We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid for a trip to Johns Hopkins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent a few days in Baltimore to visit the U of Maryland and Johns-Hopkins. My hosts set me up at this Doubletree. A bit higher end property than many Doubletrees. This hotel uses the first 3 floors of the building and the rest of the property is private condos (a friend of mine owns one). The room was large and nice. It did seem strange that the bathroom had the toilet and the shower in a separate room than the sink, but ok. The toilet did not flush real well as well. Otherwise, for me internet was free (I don't think that was true for others though) and wake-up call worked. Needed the key to work the elevator. The breakfast buffet was rather boring and expensive (~11) for croissants, muffins and yogurt (plus drinks). Breakfast room was nice, but the breakfast felt a bit overcharged. So, overall, this was a nice property (always love the cookie at check-in) especially to see the University.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Quiet, clean, friendly staff, easy to use AC system. Went for a conference at STScI. Couldn't be at a better location for STScI/John's Hopkins. Staff was able to help me get the group rate for all three nights when only 2 nights were technically still available at the group rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a local college during a college visit. Being a Hilton honors member we chose to stay here in the Loyola suite. This is a 1 bedroom suite with a pull out sofa bed in a separate room. The bedroom was very clean and bed extremely comfortable, my daughter said pull out was VERY uncomfortable (unlike a homewood suite pull out she stayed on during a CT visit). Plus long black hairs in the bathtub, which kind of sent me on a Clorox wipe frenzy. Room location kind of tough opposite JH sport fields and facing Main Street so a little noisy during the night. Will try another hotel next time but not completely terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff at this hotel were very friendly. I did not care for the layout of the hotel with what they call "towers". I have stayed in hotels like this before and they kind of creep me out. All I can think about is Jack Nicolson..."Here's Johnny!"
That being said...I was exhausted and hungry by the time I got to this hotel. I was so happy to see a restaurant off the lobby which served until 11am. The beer was cold and the food was very good.
The next morning my buisness partner and I were expecting phone calls and needed to order room service. The coffee was hot and very good. Again, so was the food.
The buisness center was very well equiped and convenient for what we needed to do.
The lobby was nice...I enjoyed reading my paper in the sun the morning of my checkout.
There was a cute little convenince store that had good stuff.
So...the only thing that brings this hotel down for me was my room. If I were to stay here again I would ask to be in the most recently updated rooms. Maybe then the rating would go up.

Room Tip: Like I said above...ask if there have been renovations and if so go for the newest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Hotel was very good overall. From the valet parking and front desk to our room. The best part of the hotel, however, was the manager Steve Nyitrai who helped immensely and easily. He is kind and personable and made anything that wasn't great - better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is very nice and convenient to Johns Hopkins. It is an easy cab ride to the Inner Harbor. The staff was very helpful. The room was clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had the continental breakfast which had homemade muffins, hot oatmeal and assorted fresh fruit cut up. A waitress brought drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We checked in for an evening wedding nearby.The parking attendents were good and made sure the car was out front when we needed it. I went down to the bar to watch a football game and have a beer around 4:30 and had to find someone to unlock the bar and find a beer? They coulden't figure out how to turn on the TV and just left me there hade to again find them for a second beer. Hade to find them again to pay my bill. I guess they were setting up for a wedding and the bar didn't matter. Poor staffing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#26 of 67 in Baltimore
636 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $123 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing