The water reached our ankles in the shower. I have stayed here previously and I plan to in the future because of its location. My previous stays were better. Hopefully it was an off night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived at the Inn at The Colonnade in the middle of the night in a big snow storm. We were greeting with warm cookies, a friendly face, and a lovely lobby. When we got to our room, though, we met a deafening roar. Seriously, I travel a lot and I've never, ever, heard a heating system so loud. It was like there was a train running through our room. It was so late, though, that we didn't ask to move -- though we probably should have. Instead, we just shut off the heat. That made it quiet, but by morning, it was pretty cold! Also, we had stayed there to visit JHU, which ended up being closed for the storm. My husband was supposed to work for the day in his company's downtown office -- also closed, so he had to do a conference call in the room. They gave us a really hard time about extending check-out time from 12 to 1 p.m. You'd think I was asking for a major, major, favor. I felt like I had to beg. Soured us on this hotel a bit, although they ultimately relented and let us stay for no more than one extra hour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vitzrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#28 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Hotel Brexton
#29 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Property: Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Address: 4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing